We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum yum”

Hattie B's Hot Chicken
Ranked #13 of 2,068 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yum yum”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Happened to see a blurb in Travel and Leisure magazine on this restaurant and was able to stop by for a quick visit on a recent trip. Ordered the medium two pieces of white and it was plenty hot for me. Also the beans and Macncheese. The Mac could have used a little more love but everything else was delicious. Take some change in case you have to park in the metered spots on the street. Fun, safe area of town.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMax-NWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,642
    667
    201
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Visited with co-workers and had a great experience. The line was a little long, but moved pretty quickly and the service was friendly. I got the medium chicken, mac & cheese and greens. All were very good! Next time I must try the cobbler.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Honeymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hot chicken”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

On our recent trip to Nashville, we tried both Prince's and Hattie B's hot chicken and I must say both were good and both had their plus points. Hattie B's has good patio space and good amount of seating. We ordered Medium hot chicken breast and legs with fries and cole slaw (These plates come with 2 sides). Fried chicken was crispy and delicious. The legs were moist inside and crisp fried to perfection outside although breast meat seemed to be a tad on the dry side. They tasted great and the hotness is one level down to Prince's. Hattie B's medium is probably Prince's mild. The parking lot is really small and I am not sure if there's other parking nearby as we parked in the last spot when we went there. I thoroughly enjoyed my first foray into hot chicken and I hope I visit Nashville soon again if only to try this again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank I B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Dundee, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yes!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Had to try Nashville's famous hot chicken. Were advised this would be a good place for two ladies to go after 9 pm at night. We loved the atmosphere as well as the chicken. I ordered 3 chicken wings...the largest wings ever. My daughter had the white meat...the breast and wing were gigantic. We had the medium which was just right for us. the red potato salad was right one delicious. It is clean, very friendly and helpful and fun! Don't miss this one....

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Wish they had chicken like that back home”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Needed a quick lunch to carry me through to dinner. Went over to Hattie's to check out the HOT chicken. Got a white meat plate, hot, with a side of greens and a side of mac and cheese. Nice crispy skin on the chicken covered in that hot sauce, fresh out of the fryer. I had to let it cool off for while to avoid a double burn on my mouth. The spices were just right, hot enough to get my nose running, but not so hot that my mouth was burning from the spice. Greens were reasonably good, but needed a dash of pepper vinegar. The mac and cheese was tasty, but not very warm.

I would love to get someone in NM to make chicken like that. It was delicious!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ratcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hattie B's Hot Chicken also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Hattie B's Hot Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing