We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to Nashville, and stay here!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nashville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nashville Downtown Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hostel needs to be registered on the main sites as it's difficult to find online and I almost missed it. The location is absolutely amazing, couldn't be better. The facilities are great, good kitchen, good wifi and a lovely open plan common area. I really enjoyed my stay here. The only downside was the lack of hot water in the upstairs bathrooms. (Although there are a lot of bathrooms which are a bonus). If they sort this out the hostel would get a 10/10 from me. When I go back to Nashville I will stay here without a doubt.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 307 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed at this hostel over the weekend and was very pleased! This is a well kept place and a great option for budget travelers like myself. The lobby area was great because it had a kitchen where you're allowed to keep food if you like making breakfast in the morning and things like that. The staff was friendly and helpful and this is by far the nicest hostel I've ever stayed in. I only wish they had a fitness center onsite. Definitely check it out!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olileibri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night. Had a private room which cost $100 for 2 people. The hostel is big and modern and our room was in a new wing still under renovation which meant we had a trek to the closest showers which was a pain. If I had of been there for longer I would have asked to move or left. There wasn't a toilet on our corridor either we had to go out to a lobby area again this was bit of a trek but not as far as the shower.
Rooms are basic, bed, locker, small mirror and a hanging rail. Sheets are left on bed for you to make up yourself and you have to bring dirty sheets down to lobby on checkout. Towels are $1 to rent. The kitchen and communal areas are very well maintained and a cool place to hang out. There is an iron, ironing board for use (foc!) and a washing machine and dryer in the lobby (pay). Tea and coffee are complimentary and there is a huge fridge for you to store food/drinks just label them. Seems to work well. There was another male guest walking around the next morning drunk carrying a bottle of beer (even though there are signs stating you cannot bring drink to your room). When I came out of the shower he was swaying about outside the door, he was harmless but all the same it was a bit unnerving. It was early in the morning and no one else around. To sum up, great location - minutes from Broadway, free wifi, modern, clean.

Room Tip: Ask for room close to bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellinTash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Big and clean hostel. Nice staff, daily recommendations for stuff to do and right in the center about 1-2 minutes from Broadway street and the music/bars.

No breakfast included though,wich is quite uncommon among hostels in US.
And since it's a big hostel it's quite un-charmy and without an unique style.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hsundin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I stayed at the downtown hostel for 4nights and I had a great time. The communal area is huge and very cosy, they have a clean kitchen and a pool table too The rooms and shower facilities are also clean, adequate size, and the staff are really friendly and helpful. Downside would be that you have to pay extra for towels.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is one of the nicest hostels I have ever stayed at and I have been staying in hostels over 30 years. EVERYTHING and I do mean everything is either within walking distance or close to the free bus. We had a private room and found it great for the 3 of us. There is construction going on BUT do not fear we never heard a noise while they were working. The rooms are clean & comfortable. The staff is very friendly & helpful. My 2 notes to be aware of; 1. Towels cost you extra 2. Quiet Area's aren't always enforced (either that or the college students don't understand what a quiet area means!)

Room Tip: We stayed in a private room that slept 5 (there were 3 of us) and was well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KCscrapper827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in Nashville with a group of people. There were 6 girls in our group so we got a dorm to ourselves with no strangers! The hostel was really big, rooms were really nice and overall it was really clean! Not far to walk and you are in the main town/bar area. Great fun in Nashville, and very cheap to stay here :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danni_Sanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#15 of 160 in Nashville
1,302 reviews
Omni Nashville Hotel
#7 of 160 in Nashville
6,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashville Downtown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashville Downtown Hostel

Address: 177 1st Ave N, Nashville, TN 37201-1905
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Nashville
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville Downtown Hostel is a playground for global backpackers. Come experience the hostel established by a global backpacker who values safety, comfort, and convenience in a friendly home away from home. We have 48 private rooms / 250 dormitory beds. We are open 24 hours x 7 days week with front desk staff presence. Our guests have 24 hour access via security code door. We have bike and locker storage where you can drop off your luggage while you explore the town. You are welcome to check-in as early as 7am but facility fee applies for the usage of bed, shower, kitchen, and WIFI outside of overnight hours (3pm to 11am the next day). The facility fee applies for Non-overnight guest. For the security measure everyone entering the property must show proof of travel, we require either an international passport or U.S. Driver's license with matching major credit card or bank card. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing