We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay and made new friends!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nashville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nashville Downtown Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I just stayed here for 4 days for CMA Fest, after my sister told me about the Vandy location, where she had stayed in 2009, so I found this location, and I wasn't disappointed! From the moment I arrived, to check out time, everyone was so friendly and accommodating, and not only that, I made two new friends in two of my roommates! I had a 4 bunk, all female room, and although it was a bit cramped, it felt more like a summer camp to me, with the camaraderie between us ladies.

The bathrooms were immaculate, ad spacious, the downstairs lounge area was well set up with plenty of comfy seating, lots of plugs to charge electronics at, a piano, 4 computer terminals (at $5 an hour, or $15 for your stay), a mini fridge with pop, water and juice for only $1 a piece (you pay at front desk), two mini fridges to store your beverages, one for just beer.

This hostel is just steps to Church street, and very close to Broadway and the honkytonks, well within walking distance to the new Music City Center where Fan Fair X was held.

One of the fellas working (didn't get his name, he had longer hair in a ponytail) went above and beyond calling around trying to find out about a shuttle to Opry Mills Mall (turns out Grayline had discontinued their shuttle two years ago), and when I was ready to leave Tim phoned for a cab for me.

All the rooms are named after famous singers, we were in room 411, named after Ray Charles.

I will definitely be back and plan on telling others about this amazing place!

Thanks Ron and Tracee, you guys ROCK!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountryFanJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Nashville Downtown Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 294 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was my first time staying at a hostel and I was expecting something vastly different then what the Downtown Nashville Hostel ended up being. The facilities were VERY clean, well maintained and accommodating. My friend and I had a private room that was very basic, but we were comfortable. It is very safe requiring a key card to get in everywhere. We really enjoyed the lounge room for when we came in late night and weren't quite ready for sleep yet- it has a piano, foozball and a few other games to hang out and play with other travelers. I would definitely stay again, the only complaint is that the beds were pretty uncomfortable, but it wasn't something that would keep my from staying again. The location and price are truly unbeatable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My friend and I stayed here recently and had a blast. The location is within walking distance from all the downtown bars. The staff is super friendly and the rooms are clean. The common area is a great place to meet new people, socialize and play music. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YellowAliLlama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night two weeks ago. It was great! My experience with hostels is that they usually are pretty dirty and feel unsafe. This is the complete opposite. Yes the bathrooms might have to been cleaned a little bit more often but the rooms were clean. It felt really safe staying there because you need to use your key to four times before you reach your room. Staff was super friendly and very helpful. If I go to Nashville again I will definitely stay there.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have any windows, I do recommend to ask for a room with a window since the rooms a...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The location is perfect, right in the heart of downtown and on the riverfront. The common area is a gerat place to hang out, meet new people, and listen to people playing music. The kitchen is well stocked, the staff is very friendly. By the end of my stay I felt like I was at home. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hostel is in a perfect location on the river front minutes away from bars and restaurants. The hostel itself was stylish and well-equipped with bathrooms, a kitchen and shared living areas. The staff were helpful and really friendly, and the bedrooms were clean and adequate - although I didn't enjoy sleeping in a top bunk without guardrails. My only other criticism would be that they charged us to look after our baggage before checking in (rather late at 5pm) - other than that, it was great value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirbzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for a weekend in Nashville and absolutely loved it! The hostel actually feels a bit like a hotel, except with a more relaxed vibe. The bedrooms and showers are very clean, as well as the commons area. There is also a sweet kitchen area and laundry and drinks are available for purchase. Everyone we met was extremely nice and the staff is very helpful. Linens are provided but I would bring a towel if you can. As far as location, it is spot on (very close to Broadway, Hall of Fame, Bridgestone Arena and more). Priceis extremely reasonable ($26-$28 a night). Overall, it is a great place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 157 in Nashville
2,863 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#20 of 157 in Nashville
1,233 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#4 of 157 in Nashville
1,593 reviews
Downtown Nashville
The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 157 in Nashville
5,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashville Downtown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashville Downtown Hostel

Address: 177 1st Ave N, Nashville, TN 37201-1905
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Nashville
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville Downtown Hostel is a playground for global backpackers. Come experience the hostel established by a global backpacker who values safety, comfort, and convenience in a friendly home away from home. We have 48 private rooms / 250 dormitory beds. We are open 24 hours x 7 days week with front desk staff presence. Our guests have 24 hour access via security code door. We have bike and locker storage where you can drop off your luggage while you explore the town. You are welcome to check-in as early as 7am but facility fee applies for the usage of bed, shower, kitchen, and WIFI outside of overnight hours (3pm to 11am the next day). The facility fee applies for Non-overnight guest. For the security measure everyone entering the property must show proof of travel, we require either an international passport or U.S. Driver's license with matching major credit card or bank card. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing