We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to experience Nashville”

Walkin' Nashville - Music City Legends Tour
Ranked #4 of 83 Tours in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established July 2012. Hank, Johnny, Chet, George, Tammy, Conway, Loretta, Dolly, Willie . . . There was a time when country music was on a first name basis with its fans. A time when the streets of downtown Nashville were alive with the sound of backroom guitar pulls, Midnight Jamborees and the Grand Ole Opry. Now you can recapture the magic of this golden era on the Walkin' Nashville Music City Legends Tour. Packed with history and behind-the-scenes anecdotes about your favorite country legends, this 90-minute walking tour tells the real story of how Nashville came to be called Music City. You'll see Printer's Alley, The Ryman Auditorium, Tootsie's Orchid Lounge, Ernest Tubb Record Shop and Hatch Show Print.Your friendly guide is Grammy-nominated journalist and musician, Bill DeMain. A longtime resident of Nashville, he will show you hidden corners of the city not found in any guidebook and tell you stories you won't hear on any other tour.From APRIL - OCTOBER, tours run Tuesday, Thursday-Saturday. From NOVEMBER - MARCH, tours run Friday & Saturday only (weekdays available by special arrangement for groups of 8 or more)Start Time: 10:30 AM (Please arrive 10-15 minutes early to check in)Tour Length: Approx. 2 Hours
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great way to experience Nashville”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I would highly recommend Bill's tour - my family and I took it on our recent visit to Nashville and loved it. It is a great way to see the city, learn about its music history and discover places to listen to music. Bill is a musician himself, as well as a music journalist who has first-hand experience interviewing some of the music world's most famous names. In addition to having a wealth of knowledge, he's also fun and personable. He also provided great food recommendations!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    654
    13
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tour was great”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

I am not typically a tour person but I highly recommend this tour. Bill was great and knows so much about Nashville and country music history. I can't wait to return and bring my husband along.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bill De Main rocks the Music City legends tour.”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Bill De Main is one of the most knowledgeable and articulate tour guides I have ever encountered. As a journalist and musician himself who has lived and worked in Nashville for more than 20 years, he has great enthusiasm for the legends of country music, and it shows in his tour. He has a lot of personal stories and anecdotes that he weaves into his presentation that makes it very interesting whether you're a country music fan or not. He also gave us some great recommendations on restaurants as well as up and coming musicians/bands and where they were playing.

I would definitely recommend his tour to anyone visiting Nashville.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Well organized tour with many hard facts and tidbits about Nashville and its history. We were first time visitors to Nashville and would highly recommend this tour as a starting point for anyone visiting this city.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Melinda_S_725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“I would do this again!!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I am so happy I decided to do this tour. Bill knows his stuff and indeed is a music nerd and I love music nerds! You get to know things that make you feel like you were there back then when all this history was being made. I love that Bill follows through with you with songs that were talked about on the tour! I recommend this anyone visiting Nashville for the first time or the 10th! I would so this tour again in a heartbeat. Just so much fun!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walkin' Nashville - Music City Legends Tour also viewed

 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Walkin' Nashville - Music City Legends Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing