We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great activity in Nashville”

Walkin' Nashville - Music City Legends Tour
Ranked #4 of 83 Tours in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established July 2012. Hank, Johnny, Chet, George, Tammy, Conway, Loretta, Dolly, Willie . . . There was a time when country music was on a first name basis with its fans. A time when the streets of downtown Nashville were alive with the sound of backroom guitar pulls, Midnight Jamborees and the Grand Ole Opry. Now you can recapture the magic of this golden era on the Walkin' Nashville Music City Legends Tour. Packed with history and behind-the-scenes anecdotes about your favorite country legends, this 90-minute walking tour tells the real story of how Nashville came to be called Music City. You'll see Printer's Alley, The Ryman Auditorium, Tootsie's Orchid Lounge, Ernest Tubb Record Shop and Hatch Show Print.Your friendly guide is Grammy-nominated journalist and musician, Bill DeMain. A longtime resident of Nashville, he will show you hidden corners of the city not found in any guidebook and tell you stories you won't hear on any other tour.From APRIL - OCTOBER, tours run Tuesday, Thursday-Saturday. From NOVEMBER - MARCH, tours run Friday & Saturday only (weekdays available by special arrangement for groups of 8 or more)Start Time: 10:30 AM (Please arrive 10-15 minutes early to check in)Tour Length: Approx. 2 Hours
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great activity in Nashville”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My brother and I took the Walkin' Nashville tour in early December while passing thru Nashville. Bill is very knowledgeable about Nashville and the music scene. The tour was very informative and a great way to tour Nashville. I highly recommend it!

Helpful?
Thank SCarolina2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    650
    13
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour and amazing guide”
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

This tour was very informative and entertaining. We learned a lot and saw all the key sights. Bill takes you into a unique bar where all the greats have been and into the best local shops. He also went above and beyond when he sent us a text hours after the tour with recommendations for a show since he knew we really wanted to see some songwriters preform. Highly recommend going on this tour!

Helpful?
Thank Cristy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Bill has a vast and interesting knowledge about the historic Nashville music scene. I agree with the others, don't miss this tour..

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

An amazing tour. I highly recommend this walking tour. Bill is extremely knowledgeable, he has great stories and and tips about Nashville. This was our first visit to Nashville and we thought this tour really added to our experience. I also loved how he sent us a follow up email with links and pictures relating to the stories her shared with us.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laurenm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Excellent tour with great history and information”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I did the Walkin' Nashville recently while on vacation in Nashville. We both really enjoyed it. Bill the tour guide is very knowledgable about Nashville and its impact on music. He provides specific stories and facts throughout the tour. We started with Chet Atkins, went through Arcade shopping area, Printers Alley, Ryman, Tootsie's, Ernest Tubb record shop and ended at Hatch Show Print. I really liked the story about the owner of the Rainbow Room in Printers Alley. We actually got to go into the building while it is being remodeled. Tootsie's was also a highlight - seeing all of the history on the walls. It makes you really appreciate all that has been in Nashville with country music and music in general. I highly recommend this tour.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank u2fan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walkin' Nashville - Music City Legends Tour also viewed

 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Walkin' Nashville - Music City Legends Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing