We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History of Nashville sounds”

Walkin' Nashville - Music City Legends Tour
Ranked #4 of 75 Tours in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established July 2012. Hank, Johnny, Chet, George, Tammy, Conway, Loretta, Dolly, Willie . . . There was a time when country music was on a first name basis with its fans. A time when the streets of downtown Nashville were alive with the sound of backroom guitar pulls, Midnight Jamborees and the Grand Ole Opry. Now you can recapture the magic of this golden era on the Walkin' Nashville Music City Legends Tour. Packed with history and behind-the-scenes anecdotes about your favorite country legends, this 90-minute walking tour tells the real story of how Nashville came to be called Music City. You'll see Printer's Alley, The Ryman Auditorium, Tootsie's Orchid Lounge, Ernest Tubb Record Shop and Hatch Show Print.Your friendly guide is Grammy-nominated journalist and musician, Bill DeMain. A longtime resident of Nashville, he will show you hidden corners of the city not found in any guidebook and tell you stories you won't hear on any other tour.From APRIL - OCTOBER, tours run Tuesday, Thursday-Saturday. From NOVEMBER - MARCH, tours run Friday & Saturday only (weekdays available by special arrangement for groups of 8 or more)Start Time: 10:30 AM (Please arrive 10-15 minutes early to check in)Tour Length: Approx. 2 Hours
Greensboro GA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“History of Nashville sounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Booked the tour at the last minute and glad I did. Very informative with some great stories from behind the scenes . Bill is very knowledgeable and passionate about music history in Nashville. Very much worth the money

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravels1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    621
    13
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Informatively fun.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We appreciated the rest of our trip that much more with the knowledge Bill shared with us, by essentially breathing life in to the local tourist locations with its history.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lee915nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I cannot imagine anyone more knowledgable than Bill. His music and journalism background are immensely helpful and unique. You can't can't go wrong on this tour. This a great way to appreciate the country music legacy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Boiler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Absolute Must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

As a visitor from the UK, I wasn't sure what to expect from a Nashville Walking Tour. I was taken aback by how brilliant this was. Bill DeMain was the most knowledgable and entertaining guide. He delved deep into the history and had so many cool stories and interesting anecdotes at his fingertips that the time flew by. He really brought Nashville and country music to life and had a masterly way of tying the stories together to connect the dots of the town. It's a bargain too!

Don't miss.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jezashurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

i have lived in nashville since 1988 and learned loads about my city on this walk. the tour was fantastic! as a music journalist, bill is incredibly knowledgeable and has the inside scoop on the nashville music scene and it's history. plus - he is just so darn personable and funny. this isn't like any other tour i have ever been on - it's more like taking a walk with an old friend who knows the place inside and out. go! you'll love it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walkin' Nashville - Music City Legends Tour also viewed

 

Been to Walkin' Nashville - Music City Legends Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing