We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not to be missed”

Walkin' Nashville - Music City Legends Tour
Ranked #4 of 75 Tours in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established July 2012. Hank, Johnny, Chet, George, Tammy, Conway, Loretta, Dolly, Willie . . . There was a time when country music was on a first name basis with its fans. A time when the streets of downtown Nashville were alive with the sound of backroom guitar pulls, Midnight Jamborees and the Grand Ole Opry. Now you can recapture the magic of this golden era on the Walkin' Nashville Music City Legends Tour. Packed with history and behind-the-scenes anecdotes about your favorite country legends, this 90-minute walking tour tells the real story of how Nashville came to be called Music City. You'll see Printer's Alley, The Ryman Auditorium, Tootsie's Orchid Lounge, Ernest Tubb Record Shop and Hatch Show Print.Your friendly guide is Grammy-nominated journalist and musician, Bill DeMain. A longtime resident of Nashville, he will show you hidden corners of the city not found in any guidebook and tell you stories you won't hear on any other tour.From APRIL - OCTOBER, tours run Tuesday, Thursday-Saturday. From NOVEMBER - MARCH, tours run Friday & Saturday only (weekdays available by special arrangement for groups of 8 or more)Start Time: 10:30 AM (Please arrive 10-15 minutes early to check in)Tour Length: Approx. 2 Hours
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“not to be missed”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

i have lived in nashville since 1988 and learned loads about my city on this walk. the tour was fantastic! as a music journalist, bill is incredibly knowledgeable and has the inside scoop on the nashville music scene and it's history. plus - he is just so darn personable and funny. this isn't like any other tour i have ever been on - it's more like taking a walk with an old friend who knows the place inside and out. go! you'll love it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    13
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Intro to the Musical Heritage of Nashville”
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

This fabulously informational tour covers the rich heritage of the country music scene. Bill interweaves lots of entertaining stories that make the music legends very human. The tour is thoughtfully organized and takes you off the main roads and into the side streets where a lot of events took place. As a musician and music writer, he has an interesting perspective to share about Nashville - a city he clearly loves. He also has a wealth of information about other things to see and do in the city. I highly recommend this tour!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This tour gives you the "inside" scoop on Nashville!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I was a first time visitor to Nashville and this tour was a great way to explore downtown and get the "inside" scoop about the music legends that have made Nashville the city it is today! Bill is extremely knowledgeable and has a passion for sharing his stories. This tour takes you down the lesser known streets as well as the famous Broadway Street and you’ll get a wonderful history lesson along the way. It’s definitely a great way to start your visit in the “Music City”.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGirl8727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best way to start your visit. A must do!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This tour starts at a small unassuming statue of Chet Atkins for a reason. If you go on this tour you will understand so much more about how Music City came to be what it is today. Not being a big country music fan I didn't know what to expect but Bill pulled me in so that I was straining to hear his next tale! You will not be disappointed. Just go.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesgangx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT MYERS
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lessons from Mr.Bill”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Great walking tour to learn about our Country Music Forefathers- the LEGENDS. And Bill, our guide, was so knowledgable in paying tribute to those that laid the road to Music City for others to enter. It was really cold and my husband and I were the only two to show up but Bill obviously has a passion to share his wealth of info- very interesting personal stories as well.
Enjoyable time- thank you Bill! And I also highly recommend lunching afterwards at Jacks on Broadway afterwards- GREAT BBQ to complete the experience!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walkin' Nashville - Music City Legends Tour also viewed

 

Been to Walkin' Nashville - Music City Legends Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing