We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up Close & Personable - A Perfect Tour”

Walkin' Nashville - Music City Legends Tour
Ranked #4 of 81 Tours in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established July 2012. Hank, Johnny, Chet, George, Tammy, Conway, Loretta, Dolly, Willie . . . There was a time when country music was on a first name basis with its fans. A time when the streets of downtown Nashville were alive with the sound of backroom guitar pulls, Midnight Jamborees and the Grand Ole Opry. Now you can recapture the magic of this golden era on the Walkin' Nashville Music City Legends Tour. Packed with history and behind-the-scenes anecdotes about your favorite country legends, this 90-minute walking tour tells the real story of how Nashville came to be called Music City. You'll see Printer's Alley, The Ryman Auditorium, Tootsie's Orchid Lounge, Ernest Tubb Record Shop and Hatch Show Print.Your friendly guide is Grammy-nominated journalist and musician, Bill DeMain. A longtime resident of Nashville, he will show you hidden corners of the city not found in any guidebook and tell you stories you won't hear on any other tour.From APRIL - OCTOBER, tours run Tuesday, Thursday-Saturday. From NOVEMBER - MARCH, tours run Friday & Saturday only (weekdays available by special arrangement for groups of 8 or more)Start Time: 10:30 AM (Please arrive 10-15 minutes early to check in)Tour Length: Approx. 2 Hours
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Up Close & Personable - A Perfect Tour”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Bill knows the Nashville Music Scene inside and out as a resident writer, historian & musician. We absolutely loved his tour - - learned a lot & saw Nashville through a totally unique perspective. Bill is professional, interesting, knowledgeable and a genuinely charming man. It's evident that he is held in high regard by local business owners and we understand why. We did a lot in the short time we visited and his tour was one of the highlights!

Sharon & Dave
Cleveland, OH - - "The Home of Rock n Roll"

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank shensel733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    644
    13
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, Tennessee
1 review
“Unique, Informative & Fun!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Invited a visiting out-of-state friend to join me on this tour as an introduction to the legacy of some of Nashville's musical legends. It turned out to be this and more. Visited places I've never been to before even though I've lived in the area for decades. Bill, our tour guide, is knowledgeable, entertaining and a great storyteller! This tour needs to be at the top of your "What to do and see in Nashville" list.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wander_N_Wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
potomac, md
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was a fun tour! We are six women in our 50s and 60s and were in Nashville on a "girls" weekend. We found this tour on TripAdvisor and it sounded great. It more than lived up to our expectations. A couple of us are huge country music fans and the others know very little about country music, but we all agreed that we learned a lot- and laughed a lot during the tour. All six of us agreed that it was a great introduction to Nashville.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank vannlind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“You Just Can't Miss This Tour!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Hard to add anymore adjectives to those already given. So glad we took this tour. Bill is a knowledgable, entertaining, and enthusiastic tour guide. The walk is easy, the stops are filled with information and interesting sights. We learned a lot about the music history of Nashville and some of the great stories about the famous names in Country Music. Recommend Bill's tour to everyone!

Helpful?
Thank Eileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Nashville Music tour”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Interesting,informative, often funny, always fascinating. Bill knows his stuff, where to go and does it all with an enthusiastic flair. You don't have to be a dedicated country music fan to enjoy your couple of hours in Bill's company. Bring camera, walking shoes and as many questions as you like, Bill will not only have an answer but also an anecdote or two as well. Great value, great time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walkin' Nashville - Music City Legends Tour also viewed

 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Walkin' Nashville - Music City Legends Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing