We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Walkin' Nashville - Music City Legends Tour
Ranked #4 of 83 Tours in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established July 2012. Hank, Johnny, Chet, George, Tammy, Conway, Loretta, Dolly, Willie . . . There was a time when country music was on a first name basis with its fans. A time when the streets of downtown Nashville were alive with the sound of backroom guitar pulls, Midnight Jamborees and the Grand Ole Opry. Now you can recapture the magic of this golden era on the Walkin' Nashville Music City Legends Tour. Packed with history and behind-the-scenes anecdotes about your favorite country legends, this 90-minute walking tour tells the real story of how Nashville came to be called Music City. You'll see Printer's Alley, The Ryman Auditorium, Tootsie's Orchid Lounge, Ernest Tubb Record Shop and Hatch Show Print.Your friendly guide is Grammy-nominated journalist and musician, Bill DeMain. A longtime resident of Nashville, he will show you hidden corners of the city not found in any guidebook and tell you stories you won't hear on any other tour.From APRIL - OCTOBER, tours run Tuesday, Thursday-Saturday. From NOVEMBER - MARCH, tours run Friday & Saturday only (weekdays available by special arrangement for groups of 8 or more)Start Time: 10:30 AM (Please arrive 10-15 minutes early to check in)Tour Length: Approx. 2 Hours
Bonita Springs, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Bill is easy to listen to, well prepared, has years of local music experience and visits some good places...well worth the time and cost.

Helpful?
Thank DougFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    649
    13
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“A "Walkin" Encyclopedia of Nashville Music!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I wanted to take a specific tour on our trip in Nashville, TN; however through an Internet search we found Bill's tour. We are not huge country music fans - just huge music fans! Bill's knowledge of the Nashville's music history is unreal! If you are visiting Nashville, make Bill's tour your first stop - you'll have a much better idea on how to approach this great city and Bill might even help with your trip's soundtrack.

Helpful?
Thank SynthcinnatiKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I highly recommend this walking tour of Nashville”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was a very entertaining tour, a great way to get your bearings down town and reasonably priced to boot. Bill was both friendly and had an impressive knowledge of the music business in Nashville. My husband and I are not country fans per se but Bill's enthusiasm has encouraged us to do a little research and we really enjoyed the audio & video links in the email of goodies he sent following the tour. A great tour for music fans.
Jude & Nick, Sydney.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simply a must!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We really enjoyed this tour - it gives a great insight into the amazing musical history of this crazy town! Bill is a mine of information and very personable too, and we were fortunate on this occasion to have him all to ourselves! So much better than riding around on a bus, this is something visitors really must do to get the most out of Nashville.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GrahamHove_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
1 review
“Fantastic tour”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Bill's enthusiasm and knowledge of the town and the music legends was amazing. This tour should be a part of any trip to Nashville as his stories make the city and it's rich history come alive.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Autumn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walkin' Nashville - Music City Legends Tour also viewed

 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Walkin' Nashville - Music City Legends Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing