We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel under construction June 2014 till ?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville
Ranked #46 of 157 Hotels in Nashville
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We were unaware that the hotel was under construction so it was very noisy. The rooms were small and smelled of disinfectant but were otherwise clean. Internet was fast and easy to access Room Rates were high at $199.99. The only plus was the sausage and biscuit breakfast and the proximity to down town Nashville

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (833)
There are newer reviews for The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

680 - 686 of 833 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

This place is in serious need of repair which it appears to be undergoing. The single elevator is s-l-o-w. Expect some noise past 8 a.m. The location is within a 15-minute walk of attractions, but be prepared for a stout walk uphill on the return. It's a hotel with the feel of a 1960s motel.The rooms are small -- OK for a single guest. Wait until next year to see if they get it right.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Location is great for the Row, and other destinations. Construction on outside of hotel and outer walkways look very shabby. Inside rooms have been recently remodeled and are very nice. Had very noisy people sitting partying at 4:00AM right outside of the room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Deanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Do not stay at this hotel. It is disgusting and under construction. There were open wires everywhere, water leaking in the hallways, the elevators dont work and the breakfast they provide is so old and stale you wont want to eat it. This Best Western is better called a MOTEL rather then a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have stayed at the Best Western downtown Nashville for the past 2 CMA festivals. They are located very close to all the downtown attractions and a nice walk to the LP field. The hotel has been under renovation and the rooms are starting to look more modern yet the outside still needs some work.
The staff is absolutely amazing and make the stay much better.
Breakfast is nothing special, your basic hotel breakfast.
only one elevator so you have to wait a fit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Everything in this review is through the lens of renovation. The hotel is small, and dated, so the renovation was due. The elevator is tiny, and there is only one. The common areas (lobbies, hallways, breakfast area) are small, cramps, and rundown. Having said that, if you're looking for a place in Nashville, and you intend to treat your stay like being in Vegas...which is to say, you need a place to drop your bags, and sleep 6 hours a night, then this place will get the job done. Even though the common areas are rundown and a tad dirty, the rooms were clean, and I had no issues with the cleanliness, albeit the rooms are still a bit dated. The one thing I will never understand though is this: they charge a daily parking fee. When visitors clearly have better options, shouldn't parking be a FREE amenity? Best Western could and should consider this. We LOVED Nashville, and we will be back, but Best Western will have to sweeten the pot if they want us to stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mg4514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM711, General Manager at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thanks for responding and for your comments as they are in-line with the reasons we are currently renovating.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This hotel should be avoided. The NOISE and the condition of this hotel is beyond description. Great location, but business people, tourists and bikers should find another spot or drive in for the day. The front desk staff - well, my mom would say, if you don't have anything nice to say...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM711, General Manager at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property and keep in mind that's we are currently renovating to address perception, price and any value issues.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#20 of 157 in Nashville
1,233 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
#47 of 157 in Nashville
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 157 in Nashville
2,863 reviews
Downtown Nashville
21c Museum Hotel Nashville
21c Museum Hotel Nashville
#43 of 157 in Nashville
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville

Address: 711 Union St, Nashville, TN 37219-1707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 157 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range: $163 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville is in the heart of downtown, within walking distance to entertainment & dining venues. Our 100 sleeping rooms have been newly renovated. Free deluxe hot breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Nashville
Best Western Nashville
Nashville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing