We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to the 50'S”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville
Ranked #46 of 157 Hotels in Nashville
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The BW Downtown was like a time machine, traveling back in time to the not so wonderful 1950's Howard Johnson Motel Travel Lodge experience. Most of the hotel is under construction (jack hammer construction). The rooms had been partially upgraded (like someone went to a 2010 style hotel and tried to upgrade the 1950 style room to it). Ceiling fan in bathroom was like and aircraft taking off and was a combination with the lights (so you had to turn it on). No lobby, workout room (which they added) had 3 pieces of equipment with one broken. The breakfast room was also added. Only redeeming aspect of the stay was the staff was apologetic (realizing what they where dealing with) and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Catman400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM711, General Manager at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

I appreciate all reviews whether good or bad because we do want to know what our guests experience. What I appreciate the most are reviews such as this one that states the obvious but leaves out the current reality. Yes, the property is an older property that our new management company is currently renovating inside/out. All of the guest rooms which are 85% completed, along with all public areas, main lobby and the exterior which is currently being remodeled to date, will be updated. The new concept will also include a new Bistro connected to the main lobby that will serve hot foods and high in beverages.

Thank you for the opportunity to advertise these changes. At anytime feel free to come back and see the results. Your comments regarding the staff are most appreciated as they are our best and most important asset and I will be passing on your comment to them. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (855)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

789 - 795 of 855 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We had to stay here during a convention. No choice and by company rotation. The staff is just amazing and it makes up for a lot. But truthfully it's going to be a difficult 5 nights not being able to rest. We are on the 4th floor facing Union St which is loud with traffic but the worst part is the constant foot traffic out side our door. (there are no inner doors. They all open on the outside. At times it's like loud herds of talking elephants and it went on through 4:00. There are signs posted about noise control but there would be no point on calling the from desk. By the time they would be able to catch the slowest elevator ever up to our floor the noisemakers would be gone. Room itself is ok but small for the $190 a night price. And the vent fan in the bathroom is so loud we moved the table lamp to the back of the toilet and used it for the light in order to not have to turn on the bathroom light. Again, the staff is amazing and we are making the best of a dismal situation. The only reason I'm able to give it a 3 is the staff.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank tivab0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM711, General Manager at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

My deepest apologies for not exceeding your expectations and thank you for your nice comments about the staff. Our pricing is based on the market. Apparently you were aware of this based on the fact we were lower in price than any other properties downtown. I do understand that renovations are difficult but it is something that we must do in order to satisfy our guests and remain competitive.

It is my hope you will give us another chance once renovations are completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We wanted to be fairly close to downtown without paying crazy hotel rates so this seemed like a good fit. They had valet parking (but you were charged around $16 bucks a day for leaving it overnight) and I was impressed by the helpfulness of the employees in all aspects. We were given a room on the fourth floor, but they were doing renovation work right outside our room and that was unacceptable. I called the front desk and they immediately moved us to another room on the upper floor (fifth) on the north side of the building, away from most of the noise. It was much better. The elevator was woefully slow and inadequate, most times it made more sense to take the stairs - even from the fourth or fifth floor. The rooms all open to the outside and are not in an enclosed structure like most hotels. Breakfast was amazingly good, plenty of choices and all complimentary, not your typical continental breakfast nonsense. As I said the employees really made a difference here. We walked up Music row on Broadway both nights and walked back, it wasn't bad at all. Some might prefer a cab, but we enjoyed the walk. Bottom line, it's priced a little high for where it is and because of the renovation, but it was cheaper than many other downtown hotels and was still a good location

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueCollarMan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

For a hotel of its size, locationand as many people staying there that know one had complained about no hot water. I have never been treated so horrible at any Best Western properties that i had stayed in all over the Untited States of America. I would never stay or recomend any one to stay at that property even if that was the last place to stay in town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 559bryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM711, General Manager at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

As we have overly apologized to you regarding the mechanical failure of the boiler, we did have it repaired within the hour it was reported (late evening which is often difficult to do). We also discounted your account and I know for a fact we were very earnest, cordial and understanding of your attitude the following morning. We do try to please all but things that are mechanical will go out without warning. It is how we responded that was mentioned in your complaint.

Again, it was our goal to provide you with a no incident stay and we apologize for the mechanical failure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My fiancée and I recently attended a seminar at the Nashville Convention Center and chose to stay here because it was within walking distance. I am picky with hotels we stay at and this was a great choice. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Everything that we asked for was taken care of. The staff was so friendly and helpful. I ended up getting ill during our trip and didn't go to breakfast our second day there, and the girls at breakfast prepared me a plate for my fiancée to bring to me without even being asked. The staff truly went out of their way to make us feel at home. I have stayed at various hotels throughout the country, and the staff made this the best one yet. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to downtown Nashville!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessdowning16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was the second hotel we stayed in while in Nashville for a long weekend. Can't say enough good things about it. The staff was so cheerful and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. Great location for downtown. The valet parking gentlemen were super nice, the front desk people were helpful and the gals at breakfast were the BEST. It's not the newest hotel--it has an ancient elevator that takes forever, but I have to say their employees make this place a gem!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELIZABETHW150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We did not enjoy our stay at the Best Western in downtown Nashville. The staff was not accomodating, and the hotel was in disrepair due to construction. The fitness center contained 2 out of 3 machines that were broken, and when contacting the staff about this we were ignored. The noise from the construction was unbearable, and we had workers outside our room making noise as early as 8 am. Breakfast was almost inedible, and we are not typically picky eaters.The remote to our TV did not work, and our shower barely had water coming out. Overall, this hotel did not meet our expectations.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kelsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM711, General Manager at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

I'm sorry you did not enjoy your experience. Letting us know what your issues were would have been a benefit and would have given us the ability to address them. I can tell you that construction begins at or around 10am allowing time for our guests. The breakfast is a combination of hot waffles, sausage, biscuit and gravy, fried eggs, fruit, cereals, oat meals and a variety of beverages. I am so sorry that you felt it was not suitable. We do make every effort to please and accommodate all guests which sometimes is a difficult task. The new renovations will provide an amazing exterior, an upgraded public area along with a new Bistro serving imported beverages and hot foods. This is something our guests want and we are committed to delivering this. Again, my deepest apologies and hopes you will give us another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#20 of 157 in Nashville
1,248 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
#48 of 157 in Nashville
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 157 in Nashville
2,897 reviews
Downtown Nashville
21c Museum Hotel Nashville
21c Museum Hotel Nashville
#45 of 157 in Nashville
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville

Address: 711 Union St, Nashville, TN 37219-1707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 157 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range: $146 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville is in the heart of downtown, within walking distance to entertainment & dining venues. Our 100 sleeping rooms have been newly renovated. Free deluxe hot breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Nashville
Best Western Nashville
Nashville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing