We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful addition to downtown dining.”
Review of The Southern

The Southern
Reserve with OpenTable
The Southern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 2,053 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 3rd & Demonbreun
Description: Located on the ground floor of the Pinnacle at Symphony Place in the heart of the burgeoning SoBro district, The Southern takes its guests on a culinary journey where every entree tells a story. The traditional yet eclectic eating house features a state-of-the-art, shuck-to-order oyster bar, a real wood-fired grill, a locally grown buying strategy, deliciously tender meats and direct sourced, guaranteed fresh, sustainable seafood. The menus at the southern combine indigenous flavors with exotic ingredients and offer an authentically southern adventure with a twist. The Southern will prove soon be to be known for its genuine hospitality and unmatched eats.
nashville, tn
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A wonderful addition to downtown dining.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visited for dinner prior to a concert and were not disappointed. The location is great...near the symphony, arena and the Ryman. You can walk across the pedestrian bridge to the Titan's stadium. Chive biscuits were brought to the table, they were warm and delicious. For appetizers we enjoyed the blue cheese steak biscuits and the Dominican pork which became my entree. Both were good but the blue cheese biscuit was just a bit on the dry side. Hubby had the double pork chop which was very tasty but also a bit dry. Our friends enjoyed the burger topped with pimento cheese and bacon (looked amazing) and the chicken fried chicken and they said both were good.
For dessert we tried the chocolate cake which was okay and the bananas foster bread pudding which was amazing. The service was excellent and the manager made the rounds and seemed sincere in wanting to know his patrons and make sure everyone was happy. We will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katNashville_Tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,157
    562
    204
    61
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great brunch!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Went their twice during a recent trip to Nashville. Had the "hot chicken salad" the first time and "the cuban" on the second visit. The blood orange mimosas were a nice touch. Live music on both visits. Heard about the restaurant from our "Walkin' in Nashville" tour host. So glad he mentioned it. Would not hesitate to recommend. It can get busy so be prepared to chill at the bar with a cocktail.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mihe27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great southern experience.”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by employees of the hotel I stayed at. The inside was modern, food was tasty, and service was great. We sat at the bar tand watched the staff shuck oysters. Of course we tried them, very good. Had tomato basil bisque; incredible. Overall good food and atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere, Upscale Southern Food”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Enjoyed a nice business lunch here. It is located at the base of The Pinnacle at Symphony Place office tower just 2 blocks south of Broadway. Surprisingly fun atmosphere given its more buttoned-up location.

The service was attentive and the food very good with many upscale Southern dishes as well as a variety of fare. The grilled fish tacos (you can get them grilled, fried or blackened) were quite good and just the right portion size for lunch. The sweet potato fries seem to be popular, but I did not try them.

It is fairly noisy inside, so keep that in mind if you need to have a serious conversation. There is also outdoor seating, which is near the street (traffic noise is not bad during lunch ... outside might be preferable for conversation).

Overall, I enjoyed The Southern and would go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1TNtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would like to have eaten there....”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

But when we got there, five minutes after we called and they said to come on and walk in, we were told it would be an hour and a half weight. I said we just called five minutes ago! Two hostesses said "oh well, like 30 people walked in, I swear". And shrugged. I could not believe it. Rudest hostesses I've ever seen. I would have fired them on the spot.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jedrow755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Southern also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to The Southern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing