We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Mexican in Nashville!”
Review of chuys

chuys
Ranked #127 of 2,041 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Marlborough, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican in Nashville!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Ordered take out since I was traveling alone and staying 1 block from the restaurant. I was not disappointed. Huge servings. Food was hot and everything I would have received dining in was packed. I had the Chuychanga with tomatilla sauce - delicious. Tortilla chips were hot and pico was excellent. Fresh, flavorful and plenty to eat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlatlanderCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    138
    54
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Food was okay”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Visited this place after many people raved about it. I was a little disappointed. The food was just okay, not nearly as good as what I expected. Maybe it was all the positive things I have heard about and I built it up too much. Service was good, but would not be my first choice when looking for Mexican food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mom4kids19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great service!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I grew up in the original Chuy's in 1980s Austin, Texas and have dined at Chuy's in Atlanta and NYC, too. This one is just like the others, noisy and just average for the meal I ordered at each - the chile relleno. Over-fried, underflavored. Chips and salsa are good, and the margaritas on the rocks are great. In this location, my server was terrific.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jillpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
221 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Not your typical Mexican restaurant. The look is a mix between a diner and a Mexican restaurant. The food is excellent. The staff is great.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MartinJLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lost some of the charm of the original”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We love the original Chuys', but found this outpost to feel like an indifferent Tex Mex chain. The taco shells were stale. The charm was missing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mera99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed chuys also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to chuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing