We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Chicken without the attitude”

Pepperfire Hot Chicken
Ranked #220 of 2,044 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hot Chicken without the attitude”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I love hot chicken. What I don't love is hot chicken with an attitude. Like we're doing the owner a favor by ordering their food. This place gets it. Not only is the chicken awesome (and hot!), they really appreciate your business and it shows. We drive from Green Hills at lunch at least once a month to eat here. We place our order before we pull out of our parking lot and it's always fresh and ready when we get there. I go with hot tenders and most days that's hot enough for me. The wings are also solid and have picked them up for parties and tailgates. Never disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MortgageBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    41
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
122 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Solid spicy chicken”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The friendly staff is what makes this place compared with a couple other Hot chicken places in Nashville. They have samples if your not sure how hot you would like it. Overall Chicken was good and very tender. The flavor was better than Bolton's but I didn't find it as tasty as Prince's (although location a bit better) or Hattie's. The deep fried grilled cheese was very good and helped tame the heat in your mouth. Overall would return mainly because of friendly service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spinefx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Tring to hard.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

The chicken was to spicy for being the lowest level of hot. The Chili pepper and cayenne pepper was so over powering. Probably wouldn't go back but everyone was nice. If you like to taste heat and nothing else this is the place for you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lere97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Pepperfire is heads above the other "Hot Chicken" spots in Nashville because of the staff. They are always friendly, serve you quickly, and are honest with your wait time. Their chicken is consistently moist - I have tried the "hot" but have settled on the "medium" - plenty hot enough for me and not so hot that I cannot taste the spices. You can call in your order or email it prior to coming and it is ready for pickup - they send you a text, when it is ready, so you don't have to worry about hearing your name called. Give it a try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“When in Nashville”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Do not skip trying Nashville's Hot Chicken at Pepperfire. Small shack but big taste. Takes 30 minutes for your order to be ready but worth the wait. If you like hot spices, this dry rubbed chicken is for you.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debray46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepperfire Hot Chicken also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Pepperfire Hot Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing