We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Music venue Heaven”
Review of Station Inn

Station Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Murphy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Music venue Heaven”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to the Station Inn to hear our favorite bluegrass group (The Steeldrivers). This is the perfect place to hear live music. The place is small and feels like your in someone's living room. Seating is limited and tight, and you will meet new friends this way. Doors open at 7, but if it's a big name event, you better get in line by 6 to make sure you can get in.
Typical bar food is served, but be prepared to wait in line to order. The staff does a great job taking care of everyone. Just be patient.
We love the place so much, we are going back in 1 week to hear the group again. It's only a 4 hour drive from home for us. Make this a must on your Nashville trip!

Parking tip: if you get there early, there is free parking right behind the Inn.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank flatbroke61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    44
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best performance I've seen - great venue!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Station Inn during the Tin Pan South Songwriters Festival - it is in a nice neighborhood, plenty of parking and definitely family friendly. Would definitely return - this is a must see for country music fans.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LilCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, MA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Crowded and hard to hear music”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We went to The Station Inn on a Sunday night when there is no charge and open mic for bluegrass. This is a fairly modest venue and we shared a table with another group as it was very full. This could be very nice but the musicians seemed to be gathered in front of the stage on the right side and we were way to the left. They were not amplified and we couldn't see or hear them very well. The music may have been good but the set up didn't work for us. We stayed half an hour and when we left there was a sign on the outside door telling others the place was full... and it was. May be good for you, but not us that evening.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
88 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“an institution for outstanding music - do not skip!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

What a great music landmark! We went for the Sunday night open bluegrass jam. Definitely my favorite place we visited over a long weekend of live music. It's not upscale, it's not high class - but it is something NOT to be missed. Arrive right when it opens, so that you get a place to sit. It's a small place. I appreciated the popcorn, beer, and a Coke to accompany great music.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank fun-happy-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birch Tree, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was our first experience at The Station Inn, a small, smoke-free music venue showcasing incredible music talent--a real old-school Nashville landmark! If you are looking for plush or flashy, go elsewhere, but if upstart musical talent is your interest, don't miss it! Its real, its intimate, and its AUTHENTIC!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Station Inn also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing