We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay for lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edley's Bar B Que

Edley's Bar B Que
Ranked #23 of 2,028 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Burns, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Okay for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

A good place for BBQ. The pulled pork sandwich was huge. It wasn't the best, but was good. Although I've been there several times, with co-workers for lunch, this is not at the top of my list. Some sides are good, but others just were not what I expected.
Ribs are only available in the evening. If you're in the area, it is a good place for lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank majickmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    167
    55
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hipster BBQ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was expecting so much more from this place. Yes, it has a cool, vintage BBQ vibe, but the food lacked the same punch.

I had the pulled pork and I couldn't taste any hint of hickory smoke. The sides I ordered, grit casserole and baked beans, were too spicy for my liking and were not that large a serving.

I did, however, enjoy their beer selection and getting a draft in a mason jar.

Bottom line:I felt this was more of a hipster hang than it was a good BBQ joint, and with so many other BBQ places to choose from in Nashville, like Martin's, I'll not be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elwoodjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
261 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good BBQ, nice patio...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

It's a friendly BBQ place...with good food. It's a rustic place...order from the counter...and find a place to sit. The outdoor tables are good, if you can find one to grab. Pulled pork sandwich, and specials of pork tacos and a fried chicken nacho-like dish were very good. Good Bushwackers. Even though I too don't care for a restaurant where it's your job to find a table...I'll be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ottofueler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
109 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very Unimpressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Not a big fan of the whole "order your food then stand around akwardly trying to grab a table as soon as people get up in order to not lose it to someone else who is trying to do the same thing." We did get a table, though it was difficult, but we were also told this was not a busy night (Sunday)--I can't imagine what it would be like when it was busy.

The food was average. Maybe even below. I got an order of fries were were stale and somewhat cold when they arrived. The ribs were charred, but not really in a good way. The mac and cheese was average. The pulled pork was pretty good.

Honestly, the best part of the experience was the busboy Miguel who was on the front lines trying to help people get tables and cleaning up. Three cheers for Miguel!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Absolutely great food. Strange in how you order and stand around waiting for a table, but all seems to work out so when you get the table the food is soon to follow. Would be a great place in warm weather to sit outside and enjoy. A definite must.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edley's Bar B Que also viewed

 

Been to Edley's Bar B Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing