We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Foodie Experience !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Catbird Seat

The Catbird Seat
Ranked #147 of 1,961 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Haynes Area
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Foodie Experience !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Not a traditional restaurant. More of a 3 hour food concert in the round: counter seating surrounding chefs cooking. Chefs & staff interact & talk about each dish, cocktail or wine. A most memorable visual & delicious experience. Can't be picky-you eat what they serve: all small bites, freshly prepared in front of you. Creative, untypical & wonderful. Be prepared to pay: $115 per person without optional cocktail ($40) or wine menu($75). 20% tip automatically added to bill. My spouse & I blew $400…but we've spent that much on one night in a mediocre hotel room. I'll be thinking & talking about the Catbird for weeks to come..and be saving my money for a future visit!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    14
    11
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An adventure in gastronomy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

An adventure from start to finish... all servers were personable, took time to explain not only what you were eating but the incredibly laborious and inventive process' involved. 12 course meal, small plates, I'd say 50% were fabulous, 30% were very good and 20% I did not care for. Ended with burned toast cotton candy - what more is there to say??? Did the "low end" beverage paring which was perfect, ended up costing almost $500 for two. Worth it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
610 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Amazing spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Nashville is SO lucky to have a place like The Catbird Seat. My meal was insane and fun. The setup is a U shaped table that seats I believe 16 or so. Every dish was incredible. Chef Trevor Moran came from 5 years at NOMA...need I say more

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lanzmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just like watching Food Network”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Everything about this experience (and it IS an experience), was absolutely amazing. We did the wine pairing and I swear it was the best wine pairing I have ever experienced. We had a romantic dinner there- you are not over full but completely satisfied. If you can get in, I suggest going at least once; especially if you are a foodie.

Helpful?
Thank Sianapowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What you would expect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This place combines fine dining with a personal touch. You have to come here with an open mind. You don't know what you are going to eat, nor do you get a choice and you WILL be amazed. I tried some things ( pig tail) that I would never have tried and it was mind blowing. How you can turn something so......interesting into a wonderful dish is amazing. The setup is lovely (U shaped seating with cooking in the middle of the U). The people are friendly, the drinks are a must. Even if you do the basic pairing it is a wonderful addition to your meal. There is really not much more to say that hasn't been said but you should certainly go if you can get in!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Catbird Seat also viewed

 
Nashville, TN
 

Been to The Catbird Seat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing