We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent southern foodie experience”

Monell's at the Manor
Ranked #50 of 2,040 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great southern food served family style in a historic setting. Monell's at the Manor is located in an old antebellum home and our service is family style. No reservations, first come, first served. You will be placed at large tables with other people and we bring out platters of southern food. Price includes drink, dessert, entree, vegetables, salads and bread. Menu changes daily. Call for daily selections. After eating stroll upstairs and enjoy the antique furnishings or sit on the veranda and watch the planes go by. Everyone in the party must be present before being seated. We do not have private tables. We will keep your group all together. If you take up a chair, you will be charged. No cellphones at the table and pass to the left.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent southern foodie experience”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

As a citizen of Charleston, SC I have a spoiled palate and often dislike food when I travel. Monell's was an experience I had not tried before- family style dining. The food was amazing from the waldorf salad to green beans to cornbread and fried chicken and corn pudding, oh my. I hope they bring one to Charleston, SC! It would be a great addition. If anyone from Monell's reads this- you need to open a restaurant in West Ashley area of Chareston- on highway 17. Just a suggestion.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    105
    22
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food, good table mates, good time”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Had lunch here on Sunday on our way to the airport to fly home. It was just 2 of us, so we did not have to wait as long as the larger parties (45 minutes - an hour). We sat at a large table with a few lovely families. You start with a couple of salads and amazing biscuits and mini corn muffins. Then comes the fried chicken (excellent), pork, beef and the sides (mac & cheese, greens, and a few more that I can't recall). It was all delicious and it was fun to meet new people and pass all the dishes around. It was a unique experience. I did feel a little rushed (especially when our server plopped the dessert on our table as we ate our entrees), but still had a great time.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WallyMom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
169 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Family style Southern hospitality in super setting”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We had been to the Monell's in Germantown but never to the Manor. Some friends thought it'd be a fun place to have Easter brunch. Yes it was! I was impressed with how ready for the crowds they were. They had tents and chairs set up on the front lawn for people to wait comfortably. They also had refreshments, like ice tea and lemon aid in addition to water. Oh, and entertainment in the form of a musician. Monell's seems to have it down to a science. It's fun to go with people you know but also be sat at a table with people you don't. The food soon puts everyone at ease and talking...mostly to ask someone to pass around seconds (or thirds) of something. This location has the benefit of being set in a great old Southern mansion. Be sure to go upstairs and check out some of their antiques. (Plus it's a good excuse to walk up that fabulous curved staircase!)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HauntJauntsGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Breakfast in the South”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was the first trip to Monell's for my wife & I. We met some family members there. Monell's is family style service meaning that you will sit down at a long table w/ your family & other families and everybody at your table will get what's served. So let me tell you everything you can get a portion of at Monell's: Biscuits, cinnamon rolls, gravy, eggs, hash browns, cheesy grits, corn pudding, bacon, sausage, ham, pancakes, and fried chicken. Yes, fried chicken! I mean, come on, it is the south. Plus there are some homemade peach preserves right on the table. This is breakfast like your at mammaw's house, you eat like she thinks you don't eat enough. Listen close to the manners expected by each visitor while at the table & remember to always pass to the left.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great southern dinning experience!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Monell's was recommended to me by a friend. Our party of four really enjoyed our dinner. It was every reasonably priced and the food was very good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wvu09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monell's at the Manor also viewed

 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Monell's at the Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing