We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in one bite!”

Jeni's Splendid Ice Creams
Ranked #1 of 57 Dessert in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Description: We decided to open our first full-size scoop shop in Nashville in June, 2011 in the East Nashville neighborhood for many reasons, but mainly because the place reminded us so much of our scrappy roots. East Nashville, home to cyclists and pedestrians, families and urban farmers, artists and musicians of all stripes, and do-it-yourself bar and restaurant owners, is one of our favorites places in the country. Since we've been in East Nashville, we've been able to cultivate partnerships with folks such as Don Henry, who grows strawberries for us to make the perennial favorite Roasted Strawberry Buttermilk, as well as the good people at Yazoo Brewing Company, who supplies Yazoo Sue porter for the year-round ice cream Yazoo Sue with Rosemary Bar Nuts. There's a fantastic creative community and overall vibe throughout Nashville-especially in East Nashville.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfection in one bite!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The staff is so friendly and knowledgable about the different flavors! My fiancé and I went in expecting to get something randomly from what we saw on the website but were encouraged by the staff to try all of the flavors first! We were given bite size samples of multiple flavors which was fantastic. I went with the Buckeye state and Ugandan vanilla bean (best vanilla ice cream I've ever had)- my fiancé opted for the whiskey and pecan ice cream, you could definitely taste the whiskey! Although it is a little pricey, it is worth every penny!
We would highly recommend this place as a MUST VISIT if you're ever in Nashville!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geo816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    94
    23
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Craving it right now!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I elected not to go with some of the more...umm..err...uhh...eclectic flavors and go with something a little more tradition. "Absolutely delicious" is the first thing that comes to mind! Very rich and creamy. If you had to imagine a perfect ice cream, Jeni's would be as close as you could find.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wccope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most Unique Flavors Ever & Friendliest Staff!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Ran across Jeni's after trying lunch next door at Silly Goose (also very good). We decided we needed to try Jeni's because, even though it was freezing outside (Temp was in the 30's that day), their line was almost out the door. We were greeted by super friendly and eager staff. When they heard it was our first visit they began generously handing us samples of almost every flavor. You won't find any plain vanilla or chocolate here. We tried flavors like Goat Cheese & Cherry, Pear & Riesling, and Sweet Potato with Toasted Marshmallows! It was very rich, but delicious! We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“JENI'S Splendid Ice Cream - WONDERFUL”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Walk in the door of Jeni's and you are immediately hit with the sweet smells of an active Ice Cream Store - sweet aromatic powerful pleasing, puts a smile on your face. The ice creams names, flavors, combinations, are unique, unusual, and delicious. It is hard to walk in and not want to try a little of each (they do have small spoons and they will give you tastes before you buy). Right on the corner of the 1818 Eastland Avenue building in East Nashville (right between its wonderful neighbor restaurants, The Wild Cow, and The Silly Goose), you cannot go wrong or leave empty handed [unless you have eaten your order before getting out the door! :) ]

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most Expensive Ice Cream on earth.. because It's the BEST ice cream on earth!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Okay, so it is really expensive but honestly it's the most delicious ice cream you'll ever have in your life. You can taste every flavor before making a decision (including the ice cream sandwiches), and the staff is really friendly. You will become addicted, and start buying by the pint like I did. Worth every penny.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jeni's Splendid Ice Creams also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Jeni's Splendid Ice Creams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing