We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 D's: Decent Dinner Decision”
Review of Chago's Cantina

Chago's Cantina
Ranked #486 of 2,427 Restaurants in Nashville
Cuisines: Mexican
Neighborhood: Bellmont/Hillsboro
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Bellmont/Hillsboro
Reviewed April 17, 2019

So brother and niece were in town and niece wanted Mexican. Chago's was close; I'd been there once some years back and it was good. Well, it was good again. Not over the top great but passes muster with no real regret. Enjoyed the catfish burrito, accompanying beans and the rice was good, according to niece. Brother and niece both really liked their tacos, so that was a win. Service a bit slow to take order, but waiter was fine. I'm very easy going, not very demanding. Someone else might have gotten a bit antsy waiting for server. It's a busy joint, noisy, but again, as my title indicates, all in all, a "decent dinner decision." Would go back.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wordduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 69 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2018

Right on the edge of Belmont University campus you can find some neat places for lunch. Chago’s is one of them and we visited for lunch. Food was good, service friendly and the only negative was that the black beans were cold. They offered to replace them but there was plenty of food on the plate. Hopefully the problem was solved for any other patrons ordering the same side. I will gladly go back again.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

We visited Chago’s a couple of years ago when we were in town, and we loved it. The food & drinks were great. This time, the portions were tiny, wine was served in a Mason jar, enchiladas were cold, and $3 for 1/4 cup of beans...All three of us said the place had gone downhill. And, there were two huge tubs of filthy water in the middle of the dining room — AC appeared to be leaking.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank pdsmitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018 via mobile

We stopped for dinner at Chago's on a week night. The food was good and our waitress was very friendly. The only negative was a fellow customer a few tables over who was loudly incredibly rude to one of the other servers after the customer had moved tables without telling the staff. It was a bit uncomfortable and I felt bad for the staff.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Ekgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2018 via mobile

We got out of church on a Sunday and we were going somewhere else along the street to eat! It was pouring down rain and our original choice was packed! We decided to give Chago’s a try even though we hadn’t heard of it before! We had a Naco taco, which was wonderful and I’d definitely have again. My husband had chicken chimichanga and my daughter had steak carnitas burrito with guacamole! They both loved it too! They have sangria on the menu that sounded great and maybe we will try next time!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank vic1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chago's Cantina also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Chago's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing