We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic hotel; best Marriott I've encountered” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University
Ranked #47 of 156 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel; best Marriott I've encountered”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for a week with family and friends, as we all prepared for my wedding day. (My wedding reception was at the Parthenon immediately across the street, so the location couldn't be beat.) For starters, the hotel is gorgeous. It seems new, with dynamic and modern decor. The rooms are immaculate, and I visited a lot of them, as family members had rented out perhaps 30 rooms in the time before and during my wedding weekend. Food at the restaurants is expensive, as is the case at most hotels, and delicious. Many of the rooms either have a view of West End Ave. and the Parthenon, or Vanderbilt and the football stadium. Restaurants and stores including Borders and P.F. Chang's are steps away, easily accessed on foot without crossing any streets.

The service deserves really special mention. The staff at the Marriott bent over backwards to facilitate smooth check-ins for guests and distribution of all our "welcome bags." They also pitched in numerous times as my mom and I pulled together last-minute wedding tasks -- this includes sending and receiving faxes and other deliveries, as well as helping my mom (not a Nashville native) figure out good sources for different things. They helped my mom and I deal with several large, odd loads of stuff -- all the reception favors, for example. Several of them knew our names by the end of the week and were extremely friendly, helpful, and congratulatory. Bear in mind that our wedding utilized no Marriott services other than the block room reservations, which came at a block room discount. But they were more helpful to us in that last week, in lots of little ways, than some of my vendors.

I stayed at the Marriott a few weeks later for a friend's wedding, and this time the reception was actually at the Marriott. Their reception area was beautiful and the food was terrific.

In closing, I couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at the Marriott. The rooms are nicer than some of those at "boutique" Nashville hotels, including nearby Hotel Indigo, and the service is impeccable.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank watchdog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    203
    117
    45
    21
See reviews for
155
141
37
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

Obviously, the Marriott has structured their hotels to place the Marriott for the business travelor with a large expense account, the Courtyard for the business travelor on a budget or for family travelors, the Fairfield inn for cost conscious families and the Resdience Inn for larger groups that need more space. It was obvious that this Marriott catred to the business crowd that wrote off all expenses since they charged $4 for water in the room while most hotels offered that as a service. They also charged $22 for overnight valet parking with only a $3 discount if you parked it yourself. What truly annoyed us was that they charged $9.95 for 24 hour internet access while every hotel we stayed during these two months of traveling the country has offered WiFi as a free service! Ludicrous! We ending up spending almost $50 with unnecessary charges and fees. Believe me...there are other choices. And I am a Marriott rewards member that will not use Marriott other than Courtyards or Fairfield Inns.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Arlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

Nice clean facility. Superb location. friendly staff. Shuttle Suburban will take you to/from downtown or Hillsboro Village or anywhere reasonable for tips. Many fine eating establishments withing walking distance. Unique view into Vandy football stadium from room. Pretty cool bar just off lobby.

What kept it from being 5* ? --Room wouldn't get quite as cool as I wanted.+ $23/day valet parking not really typical of location--but is kind of offset by liberal free shuttle policies.

Marriott Vanderbilt was a good place to stay, particularly at Priceline rate.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whosyer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

I vist Nashville about twice a year. This is a VERY BASIC Marriott and the only reason I stay here is if the Loews is full. Really there is no compelling reason to stay there in my opinion.
On my arrival this time I was offered a choice of 2 rooms - one with 2 beds or a king with disabled access. I asked for further explanation from the front desk clerk who just told me that there was shower instead of the tub. What she failed to mention was that the clothes rail in the wardrobe was built for disabled reach & therefore all of my clothes would be trailing on the ground! So I changed rooms.
There was no safe in the room and the views from many of the rooms are of the parking lot. The evening food delivered from room service was greasy & really unappealing, though the breakfasts were better.

Most disturbingly (and unhygenically) a had a experience repeated from a stay at the same hotel in 2005; namely my breakfast tray still sitting outside my room at 9.30pm when I returned from a day at the office. The room had been cleaned but sadly someone felt it OK to leave the food tray on the floor outside all day.

I really think the Marriott should look at upping its standards at this establishment. In the meantime I'm looking at staying at the Hutton next time.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank electroshock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
195 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

Got this for $75 a night on Priceline, and it was a lovely hotel in a nice location -- centrally located to restaurants and shopping and just a short drive to Music Row and downtown. The front desk didn't even let us know about our parking options (they were not the most helpful bunch), but from reading this, we parked easily on the street in front of the hotel at all times (we were there over the holiday weekend). I suppose the hotel is fairly nondescript in a hotel kind of way, but the rooms were spacious, the bed was huge, and it appeared well-maintained. Only complaint is that the neighbor's plumbing was very loud.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richnindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2009

Excellent hotel and location with easy walking access to P. F. Chang's restaurant, Starbucks, Border's and Vanderbilt campus. Self parking area is not convenient.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tngypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2009

We visited Nashville to attend the Grand Ole Opry, but many downtown hotels were booked. We picked the Marriott at Vanderbilt, which isn't far from downtown and saved us money. The room cost about $137 a night including taxes and lugs. The hotel is shoehorned in between businesses and the Vanderbilt University football stadium. Parking is inconvient and costs $20 a night next door. But it's a good hotel with friendly staff. Rooms are smallish but well appointed. The bathroom sink wouldn't drain easily, and no one came when I reported it. Our view was of the Parthenon and the big city park. The breakfast buffet was good but a little pricey for what you get. They have a nice indoor swimming pool, but no whirlpool, which is something I missed. They take you downtown on their shuttle, but it stops at 11 p.m. and that's too early. There is one computer for the public, but kids were constantly on it. On balance, I'd rather we had stayed downtown.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigredjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)
0.5 mi away
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
#10 of 156 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Nashville at Vanderbilt
0.9 mi away
Hutton Hotel
Hutton Hotel
#19 of 156 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University

Property: Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University
Address: 2555 W End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203-1423
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#24 Business Hotel in Nashville
#30 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#42 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Vanderbilt University campus, Marriott Nashville is one of the area's premier West End Nashville hotels. The hotel overlooks the historic Vanderbilt University stadium and Centennial Park and the famed Parthenon. In addition, this top-rated Nashville hotel offers a free downtown shuttle to check out all Music City has to offer. Park25 Bistro, featuring Chef Kimo Akana, serves an eclectic American menu that is comfy, local, and creative. Other amenities include Marriott's new Entertainment Package to stream from personal Netflix, Hulu and Pandora accounts, a renovated fitness center, self/valet parking and a concierge level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Nashville At Vanderbilt University Hotel Nashville
Marriott Vanderbilt University
Nashville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing