We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great stay but parking cost ridiculous!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University
Ranked #46 of 156 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
GREENVILLE
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stay but parking cost ridiculous!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Enjoyed our one night stay. Requested view of vanderbilts Dudley field- saw football players conditioning in morning! Son loved it! Lobby & common areas great. Room clean & comfortable. Parking- valet & self park was way overpriced. We parked in holiday inn lot next door for free:)

Room Tip: Loved view of stadium but Parthenon view would be good too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank car0linagirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    203
    117
    45
    21
See reviews for
155
141
37
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

First off, I must qualify that by completing a survey after we returned, Marriott made good and refunded the difference of our one night stay.

However, we booked two rooms a year on advance at Marriott at $379 not including tax, parking, and Internet. I was shocked that when nearly everyone has free wi-fi, Marriott wanted $10 per day.

After we checked in, our friends noticed that the same room was now going for $219 on Expedia as well as those walking in the door. So because we had committed a year on advance, we were getting ripped off over $160 per day.

When we talked with the staff, they shrugged and said there was nothing they would do.

Fortunately the Holiday Inn, literally steps away WAS willing to take our reservations for the next three nights at that $199 including parking and wi-fi.

We cancelled our remaining nights with Marriott and left the next morning for Holiday Inn.

We were quite surprised how unconcerned the entire staff was. Either they didn't care or had no authority to change the price.

Not a great plan, as I posted about our issue on a CMAFest Facebook page and several thousand people were also told to not book with Marriott.

Just an FYI, this does NOT include Courtyard by Marriott, stayed with them three years ago and was treated great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndyLovesItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor H, Front Office Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with during us during the 2014 CMA Fest and I am happy we were able to take care of your initial billing issue. We hope that you will visit us again during the CMA Fest and please let me know if I can be of anymore assistance to you.

Thanks,

Taylor Hart
Front Office Manager
taylor.hart@whitelodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

The young woman at the front desk was lovely, quietly personable and very helpful. She made an effort to get us two beds instead of a king, even though online it said there were no more. She offered suggestions about what to do, based on my teen. She was unusual in that she was very service oriented, but natural and warm. It was noticeable and made a big impression on us. Looks like the hotel has had a fair amount of updating and lobby is beautiful and modern. A Starbucks right across from the elevators on the first floor makes mornings easy. The beds were fantastic, and I appreciated that there were two queens versus the usual doubles. The breakfast buffet was delicious, though not inexpensive at $30 a person. Lovely restaurant, but the service wasn't very good. Although many servers milling around, coffee never refilled until asked for, and then a long wait. Multiple servers trying to clear our plates when we were still eating. We were in and out in under 20 minutes.
In the room a few things: a small thing but the menu for breakfast room service on the hotel menu in room was less expensive then the menu for the breakfast order you hang on your front door - perhaps they just need to up date the in room menus?
The floor by our beds was really wet, so bad we had to put a towel on it. When we mentioned it to the front desk an engineer came to look at it and took a big discount off our room which was very thoughtful. Apparently it had been very recently cleaned and had not dried. (It was sopping wet...).
We did self service park at the parking lot out the back door, to me seemed expensive at $30 for an empty lot. Maybe normal for Nashville?
Sounds like I am complaining but I am not, those were small things. The beds were heaven, the location perfect for both visiting Vanderbilt and the Parathion, with the exception of the wait staff, all employees were actually exceptionally nice and helpful. The room was so comfortable we opted to stay in and read before dinner rather then heading out to explore as we had planned. Great view of Parathion right out window, lovely at night all lit up. I'd stay here every time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyCamperNorwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Having stayed at this hotel in the past, I found the hospitality far superior during this visit - every one was friendly, helpful and kind. The room was excellent - facing the stadium - and every employee I encountered appeared happy to be of service. I enjoyed the little tasting event during happy hour - the salmon was delicious. I'm planning to book a longer visit next time. Everything appeared to be in great shape.

Room Tip: Choose one facing the football stadium, if possible. They are quieter and have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I stayed here for a conference for four nights, and have not slept so well in ages. Two reasons for this: the bed is heaven and the rooms are soundproofed to the max. I was keeping some pretty weird hours so I was up early, up late, in my room during the day... and not once did I hear a sound from the hallway or adjoining rooms.

Location isn't ideal if you're in Nashville for the bars downtown (which I wasn't) and it doesn't have a free airport shuttle (but there is a shuttle from the airport you can pay for). The good news is the hotel has its own great shuttle bus service into downtown, which was awesome for a lone traveler who had never been to the city before. One night I took a wander down to the bars and they even picked me up afterwards! Brilliant. Plus the driver went completely out of his way to help me find Jack White's record store. Great service from those guys.

HOWEVER, the hotel charges for wi-fi. This is a huge pet peeve of mine. I mean c'mon, people, it's 2014. No hotel should charge for wi-fi in this day and age.

Iron in the room worked, the shower was decent, you could see the Parthenon from my window and there was a little fridge for beers (or... other stuff, I suppose) and the blackout curtains on the windows did their job. Staff were standard hotel friendly, always with a smile.

In summary, great hotel if you're at the university, but choose somewhere closer to the action if you're there for the downtown bars. OH! There is an awesome dive bar a stone's throw from here... the Springwater. Awesome little joint with pool tables and cheap, cold beer. Loved it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ribbongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We celebrated our 20th anniversary in Nashville over the 4th of July weekend. We chose this hotel due to the location was close to the downtown festivities. They have a shuttle to take you to and from downtown locations with very pleasant drivers. We had fantastic service from the moment we arrived. Kelly welcomed us at valet parking and the other guys took great care of us each day. Trey checked us in and made us feel welcome the remainder of our stay. He put us on the 9th floor overlooking Centennial Park and the Parthenon (lovely view).
Trey sent champagne to our room with a happy anniversary note. The next morning the ladies at the front desk helped me with a safety deposit box and found out we were celebrating our anniversary. We left to do some sightseeing and upon our return found a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries along with a note from Robbie wishing us a happy anniversary. Our stay there was perfect to celebrate our anniversary and we will definitely return. We highly recommend this hotel. The staff understands how to obtain repeat customers. Hats off to all the staff and thank you for all you did to make our stay memorable!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here this past weekend and we will not stay here again. While the rooms were nice they were not spectacular. I was expecting much more for the price of the room. Don't get a drink or two at the bar!!! There was a 23.5% tax! I thought there must be a mistake because in Tennessee there is a 9.25% tax. We asked and were told the extra was the hotel tax. We didn't have return visit to the bar after dinner. The self parking was $30/day and they had tax on that too!!! Ridiculous!!!!!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lov1ngtennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)
0.5 mi away
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
#10 of 156 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Nashville at Vanderbilt
0.9 mi away
Hutton Hotel
Hutton Hotel
#19 of 156 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University

Property: Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University
Address: 2555 W End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203-1423
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#24 Business Hotel in Nashville
#30 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#42 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Vanderbilt University campus, Marriott Nashville is one of the area's premier West End Nashville hotels. The hotel overlooks the historic Vanderbilt University stadium and Centennial Park and the famed Parthenon. In addition, this top-rated Nashville hotel offers a free downtown shuttle to check out all Music City has to offer. Park25 Bistro, featuring Chef Kimo Akana, serves an eclectic American menu that is comfy, local, and creative. Other amenities include Marriott's new Entertainment Package to stream from personal Netflix, Hulu and Pandora accounts, a renovated fitness center, self/valet parking and a concierge level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Nashville At Vanderbilt University Hotel Nashville
Marriott Vanderbilt University
Nashville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing