We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Place to Stay in Nashville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University
Ranked #38 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Alabama USA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Nashville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The Marriott is immediately adjacent to the Vanderbilt football stadium. Rooms on one side overlook the stadium. I would say that from most rooms you could watch a game in progress! We did not stay for a football weekend (which would be a great location to do so), but for a wedding in the city. The hotel was very clean and well appointed like most Marriotts are. Valet parking was extra ($29 per day!) but the valet attendants did a very good job. Overall, good room, good location, good service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the stadium side of the hotel, as high as possible. It will be a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clovernookwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    195
    111
    44
    20
See reviews for
146
134
36
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great Hotel, Great Accommodations. A stench of garbage permeated the air as you entered the front entrance, but that is expected in the heart of a major city. My major quarrel with this establishment was the lack of ease while connecting to the internet. Even where Wifi was supposed to be free, there was a mysterious, lack of it. Overall, Great Hotel strongly recommend to possible Vanderbilt students and families visiting the university. It is just down the street from Barns and Nobel and the Office of Undergrad Admissions. The Parthenon is just across the street!

Room Tip: Lack of Accessible Wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrightless S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We just spent 6 nights conducting a conference at this hotel. We had numerous comments from our attendees regarding the excellent customer service staring with their arrival to their departure. The lobby bar is a great place to network and socialize. Many of our attendees took advantage of the free shuttle for the short ride to the downtown "honkey tonk area". What a great location with numerous surrounding restaurants, shops, etc and the popular Centenial Park right across the street. The Parthenon is an impressive site and well worth a visit. Some of the rooms including the Concierge lounge look down into the stadium of Vanderbilt University.. Everything we ate was deicious. It is so rare to have people comment on how good the food was at these meetings but we got lots of positive feedback. I highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NEFAgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
268 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

It was my friend's mistake, but at the end i had huge family room with two king size beds for money, which are normal price of tiny double room somewhere in Frankfurt or Stockholm. Therefore i was happy customer from very beginning, i think. The hotel is good, i like the pool. Gym is compact but well equipped. Area around has couple of good restaurants and bars. The downtown is a little bit further away, however, everybody should know that Vanderbilt University and Downtown are not same things, at least in Nashville.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Borys B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
256 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We only had one night in Nashville and had a dinner meeting at the nearby Fleming's restaurant, so this was very convenient. We were running a bit late and checked in just prior to our meeting. We were greeted and checked in by a very kind young man, Wendell?. He was very welcoming and the process was very efficient. We easily made it to our meeting. We drove downtown later that evening to check out some bars and it was only about a 5 minute drive. The room was very comfortable, overlooking the Vanderbilt football field, which was really cool. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room amenities were nice. The next morning we took a walk from the hotel and had breakfast nearby and checked out the beautiful campus. A very relaxing morning before we had to leave town. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the football field.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teamom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Went to Nashville for the first time - went for pleasure/vacation. Hotel was fine enough, but it was much farther from downtown that we thought. Had to take a taxi anywhere - dinner, bars, etc. Nothing was walkable. There was a shuttle but it was really hit and miss. Also, you could drive if you bring a car, but the daily parking fee is outrageous. I wouldn't come back - would rather pay a little more to be closer to where the main stuff is happening, and then taxi and not rent a car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honeymooners2317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in early October. Check-in was quick and the desk staff accommodated us with our room preference overlooking the stadium. Our room was spacious, clean, and quiet although the doors are VERY noisy when closing. The bed was extremely soft, and both of us had backaches. Location is perfect for the Vanderbilt area and there are several restaurants within walking distance. Self parking in a covered garage very near the hotel is $24/day. We did not use WiFi.

Room Tip: Views on the back right side of the hotel have the best view of the stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingbusinessmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.5 mi away
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
#9 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hutton Hotel
Hutton Hotel
#21 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,576 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Vanderbilt - Elliston Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University

Property: Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University
Address: 2555 W End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203-1423
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#24 Business Hotel in Nashville
#30 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#42 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Vanderbilt University campus, Marriott Nashville is one of the area's premier West End Nashville hotels. The hotel overlooks the historic Vanderbilt University stadium and Centennial Park and the famed Parthenon. In addition, this top-rated Nashville hotel offers a free downtown shuttle to check out all Music City has to offer. Park25 Bistro, featuring Chef Kimo Akana, serves an eclectic American menu that is comfy, local, and creative. Other amenities include Marriott's new Entertainment Package to stream from personal Netflix, Hulu and Pandora accounts, a renovated fitness center, self/valet parking and a concierge level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Nashville At Vanderbilt University Hotel Nashville
Marriott Vanderbilt University
Nashville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing