We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent property with great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University
Ranked #46 of 156 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent property with great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights on business. Check in was friendly and efficient and my room overlooked the Centennial Park. It's standard Marriott fare, which is why I love Marriott. Comfortable bed, decent products, well soundproofed rooms. The Vanderbilt location is really set apart by the excellent staff - always felt welcome and that nothing was too much trouble.

The location is great for exploring the west end / Vanderbilt area. It's over a mile to downtown, but the hotel has a complimentary shuttle that will take you in a 2 mile radius. There are some high-end chain restaurants next to the hotel (Flemings, PF Changs and J Alexander's) but some more local places can be found after a short walk. It's on the Vanderbilt University ground and felt friendly and safe.

The concierge lounge provides a great view of the Vanderbilt football field and the attendants were incredibly friendly. The pool is small, but well maintained. I'd definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Facing Centennial Park gave me a wonderful view every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TauntonInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    203
    117
    45
    21
See reviews for
155
141
37
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,187 reviews
421 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 617 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a few times in the past year, the most recent of which was September, 2013, and I think the hotel's service is improving. For instance, valets do a really nice job of getting to the car quickly, retrieving cars quickly, and opening up the doors of the hotel for guests with bags. In the morning, a staff member stands right near the exit, ready to help with anything and generally wishing people a nice day and verifying they had a nice stay. Front desk staff have been very welcoming. The woman who works in the concierge lounge is very nice.

The lobby looks great, but the rooms need some work. They're not falling apart or anything, but they have older furniture and could feel a bit fresher. I feel the same way about the fitness center.

In-room dining has been very good--they do a particularly nice job with salads. Dishes have always been delivered promptly and with very pleasant service. The evening offerings in the concierge lounge are decent, although I've seen other Marriott properties do a nicer job.

Overall, the hotel provides a solid business travel experience, and it has a great location, particularly if your work is in the West End or with Vanderbilt. Multiple restaurants, from casual to fancy, are within walking distance, and the neighborhood is safe. Room rates can really vary--at times, I've found them a bit expensive for the experience the hotel provides, but when they are more moderate, the hotel provides solid value for the price paid.

Kudos to the management staff here for investing in service--it's gotten better and better over the past year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I am a frequent guest of this hotel for work in the medical device industry and stay here approximately 40 nights per year. The hotel is right on the Vandy campus and walking distance to excellent restaurants. I exercise on campus, which is safe and full of people. If you get a room on the stadium side, you look directly into the football stadium and have full sight of the field. The other side of the hotel has a view of the Parthenon and surrounding park, which is another great place to run. I would say this is an excellent hotel for the business traveler who expects a little more with their hotel stay, but also for the Vanderbilt parents who want to be walking distance to the entire campus.

Room Tip: Ask for the stadium side if you enjoy sports and the atmosphere of a sporting event
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan3214567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I recently stayed here for a family visit that happened to coincide with a football game. The staff was fabulous and the property is beautiful (as is the view of the stadium!). Before arriving, I received a "virtual concierge" email asking if I had any special requests. I made several requests and this hotel accommodated almost every one of them. The person with whom I was communicating even put in a request for a suite upgrade, though that didn't work out. The one improvement would be if the Concierge Lounge were open on weekends and holidays. The lounge was closed all weekend plus Labor Day, which was a drawback for me. I know this happens at a lot of Marriott properties, though. Overall, a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iheartnola678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have been staying at the Marriott Vanderbilt in Nashville since my sister attended Vanderbilt years ago. I have never been disappointed. Great location. Our room on the last stay (841) looked out onto the Nashville parthenon. Great view! Everything is comfortable and the service if very good. Small starbucks in lobby so easy to grab and go.

Room Tip: Room 814 has a view of the nashville parthenon
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitney s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing Marriott and allowing us to read about your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Talk about customer service. Whoever the manager is really has customer service ingrained into this staff. I don't think they could have been more helpful. I was here on business and didn't have time for amenities, but the concierge lounge was great and very well stocked, including bacon and eggs for breakfast. The restaurant/bar downstairs looked great -- very modern. And this place is quiet! This is the first hotel in years where I didn't need my earplugs to sleep. I will say that the parking was pretty high - that is always a disappointment and always a surprise. I find it a bit deceptive that they don't call that out when giving you a room rate - to pay $29 more bucks a night is significant.

Room Tip: I was on the side facing the Vanderbilt football field - extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your feedback and are thrilled to learn you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Brook, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Bonus - Bananas and apples are available in the exercise room! :) We enjoyed this stay. But don't bother having breakfast here: Buffet is $17.95/person! Starbucks is around the corner with many choices, including egg wraps. We brought our bikes and toured the campus....great fun. Parking is silly expensive... maybe try street parking to save the expense.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of stadium!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)
0.5 mi away
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
#10 of 156 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Nashville at Vanderbilt
0.9 mi away
Hutton Hotel
Hutton Hotel
#20 of 156 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University

Property: Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University
Address: 2555 W End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203-1423
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#24 Business Hotel in Nashville
#30 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#42 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Vanderbilt University campus, Marriott Nashville is one of the area's premier West End Nashville hotels. The hotel overlooks the historic Vanderbilt University stadium and Centennial Park and the famed Parthenon. In addition, this top-rated Nashville hotel offers a free downtown shuttle to check out all Music City has to offer. Park25 Bistro, featuring Chef Kimo Akana, serves an eclectic American menu that is comfy, local, and creative. Other amenities include Marriott's new Entertainment Package to stream from personal Netflix, Hulu and Pandora accounts, a renovated fitness center, self/valet parking and a concierge level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Nashville At Vanderbilt University Hotel Nashville
Marriott Vanderbilt University
Nashville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing