We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Hotel for a quick trip to Nashville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University
Ranked #37 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for a quick trip to Nashville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location was great. Right on the corner of Vanderbilt University and overlooking Centennial Park. Our room had the perfect view of the Vanderbilt football stadium! Felt very safe walking around the hotel and location was close to everywhere we wanted to be. Like others mentioned, parking charge was quite steep, but Valet service was great and never had to wait more than a minute or two for our car (there are a few surface level spots for valet, so if we knew we were going out again soon, they would leave our car right there). One other thing to keep in mind, the pictures of the pool area online made it look large and luxurious....it was one of the reasons we chose this hotel. It is actually a rather small pool and deck space which limited the amount of time my daughter actually wanted to spend at the pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience and apologize the pool area feel short of your expectations. We will leverage this feedback as we are always looking to improve! Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    192
    107
    43
    20
See reviews for
141
134
36
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Perfect for visiting Vanderbilt. This is the one to choose. I have stayed in all the places around the campus, and this is the one. Only catch is the expensive parking, but there is no other good option on parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar36111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt! We sincerely appreciate your detailed feedback and trust others will as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you're visiting Vanderbilt University, this hotel couldn't be more convenient. You're right next to the stadium and a short walk to most of the campus. On the other hand, the hotel charges $29/day to park your car...and there aren't any cheaper options around. If I'd known this, I'd have taken a taxi from the airport. The other quibble is that the air conditioning in our room didn't get rid of the humidity. It was 90 degree weather and, while we weren't exactly sweating, it was just damp. On the other hand, the staff was friendly and helpful, there's a big Starbuck's in the lobby (with regular Starbucks prices), and the beds are super-comfortable with down mattress toppers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drusilla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for ensuring we are aware of the humidity issues during your stay. This certainly is not standard and understanding how frustrating this inconvenience must have been. I will work with the engineering team to ensure this issue is not repeated in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have stayed at this location twice in the past year. The staff are wonderful and the rooms are very clean. Valet parking staff are very helpful when it comes to recommendation for attractions and food. I had breakfast downstairs and it was really good. I would recommend this hotel for anyone that may be traveling to Nashville.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VolsFan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
We greatly appreciate your kind remarks and look forward to serving you in the future! Thank you for choosing Marriott!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt is the best full- service Marriott property in the greater Nashville area. I had the pleasure of staying in one of the wonderful king suites. The bathroom was very spacious. The king bed was also very comfortable. The living area was spacious and nicely appointed. The Concierge Lounge was great. I really enjoyed the hot appetizers in the evening as well as the hot breakfast items in the morning. The hotel is nicely appointed and elegant. Special thanks to Steve Sines, General Manager, and Adam Henderson, Front Desk Manager. Jim Steers, Revenue Manager, was also very kind and accommodating. Scott Ferguson, Front Desk Supervisor. was very kind to us during checkout. Gail Bryant in the Concierge Lounge was kind and helpful. Jevon, Brittany, and Taylor at the Front Desk was also very helpful. I had a wonderful stay at the Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt.

Room Tip: The Concierge Lounge is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SpaceTravel447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to recognize many of our hosts and leadership team members. We are thrilled to learn you enjoyed your stay and hope to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
108 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Me: Marriott Platinum Medallion of many years, average hotel stay one night, travel throughout the country.

This hotel, IMO: Above average Marriott. Clean, quiet, nice Concierge Lounge, very good staff.

Be Aware: There appears to only be valet parking, and it's expensive. For those not on an expense account, be prepared. It's not something I'd expect at a hotel in Nashville.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJKatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt. I trust this feedback will be helpful to others when choosing where to stay in Nashville. Our parking arrangements are a bit unique due to the fact we don't own the parking structure itself. We do offer both Valet and Self options with no additional charge for the Valet service itself. Again, thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A nice hotel with a great view of the Vanderbilt football stadium from many rooms. Parking is expensive and a bit of a walk with luggage. (Also got stuck while trying to leave the parking garage because the card reader wasn't reading our room key for in/out privileges.) Close to Rotier's and the Barnes & Noble that is the official Vanderbilt bookstore. Was chastised by a manager in the hotel restaurant because we had a doggie bag from an upscale restaurant and asked for a plastic fork. We may stay here in the future, but more because of the location than anything else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiltmoreGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt. We appreciate the opportunity to review our successes and opportunities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.5 mi away
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
#9 of 155 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Vanderbilt - Elliston Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hutton Hotel
Hutton Hotel
#20 of 155 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,535 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University

Property: Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University
Address: 2555 W End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203-1423
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#24 Business Hotel in Nashville
#30 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#42 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Vanderbilt University campus, Marriott Nashville is one of the area's premier West End Nashville hotels. The hotel overlooks the historic Vanderbilt University stadium and Centennial Park and the famed Parthenon. In addition, this top-rated Nashville hotel offers a free downtown shuttle to check out all Music City has to offer. Park25 Bistro, featuring Chef Kimo Akana, serves an eclectic American menu that is comfy, local, and creative. Other amenities include Marriott's new Entertainment Package to stream from personal Netflix, Hulu and Pandora accounts, a renovated fitness center, self/valet parking and a concierge level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Nashville At Vanderbilt University Hotel Nashville
Marriott Vanderbilt University
Nashville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing