We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Love This Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University
Ranked #38 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love This Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have stayed at this location twice in the past year. The staff are wonderful and the rooms are very clean. Valet parking staff are very helpful when it comes to recommendation for attractions and food. I had breakfast downstairs and it was really good. I would recommend this hotel for anyone that may be traveling to Nashville.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VolsFan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
We greatly appreciate your kind remarks and look forward to serving you in the future! Thank you for choosing Marriott!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    195
    111
    44
    20
See reviews for
146
134
36
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt is the best full- service Marriott property in the greater Nashville area. I had the pleasure of staying in one of the wonderful king suites. The bathroom was very spacious. The king bed was also very comfortable. The living area was spacious and nicely appointed. The Concierge Lounge was great. I really enjoyed the hot appetizers in the evening as well as the hot breakfast items in the morning. The hotel is nicely appointed and elegant. Special thanks to Steve Sines, General Manager, and Adam Henderson, Front Desk Manager. Jim Steers, Revenue Manager, was also very kind and accommodating. Scott Ferguson, Front Desk Supervisor. was very kind to us during checkout. Gail Bryant in the Concierge Lounge was kind and helpful. Jevon, Brittany, and Taylor at the Front Desk was also very helpful. I had a wonderful stay at the Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt.

Room Tip: The Concierge Lounge is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SpaceTravel447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to recognize many of our hosts and leadership team members. We are thrilled to learn you enjoyed your stay and hope to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
108 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Me: Marriott Platinum Medallion of many years, average hotel stay one night, travel throughout the country.

This hotel, IMO: Above average Marriott. Clean, quiet, nice Concierge Lounge, very good staff.

Be Aware: There appears to only be valet parking, and it's expensive. For those not on an expense account, be prepared. It's not something I'd expect at a hotel in Nashville.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJKatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt. I trust this feedback will be helpful to others when choosing where to stay in Nashville. Our parking arrangements are a bit unique due to the fact we don't own the parking structure itself. We do offer both Valet and Self options with no additional charge for the Valet service itself. Again, thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A nice hotel with a great view of the Vanderbilt football stadium from many rooms. Parking is expensive and a bit of a walk with luggage. (Also got stuck while trying to leave the parking garage because the card reader wasn't reading our room key for in/out privileges.) Close to Rotier's and the Barnes & Noble that is the official Vanderbilt bookstore. Was chastised by a manager in the hotel restaurant because we had a doggie bag from an upscale restaurant and asked for a plastic fork. We may stay here in the future, but more because of the location than anything else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiltmoreGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt. We appreciate the opportunity to review our successes and opportunities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This Marriott is everything you would expect from the brand. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful with information about Nashville. Price was a little higher than I would have expected but it was a busy weekend with 4 different wedding parties and the University of Alabama baseball team staying there. Our room overlooked Vanderbilt's football stadium.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SqueeG_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
We appreciate your review and are glad to know you enjoyed your time in Nashville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here for business in Nashville in April 2013. The rooms are clean but nothing special - standard Marriott fare, certainly adequate. You can tell that this is an older hotel but that the rooms have been renovated.

The service was very good - friendly and prompt. I used the fitness center, and it's pretty decent as well. The location is very good, right on the Vanderbilt campus, close to a bunch of restaurants, and about 2 miles west of downtown. The hotel has a free shuttle service if you prefer to take that downtown. The shuttle driver was very friendly and helpful. I had drinks at the bar and restaurant but did not eat there. The bar service was also friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laker777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt. We trust your review will be helpful to others and thank you for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I have stayed at a lot of Marriotts and always had a good experience. Not with the Nashville Vanderbilt hotel. When I checked in, I parked a car after the person at the desk directed me to the parking garage and she told me to use the key to get out of the garage. What they fail to tell you is that the fee is $32 per day to park in the garage. There are multiple other garages very close to the hotel that I could have used if I had been told there was a giant fee to park there. I went back in to the front desk to ask them if a mistake had been made, the woman at the desk was as rude as she could be and said well thats our fee, Im sorry no one told you about it. Despite my asking to waive at least one days charges, no luck, just more rudeness.

Also, when I was asked about any discounts, I gave them my AAA account and it saved me $9 per night. Not a lot, but still ok. I called the morning after check in to see if there was complimentary breakfast and was told I don't get the breakfast with my AAA discount. When I went to have breakfast, it was $17. Its only $8 but I still would not have used the AAA if it cost me $8 to use it. I just feel like they try to take advantage of people without giving them all the facts at this hotel.

The room was nice and clean at least and p.f. changs is right outside the front door.

not that it affected me, but I was there on a tuesday and wednesday and the room rate was $219. On thursday the rate jumped to $479 because graduation was at the university. Felt sorry for the people using the hotel on those days.

Room Tip: some rooms overlook the football stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to ensure management is aware of your experience. We sincerely apologize for this and feel free to contact the hotel General Manager, Steve Sines, should you care to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.5 mi away
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
#9 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hutton Hotel
Hutton Hotel
#21 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,577 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Vanderbilt - Elliston Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University

Property: Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University
Address: 2555 W End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203-1423
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#24 Business Hotel in Nashville
#30 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#42 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Vanderbilt University campus, Marriott Nashville is one of the area's premier West End Nashville hotels. The hotel overlooks the historic Vanderbilt University stadium and Centennial Park and the famed Parthenon. In addition, this top-rated Nashville hotel offers a free downtown shuttle to check out all Music City has to offer. Park25 Bistro, featuring Chef Kimo Akana, serves an eclectic American menu that is comfy, local, and creative. Other amenities include Marriott's new Entertainment Package to stream from personal Netflix, Hulu and Pandora accounts, a renovated fitness center, self/valet parking and a concierge level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Nashville At Vanderbilt University Hotel Nashville
Marriott Vanderbilt University
Nashville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing