We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale pleasant hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University
Ranked #27 of 159 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The staff at the Marriott Nashville was exceptional! The breakfast buffet was very good and we recommend the briocce french toast off the menu. The bar was well attending during the week and the bar staff did it's best to keep up during March Madness. The rooms were well appointed and the nightly rate was reasonable. One of the best parts was the complementary shuttle service. We used it several times a day, and the valets were quick to attend to us and gave good advise on where/what to do.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the stadium if that interests you. Or we preferred the room that had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjwest066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

We are sincerely appreciative of your detailed feedback. Thank you for choosing Marriott!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (867)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 867 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

I am so happy that this hotel property has been updated. It is extremely convenient for Vanderbilt families (except for freshmen living in the Commons). Great location with some rooms (and pool/fitness center) facing the football stadium and others looking out at Centennial Park and the Parthenon. Lovely. The lobby, bar and restaurant renovations are noteworthy. Much more chic and appealing. The business center has also added computers and space for checking mail and printing boarding passes. Rooms are quiet, comfortable and very clean. Why there is no wifi, I don't know; but at least the ethernet connection is now set up! Easy to grab a snack in the hotel, or at nearby restaurants and coffee shops. The staff has always been pleasant (particularly the valets), but I found them even more accommodating the last two times I have stayed here. Very nice setting and people!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room to be away from the street, but the views on either side are really very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University! We value your comments and apologize for any miss information the led you to believe we did not have wireless internet access. We do offer the service in all areas of the hotel and look forward to serving you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here for several days. Loved the location right across from Centennial Park. One side of the hotel overlooks Vanderbilt's football stadium. Downtown is easy to get to from the hotel, and the hotel has a shuttle service that was great. They will take you anywhere within a 2 mile radius from the hotel. Even though we had a rental car, we used the shuttle several times to avoid parking downtown. If you bring a car, plan on paying $25 for self parking or $27 for valet. Seriously, pay the 2 extra dollars so you don't have to walk from the parking garage behind the hotel. The valet service was very prompt and had our car waiting when we called ahead from our room. Several restaurants within walking distance including PF Changs, and Rotiers.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank 07LizzyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your candor and look forward to serving you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a fantastic location. The staff are super friendly and even remembered us from a previous trip the month before! I thought that was pretty awesome when you think about the number of people that they encounter on a daily basis. The room was great, no complaints.

We haven't yet to be thrilled with the restaurant. The service is slow....maybe they were understaffed? If you enjoy breakfast in hotels then you will like it, I personally have not enjoyed it. I am not a hotel food kind of lady.

We have stayed at this location and the Renaissance location in Nashville, this is by far our favorite.

Room Tip: Walking distance to several restaurants. You will need to plan on driving or taking a cab if you in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

We appreciate the review of your experience. This information has been shared with the Food & Beverage team and look forward to wowing you on your next trip to Nashville. Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott Vanderbilt during a weekend trip to Nashville. The hotel was very easy to find for someone that had never been to Nashville and in a great location. I walked to Centennial Park, which was literally across the street, and I even walked all the way to Music Row which was about a mile down West End Ave. The hotel also shares a parking lot with a shopping center which has a Barnes & Noble, Starbucks, PF Chang's, and Flemings to name a few. The front desk staff was absolutely wonderful! When I checked in, they recognized I was a Marriott Rewards member and gave me a quick tour of the property since I had never been there before. The staff at the bar was great as well! I was a female traveling by myself, but the bartenders were always making sure I had everything I needed and very friendly. I felt very safe in the hotel and in the area around the hotel. I also took advantage of the shuttle to go downtown to the bars off Broadway one night. It was very convenient to use and when I called to be picked up, the shuttle was there in about 5 minutes. As for the hotel room, the view was amazing! I had a full view of the stadium and some of the Vanderbilt campus. The bed was very comfortable and there was a mini fridge, which was great. If I had to find anything to complain about, as a female I would like more counter space in the bathroom - but that would be my only complaint from the entire trip. I loved the Marriott Vanderbilt, its location and its staff - I can't wait to stay here the next time I am in Nashville. Many thanks to the staff for a great and memorable experience!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meagan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thank you for sharing such a detailed review of your experience. It truly adds value for future guests as well as to the team at the Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University. It is appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Spent one night while in town for Pink concert at Bridgestone Arena. Hotel was conveniently located a couple of miles to Bridgestone arena. The hotel offered free shuttle service to concert however they were extremely backed up and we ended up taking a cab 5 people for $10. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and the shower was hot with good water pressure. We had a great view of the Vanderbilt Football Stadium from our room. The lobby was beautifully decorated with a nice bar and coffee area. Valet parking $26 and self parking $24. PF Changs in same parking lot as hotel and Wendy's is across the street. The hotel is overpriced. Not sure why hotels in downtown Nashville are so extremely expensive. If the hotels had been more reasonably priced we would have stayed in Nashville longer and enjoyed the music city as it was we only stayed 1 night. That was disappointing!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Allstarbaseballmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt! We sincerely value your feedback and appreciate the opportunity to learn where we may improve. Please take a look at some of our parking or stay for breakfast packages if ever back in Nashville. This may add the value you are looking for to stay another night on your next trip to Nashville!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We live just outside of Nashville so we stay at this Marriott on an occasional late night in town. Typical Marriott - nothing really unique about it over any others. We stayed on the concierge level but that didn't get us anything because the club was closed for the weekend. Our room had an odor of cleaner or perfume that never went away. We got used to it but it made us feel like the room was unclean. The bar/restaurant was average. Location is really good. West End Ave. is a very nice area of Nashville. Several restaurants within walking distance to hotel. PF Changs, J. Alexanders, Flemings, etc. Overall a good experience each time we stay there.

Room Tip: You can either view Centennial Park with the Parthenon or Vanderbilt's football stadium, dependi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAC3840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for taking time to share your experience! The team at the Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University appreciates your candor and will leverage this feedback to improve future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.5 mi away
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
#12 of 159 in Nashville
1,767 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Nashville Vanderbilt
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Vanderbilt - Elliston Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Nashville at Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University

Address: 2555 W End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203-1423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#24 Business Hotel in Nashville
#30 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#42 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range: $163 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Vanderbilt University campus, Marriott Hotel Nashville/Vanderbilt University is one of the area's premier West End Nashville hotels. We are a top choice for those looking for a convenient hotel near Vanderbilt University and we offer a great location close to other preferred destinations in Nashville, Tennessee. Our hotel overlooks the historic Vanderbilt University stadium, Centennial Park, and the famed Parthenon. In addition, our top-rated Nashville hotel offers a free downtown shuttle to check out all Music City has to offer. Park25 Bistro, featuring Chef Kimo Akana, serves an eclectic American menu that is comfy, local, and creative. Other amenities at our hotel include Marriott's new Entertainment Package to stream from personal Netflix, Hulu, and Pandora accounts. Marriott Hotel Nashville/Vanderbilt University also provides a renovated fitness center, self/valet parking, and a concierge level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Nashville At Vanderbilt University Hotel Nashville
Marriott Vanderbilt University
Nashville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing