We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First rate hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University
Ranked #36 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“First rate hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

All of what is best about Marriott: consistent quality across the board. I arrrived late and hungry, and the restaurant was still open and fixed me a nice steak with a good glass of wine. The room was comfortable, the shower excellent. The only way to improve on this experience would have been a Nespresso coffee maker in the room with a nice selection of coffees. One can only dream!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkipperDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and choosing Marriott for your accommodations. Your feedback is important and I can't wait to share it with the team. Thank you

PS. we do have a nice Starbucks in the lobby. (only 12 feet from the elevators)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    217
    122
    45
    24
See reviews for
166
153
38
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

One of the BEST Marriott's I have stayed at. Clean and the staff is great. they remodeled the restaurant, and added a coffee/drink bar...all good. Restaurant food is exceptional...great meals with interesting variety of ingredients...all fun and tasty. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OCTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and giving us such great feedback. I will share this with the team. Our Chef, Dean Donnell has a passion for great food. I'm glad you were able to experience Park25.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Very helpful hotel staff, valet parking was convenient and quick, room was nice, clean, overlooked the Parthanon and had a very comfortable bed. Restaurant/bar staff also friendly, helpful and attentive and had Starbucks. Overall wonderful experience. I used to stay at Opryland, this is better.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerz_lcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and staying with us. We have the most convenient Starbucks, only 12 feet from the elevator and you could be enjoying your favorite beverage. thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very nice. Free shuttle and directly across from a park and Vanderbilt stadium. The resturant service is the slowest I have ever seen. They are friendly but when you wait 30 minutes for the check after you have asked for it is not acceptable. Great hotel- the dining service.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and giving us your feedback. Sorry the service in the restaurant was so slow, no excuse for waiting for your check.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Checked in late sunday night and it took less than a minute and I was on my way up to the room on the 8th floor. The room was really clean and a decent size. The price was a little steep but sometimes you have to pony it up. Bill was correct and check out was painless.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rynpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. Price will fluctuate depending on whats going on in the city. Best prices are during the Holidays. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

"It's a hotel room." My husband and I said. Then the surprise came when we opened the curtains to see a full on view of the Vanderbilt football stadium. Super cool. I was surprised when we pulled up that the valet service didn't budge. Being the only car under the port and they just watched me get the heavy bag out of the trunk. Ordered a venti latte at the Starbuck's within and got half foam and only a third of coffee. It's also hop, skip and a jump to anywhere in Nashville from here but plan for the traffic. They are eager to clean the rooms! Service staff came back twice within an hour early. But it was clean and the front desk staff were quick to service. I still say Marriott has the most comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the view of the stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traceme2kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and giving us your feedback. I'm glad you had a good stay and hope you join us again. I will mentioned your experience to the Valet Manager. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Spent 2 very comfortable nights here during an October weekend with our two young kids. It was a treat for our football-loving boys to have a room overlooking the Vanderbilt stadium on a game night! Room 901 has an incredible view of the entire field and we enjoyed watching the first half of the game from our room. I know some reviewers have mentioned being bothered by the band and other stadium noise, that wasn't the case for us. We found it exciting. It did not interfere with our sleep in any way.

We also really enjoyed the indoor pool on our first day. It had a nice view of the Parthenon. We took a bottle of wine with us while the kids swam. We were the only guests using the pool the entire time! We were disappointed that there wasn't a hot tub though.

Food was good though we only tried the breakfast buffet. It was priced as expected but we did appreciate the $6 kids' price. With picky eaters, an inexpensive meal is preferred.

Rooms were very comfortable: beds, pillows, and linens in particular. Could have had a better seating area. It was a bit tight in a room with two double beds. Room size was ok.

Tried to use the shuttle both nights but each time, it was going to be 15-30 minutes before it came back to hotel so we opted for a cab each time. Took cab to Broadway and 2nd Ave both nights for around $12 each way.

Our biggest kudos with the hotel goes to the very friendly and helpful staff. Valets were great as were front desk and restaurant staff. Felt very welcome and appreciated as a guest.

Would happily return on our next visit to Nashville!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jones4Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you had a great stay and were able to enjoy what makes our hotel special. Maybe you kids will go to Vanderbilt and you can visit us all the time.

Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)
0.5 mi away
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
#10 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Nashville at Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Vanderbilt - Elliston Place
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University

Property: Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University
Address: 2555 W End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203-1423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#24 Business Hotel in Nashville
#30 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#42 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Vanderbilt University campus, Marriott Hotel Nashville/Vanderbilt University is one of the area's premier West End Nashville hotels. We are a top choice for those looking for a convenient hotel near Vanderbilt University and we offer a great location close to other preferred destinations in Nashville, Tennessee. Our hotel overlooks the historic Vanderbilt University stadium, Centennial Park, and the famed Parthenon. In addition, our top-rated Nashville hotel offers a free downtown shuttle to check out all Music City has to offer. Park25 Bistro, featuring Chef Kimo Akana, serves an eclectic American menu that is comfy, local, and creative. Other amenities at our hotel include Marriott's new Entertainment Package to stream from personal Netflix, Hulu, and Pandora accounts. Marriott Hotel Nashville/Vanderbilt University also provides a renovated fitness center, self/valet parking, and a concierge level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Nashville At Vanderbilt University Hotel Nashville
Marriott Vanderbilt University
Nashville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing