We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but eat some place else.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University
Ranked #45 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel but eat some place else.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very nice. Free shuttle and directly across from a park and Vanderbilt stadium. The resturant service is the slowest I have ever seen. They are friendly but when you wait 30 minutes for the check after you have asked for it is not acceptable. Great hotel- the dining service.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and giving us your feedback. Sorry the service in the restaurant was so slow, no excuse for waiting for your check.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    212
    120
    45
    24
See reviews for
164
147
38
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Checked in late sunday night and it took less than a minute and I was on my way up to the room on the 8th floor. The room was really clean and a decent size. The price was a little steep but sometimes you have to pony it up. Bill was correct and check out was painless.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rynpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. Price will fluctuate depending on whats going on in the city. Best prices are during the Holidays. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

"It's a hotel room." My husband and I said. Then the surprise came when we opened the curtains to see a full on view of the Vanderbilt football stadium. Super cool. I was surprised when we pulled up that the valet service didn't budge. Being the only car under the port and they just watched me get the heavy bag out of the trunk. Ordered a venti latte at the Starbuck's within and got half foam and only a third of coffee. It's also hop, skip and a jump to anywhere in Nashville from here but plan for the traffic. They are eager to clean the rooms! Service staff came back twice within an hour early. But it was clean and the front desk staff were quick to service. I still say Marriott has the most comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the view of the stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traceme2kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and giving us your feedback. I'm glad you had a good stay and hope you join us again. I will mentioned your experience to the Valet Manager. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Spent 2 very comfortable nights here during an October weekend with our two young kids. It was a treat for our football-loving boys to have a room overlooking the Vanderbilt stadium on a game night! Room 901 has an incredible view of the entire field and we enjoyed watching the first half of the game from our room. I know some reviewers have mentioned being bothered by the band and other stadium noise, that wasn't the case for us. We found it exciting. It did not interfere with our sleep in any way.

We also really enjoyed the indoor pool on our first day. It had a nice view of the Parthenon. We took a bottle of wine with us while the kids swam. We were the only guests using the pool the entire time! We were disappointed that there wasn't a hot tub though.

Food was good though we only tried the breakfast buffet. It was priced as expected but we did appreciate the $6 kids' price. With picky eaters, an inexpensive meal is preferred.

Rooms were very comfortable: beds, pillows, and linens in particular. Could have had a better seating area. It was a bit tight in a room with two double beds. Room size was ok.

Tried to use the shuttle both nights but each time, it was going to be 15-30 minutes before it came back to hotel so we opted for a cab each time. Took cab to Broadway and 2nd Ave both nights for around $12 each way.

Our biggest kudos with the hotel goes to the very friendly and helpful staff. Valets were great as were front desk and restaurant staff. Felt very welcome and appreciated as a guest.

Would happily return on our next visit to Nashville!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jones4Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you had a great stay and were able to enjoy what makes our hotel special. Maybe you kids will go to Vanderbilt and you can visit us all the time.

Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a room on the 5th floor overlooking the Vanderbilt University stadium. We stayed Thursday night before a Saturday afternoon football game. Thursday afternoon the band/ and drum section practiced. and practiced. and practiced. I was just trying to read and got a headache. The next morning (Friday) we were awaken at 8 AM sharp by loud metal dropping noises. We don't know what they were dropping but it was loud and went on for about 15 minutes. Since my husband was there for a business party that was held in the hotel we were going to stay another night but the hotel would not take our reservation since the rooms were not available because of the game. So we transferred to the Gaylord Opryland Hotel north of town. Much better.

Room Tip: Stay away from the stadium side unless you don't mind noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1WagMore-BarkLess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, some guest love the stadium view and all the action and others prefer the Parthenon Park view. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville, sc
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great location next to Vanderbilt Univ, and some rooms have a great view of the football field. The room was clean. Staff was great. Unfortunately I was here for a business meeting, so found it odd that there wasn't free internet access. Also, no refrig in the room, no free breakfast, TV had limited channels. Ok, so maybe this isn't home, but unfortunately I've been spoiled by some other chains and now expect these amenities.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank toney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. Marriott has many different brands with many different amenities. We have free internet in the lobby and Restaurant Bar area. It is a great stadium view, you can watch the Vanderbilt football game from your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a typical Marriott full service hotel. The staff is very upbeat and very helpful. Everyone goes out of their way to find an answer, fix a problem, etc. The proximity to Vanderbilt Stadium is a plus for some and a minus for others: game day and band practice. The biggest minus is the price. Most urban Marriotts are expensive but I think this one is overpriced for what you get. The Holiday Inn next door is nice and much less expensive for about the same room and amenities.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BalmyLatitudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. Yes, our price can fluctuate depending on the weekend or week. A great time to visit is over most Holidays when the hotel is slower. I'm glad you were able to experience the hotel and service on a game day environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.5 mi away
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
#9 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Nashville at Vanderbilt
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
1.6 mi away
Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.9 mi away
Hutton Hotel
Hutton Hotel
#19 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University

Property: Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University
Address: 2555 W End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203-1423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#24 Business Hotel in Nashville
#30 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#42 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Vanderbilt University campus, Marriott Nashville is one of the area's premier West End Nashville hotels. The hotel overlooks the historic Vanderbilt University stadium and Centennial Park and the famed Parthenon. In addition, this top-rated Nashville hotel offers a free downtown shuttle to check out all Music City has to offer. Park25 Bistro, featuring Chef Kimo Akana, serves an eclectic American menu that is comfy, local, and creative. Other amenities include Marriott's new Entertainment Package to stream from personal Netflix, Hulu and Pandora accounts, a renovated fitness center, self/valet parking and a concierge level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Nashville At Vanderbilt University Hotel Nashville
Marriott Vanderbilt University
Nashville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing