We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience in every respect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University
Ranked #36 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience in every respect!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have just returned from a brief trip to Nashville. We loved touring the city and the surrounding area. We enthusiastically recommend this hotel because the staff were so helpful and enthusiastic. Rodney and Christie made our meals in the lovely, newly renovated dining room a real treat. Daniel, the shuttle driver was very enthusiastic and offered great recommendations. We also were able to walk to some great restaurants nearby....don't miss The Tin Angel which is a short walk up the street. The hotel's location on the Vanderbilt campus allowed us to enjoy strolling the grounds too. We most definitely would recommend staying here on any Nashville visit rather than downtown. You are close to everything but able to relax in some peace and quiet with better dining options. Thanks to this Marriott experience we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwilson494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and giving us your feedback. We do have a great location on the Vanderbilt campus. Thanks for choosing Marriott..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    239
    125
    49
    29
See reviews for
184
165
40
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Ok I usually have great service at Marriot but this hotel, NO
After two previous nightmares here I decided to give one more try. Big mistake!!
After messing up our reservations and leaving us one bed short- I asked the desk clerk if he could call the Marriot Courtyard down the street to see if they had 2 rooms. He tells me he can give me the phone number -Excuse Me?
Mind u there were 2 other employees there & I was the only one at the desk. I thanked him for his great customer service and called myself.
After obtaining 2 rooms I asked to speak to mgr. He came out and was very nice comped 2 of our cars for Valet parking and we got the other bed.
Upon leaving the motel we packed our bags and Valet brought us the car -which has digital key. After traveling a few miles we stopped and could not start again because they kept our key. Had to get a ride back to the motel to get the key. All I got was 'sorry'. Not a do you need a ride back or anything.
Then,after a day i checked my bank account I was charged for the valet and two more charges of 11.81 which I have no idea what it is for. I called the motel and still waiting for explanation. Hopefully soon. But NEVER again at this motel. Not worth the headache.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Sorry about your stay at the Marriott. Please contact the hotel directly so we can get some more information so we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent a long weekend here, and really enjoyed the area. We utilized the free shuttle that dropped us off on Broadway and picked us up. The room was clean, the hotel was quiet, and we had a great view of the park. The front desk staff were very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. We hung out at the hotel bar and took advantage of the happy hour but did not eat at the restaurant. The bell captains were friendly and attentive. The location was very close to Vanderbilt University and various shops including Barnes and Noble.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shinergirl911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We got booked in this hotel by virtue of Priceline pulling one of its tricks. We were initially annoyed because we felt it would be too far from downtown. NOT THE CASE. This hotel is located in a great area- about 2 miles from the heart of Broadway. There is shopping and restaurants around this hotel, plus the park and Parthenon across the street- think free music and food trucks on Saturdays. The hotel staff was amazing! Friendly and helpful the entire time despite the fact that we were booked by Priceline. Even the housekeeping staff did an amazing job of cleaning our room. There is a shuttle to take you back and forth to Broadway (that area). It was very quick and convenient. The driver, Matt, managed to find us on a side street even though we gave him terrible directions and held my sleeping child while I got the stroller loaded. He was so sweet and helpful! This is a GREAT property!! I do not think you will disappointed in the least.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
thank you for staying with us and giving us such great feedback. I will pass this to the staff during the Daily Pre Shift Meeting. We are very lucky to have such a great hotel and location with such a caring and engaging staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a really nice Marriott( upschale) near Vanderbuilt Unv. Nice area a little way from downtown Nashville...Near good Resterants and attachtions....try it you won't be dispointed...The coffee shop an bar are nice to meet clients and do business..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaRay52SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad you enjoyed the new lobby area. (restaurant and bar) It is a great place to work, celebrate or just people watch.
Looking forward to seeing you next time you are in Nashville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My mother and I stayed at this Marriott when I moved into Vanderbilt University. It's very convenient and it's right next to the football stadium! I would definitely recommend this hotel. Staff is friendly and accomidating! And if you can't find the hairdryer, it's in a little black bag in the closet!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank maw2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and traveler tip. Have a great fall and please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
685 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This weekend the experience at the Vanderbilt Marriott did not make my business relationship with Marriott as a Platinum Elite member of their frequent guest program either feel appreciated or well served. The problems began at check in where I was informed that with the coinceirge lounge closed on weekends breakfast was available at a "discounted" not free basis for Platinum members. Our room was at the end of a corrider across from a cold air return and the hallway frigid. Several times when we called for our valet parked car no one went to get it in advance and we lost valuable time waiting while the valet showed no sense of urgency. Use of the workout room revealed several of the exercise balls and weights missing. We did try the breakfast buffet and it was a disaster from waiting fifteen minutes after seating to be greeted and brought beverages, to an omlet station out of eggs, to the buffet out of various items from 20-30 minutes each including fresh fruit never replenished. I have stayed here before with better results and it appears no one is seriously in charge and making the staff friendly and valuing the high spending Marriott Rewards members. I stay often at the Spring Hill Suites Airport in Nashville and it is a superior experience from a staff interaction standpoint.

Room Tip: close to elevators away from air returns
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Sorry to hear about your disappointing stay. Thank you for being a Platinum Elite Member and giving us feedback on your stay. We will work to get better and hope you give us another try. I do know that was a crazy weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.5 mi away
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
#10 of 155 in Nashville
1,664 reviews
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Nashville at Vanderbilt
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hutton Hotel
Hutton Hotel
#15 of 155 in Nashville
1,921 reviews
1.6 mi away
Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University

Property: Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University
Address: 2555 W End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203-1423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#24 Business Hotel in Nashville
#30 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#42 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Vanderbilt University campus, Marriott Hotel Nashville/Vanderbilt University is one of the area's premier West End Nashville hotels. We are a top choice for those looking for a convenient hotel near Vanderbilt University and we offer a great location close to other preferred destinations in Nashville, Tennessee. Our hotel overlooks the historic Vanderbilt University stadium, Centennial Park, and the famed Parthenon. In addition, our top-rated Nashville hotel offers a free downtown shuttle to check out all Music City has to offer. Park25 Bistro, featuring Chef Kimo Akana, serves an eclectic American menu that is comfy, local, and creative. Other amenities at our hotel include Marriott's new Entertainment Package to stream from personal Netflix, Hulu, and Pandora accounts. Marriott Hotel Nashville/Vanderbilt University also provides a renovated fitness center, self/valet parking, and a concierge level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Nashville At Vanderbilt University Hotel Nashville
Marriott Vanderbilt University
Nashville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing