We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University
Ranked #39 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I've stayed at this Marriott for two nights. We went to Nashville for Sightseeing. I was a little bit disappointed by the check in. I would have excepted a little information about the hotel and it's services but the lady at the desk just gave us our keys and sent us to the elevators.
The Shuttle that is operated by the hotel brings you downtown for no cost and the drivers are really friendly. You can also call them and they pick you up again. This is really helpful and you don't have to get your car out.
Valet Parking is a little bit pricy ($26), but the Valet Staff is doing an excellent job. Daniel from Valet was going above and beyond and was always friendly and courtous. He was offering an exceptional service!
Also Nick from the Bar/Restaurant was really friendly and offering a great service. We had good food and a nice glass of wine at the bar.
The hotel is currently under construction, which didn't bother us at all. We still had a great stay, great and really clean rooms, and nothing to complain about.
I would really recommend the Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University and if I should ever come back to Nashville I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view towards the Pantheon are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bufalo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for your response. Please come back after the transformation of the lobby is complete. (May 4) Thank you for being a great guest and staying with us.

Steve Sines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    224
    123
    47
    26
See reviews for
170
155
39
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Marriott Vanderbilt caters nicely to business folks. Helpful, friendly staff, decent gym, pool, concierge level service. No complaints. There's some construction in the lobby now, but I am guessing short term. You can face Vanderbilt's stadium or the parthenon in the park. I prefer the later. Nothing special, but perfectly fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2TravelNJ15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are completely done with all renovations and now we have a spectacular Bar and Restaurant. (with a Starbucks) We even had a music video filmed in it the first week. Hope you visit Nashville again and stay with us. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
265 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I have stayed at this property for years and everyday there I do not know what level of service to expect. Some things are fixed immediately and other not. For example, when I checked out last month I made the staff aware of a plumbing issue in my room. When reassigned the same room this month, the problem has not been fixed. Sometimes it feels like the front desk staff just says "yes" to get you to go away. The drivers for the shuttle are also variable. They drive within the 2 miles to common sites. I asked to be picked up from a certain address 1 mile away and was ignored for over 1 hour. When I called back, the driver stated he did not know where the address was and was not coming. The lobby renovation does not bother me as much as it seems to others since all things need updating from time to time. They make it clear on their website. This is mostly a business hotel during the week and family/party on the weekends. The website also states 2 doubles or 1 king per room. There should be no surprise that there are not 2 queens. Parking is valet at the front of the hotel or you must drive around to the garage behind the hotel for self-parking. I have heard that they are going to all-valet soon though. If you need to be near Vandy, this is a good place to base out of.

Room Tip: The rooms near the gym/pool on the 3rd floor have the potential to hear the noise from those ameniti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondechickma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
I'm sorry to hear about the level of service. It should not vary. Yes, we are going to Valet only. Like most downtown hotels we don't own a parking garage and to provide better service we recommend Valet at the front door. Please contact us directly to give us details on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were extremely pleased with our stay at Marriott at Vanderbilt.
The entire staff is extremely helpful, especially the front desk.
Our room ovelooked Centennial Park and the Parthenon.
The shuttle is a great service for getting around short distances.
We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you can get a room that faces The Parthenon, then you are in for a real treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanc319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess J, Director of Sales at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

The hotel is outside the center of Nashville but hotel provides Shuttle. It is across from a great park. The staff were really nice but hotel was undergoing renovations so bar and restaurant were old function rooms and looked like not decorated since 80's.

I would check if renovations finished before staying there. Also if you are there for a short burst on downtown Nashville it is not for you. Too far outside the bars, country music stuff.

Room Tip: Get one with view of park or football field
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for choosing Marriott and staying with us. Yes, we have finished the Renovation in the lobby. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Nashville is one of my favorite places to visit but I will never stay here again. There was a total of six of us staying so we decided to book two rooms. If anyone plans on staying here make sure you know they charge you for the room before you even see it. Every other hotel charges you when you check out but not here and when you bring it up they tell you, you should know because all hotels do this when they clearly don't. I made a point to say we normally stay at The Hutton and they never do this. They even charge you damage fees and after you check out they will reimburse you but it takes a few days. We went from Wednesday, April 11, 2012- Sunday, April 15, 2011, it would of been nice to know about being charged before you check in when we booked the rooms because no one had money in their bank accounts until they got paid on that friday yet the guy who checked us in ran the debit/credit card before telling us any of this leaving the card holder with negative money in their account. We would of liked to change it to a credit card if he told us before he ran it and that was only for one room. We argued with him for doing that and yet they would not help in anyway. All he would say was "Well at least you know you have one room". A simple apology would of made the worlds difference or even offering something would of changed this post completely around. When we booked the hotel it was over the phone and the lady we talked to never said anything. From a PR standpoint they need to better communicate how they conduct business. They do not even explain that the price on your confirmation is different than what you check in because of damage fees. They just wait for you to ask why the price is different. I know this whole thing is a common problem they have because multiple times while walking through the lobby I heard people complaining about being charged before hand.

Next, their parking is screwed up. The parking garage connected to the hotel is not even for the hotel but when getting there you have to drive through that garage and then leave it in order to get to the next parking garage which is theirs. They tell you parking gets added on to your hotel bill but the machine to swipe your card doesn't work so you have to pay the attendant every time you leave the garage and then at the end of the stay the hotel tries to charge you for using the garage even though you already pay every time you leave. The attendants at the garage even said they have no idea what is going on with the parking and everything is messed up.

Then there are the rooms, the rooms are nice except they are not consistent. One of our rooms had a fridge and one did not. The toilets will barely flush, you have to hold it down forever and the paint is chipping all over the ceiling in the bathroom.

I will never ever stay here again and will never recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamiJ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Sorry to hear about your stay with us. We apologize for not handling it correctly. Credit and Debit cards are processed differently. Please contact us directly so we can make sure you were charged correctly.

Steve Sines, 615 340 5120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a couple of days around the New Year holiday. The staff was incredibly hospitable throughout the length of our stay, the rooms were extremely clean, and noise was never an issue. We also took advantage of the free shuttle. We were very happy with our visit and would recommend it to anyone looking for a hotel in the West End/Vandy area of Nashville.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J- K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and giving us your feedback. Please visit us again and check out our new lobby and restaurant. I will pass this on to our Van Drivers, they love hearing how much they can affect a guest stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)
0.5 mi away
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
#10 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Nashville at Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Vanderbilt - Elliston Place
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University

Property: Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University
Address: 2555 W End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203-1423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#24 Business Hotel in Nashville
#30 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#42 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Vanderbilt University campus, Marriott Hotel Nashville/Vanderbilt University is one of the area's premier West End Nashville hotels. We are a top choice for those looking for a convenient hotel near Vanderbilt University and we offer a great location close to other preferred destinations in Nashville, Tennessee. Our hotel overlooks the historic Vanderbilt University stadium, Centennial Park, and the famed Parthenon. In addition, our top-rated Nashville hotel offers a free downtown shuttle to check out all Music City has to offer. Park25 Bistro, featuring Chef Kimo Akana, serves an eclectic American menu that is comfy, local, and creative. Other amenities at our hotel include Marriott's new Entertainment Package to stream from personal Netflix, Hulu, and Pandora accounts. Marriott Hotel Nashville/Vanderbilt University also provides a renovated fitness center, self/valet parking, and a concierge level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Nashville At Vanderbilt University Hotel Nashville
Marriott Vanderbilt University
Nashville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing