We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for special event or hi value customers”
Review of Kayne Prime

Kayne Prime
Reserve with OpenTable
Kayne Prime is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 2,053 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $49 - $51
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Nashville
Cross street: 11th Ave S & McGavock St
Description: Kayne Prime is the artful fusion of a chef-chic boutique restaurant, with the great American steakhouse. Progressive in every sense – cuisine, wine & mixology, stylish design – Kayne Prime is the modern evolution of the classic upscale steakhouse. Market-driven, farm-to-table creations.. sophisticated cocktails.. an exceptional wine list.. award-winning steaks - all set in a “rustic–modern”, “Best Design” interior that features a sleek study of woods, rich leathers, and walls of reclaimed railroad ties, with breathtaking views that highlight the historic train yards, Union Station, and the downtown Nashville skyline. Every great city has its own best. Nashville’s best is Kayne Prime.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
1,824 reviews
1,258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 647 helpful votes
“Great for special event or hi value customers”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Went a couple of weeks back with one our customers who loves all the local steak joints..have brought them to Capital Grill, Ruth Chris, Morton's, The Palm, etc... But their favorite is Kayne Prime. Great wine , excellent service and just good fine dining .. You need to try the homemade bacon..insanely good and also liked the sides..particularly the charred broccoli. The steaks are "prime" cuts which are local..(well Birmingham,AL) local... Expensive meal but worth it for special guests or family.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    113
    53
    29
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best food - absolute winner”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

steak was so tender- like eating a cake :)
The veg sides were phenomenal! nicest food I've ever eaten I think.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JZ123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, but way overpriced considering lacking service”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

If you charge me $14 for 5 pieces of romaine and some dressing, there should be an offsetting quality. First, the doors were still locked at 5:30, even though the website indicates that the dining room is open at 5:00. Goodbye cocktail sales from us. The valet had to go in the back door and get someone to unlock the doors because arriving guests were stacking up. Once inside, they couldn't immediately seat us in their empty restaurant because they were having a "meeting" in the room they wanted to put us in -- yes, the hostess TOLD us this.Hello... it's an empty restaurant. Why do we have to be seated in this room where you are having a meeting? Can't we just sit in the other two areas that are empty? There are four couples waiting, not the Green Bay Packers. Shortly after she answered the phone and told another person she could not accommodate his request to change his dinner time because they were "full." In the two hours we were there, it was never full and there was no one waiting to get in when we left. Likewise we had attempted to get later reservations, only to be told it was booked. Yeah, sure. Nothing says come back and drop a couple hundred dollars like personnel who treat you like you are interrupting their day. There is no ambiance whatsoever. No flowers, no candles, no table cloth. It wasn't noisy at least, but then it wasn't crowded no matter how hard they were trying to pretend that it was. Service was less than impressive. Our waiter was a wise guy, I assume trying to be funny, but I prefer wait staff to be service oriented. Worse, at the end of the meal, he took away the side dish and bread plates that still had food in them without asking if we were finished or offering to box it up for us (I mean seriously, we paid a fortune for this food, I'd have liked the courtesy of at least asking if I wanted to eat the rest of it.) This expensive steak comes on a plain white plate by itself. No presentation whatsoever. Couldn't they spring for a squirt of reduction or a sprinkling of chopped greens? They charge extra, as in WAY EXTRA for a sauce, you can get a small sample of each of them for eight dollars. They were at least very tasty. The filet was high quality, tender, cooked close to the way it was ordered, but not quite there, It's not the best stake I've ever had, but places in the top five. The sides were tasty and the portion reasonable for two people to share. The bread was popovers, they were amazing. If great service isn't a sticking point and you are looking for ways to get rid of your money, you won't be at all disappointed. The food is very good. If you want a great dinner, great service at a great price, look elsewhere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 22Catbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“A caveman's delight of heart clogging over priced food”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

A good steak house as long as you eat just the steak. It was prime quality and very expensive. I figured our bill was $100 more than what we would have spent at Ruth Chris. But here is the real problem with Kaynes. There is very little of healthy items on the menu. The rule of thumb when looking at the menu is everything other than the steak is covered in butter, cheese, cream or all three at the same time. Each side dish was frankly gross. The cream brulee of corn was sweet and gross. The potatoes and mac&cheese were just loaded with so much cheese and butter you could not taste the starch. In other words it appeals to the locals who are use to fried chicken and mashed potatoes covered in gravy. Yeeha. Even the salad was drenched in some sweet dressing. We shared the famed pork belly with cotton candy on top. No big deal and $. But when you are surrounded by 1&2 star restaurants in Nashville this is one of the few choices where you do not find yourself either at a take out counter or in a drive through for dinner. 3 people only one drinking and no dessert...$300.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SFjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crane Hill, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good But Not Top Tier”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We went for an early dinner after some research indicated that this is a Top Restaurant in Nasville. We were somewhat disappointed in the meal for the price they charge. One of us had the fish offering of the day and it was not very flavorful. The other had a NY Strip steak and it was a bit tough and didn't have great flavor. The service was attentive but we were there when they first opened so would expect the service to be good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnkautzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayne Prime also viewed

 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Kayne Prime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing