We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here unless you really have kids who want the pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Inn at Opryland, A Gaylord Hotel
Ranked #72 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Myrtle Beach, SC
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Don't stay here unless you really have kids who want the pool”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

As long time Marriott Elite members we discounted many of the negative comments in lieu of our positive Marriott experiences over the decades. Don't do what we did. The hotel is in a great location, the staff is friendly, the room was clean, the atrium stairs were wide, the shuttle was great but that's where it ends. The atrium room we had on the third floor was dank. The temperature inside could not be modified. When I tried to use the air conditioning it just added more smelly humidity to the room. The bathroom was so small that my spouse ended up using the public restroom for all but a shower. The closet rod was so far forward in the closet that we had to fold our clothes in to close the door. We were told that the on-site restaurant would be open Christmas Day when we made our reservations - it was not. There were no carts to be found on check-in. The room smelled of chlorine and was particularly bad every time we opened the door. There are no outside windows so it was like being in a cave. The elevators seemed to be turned off at night and magically worked after we complained. The noise from the pool was pervasive. The kids there seemed to be having a great time and kept screaming in delight from 7:30 AM until 10:30 PM. The Atrium restaurant is a joke. We were told by reservation staff that it was a real restaurant: it's vending machine quality and eating with the heavy chlorine smell was not an option. Marriott should be ashamed and the fire department should be alerted to the evacuation of handicapped issues presented by the elevator issues.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there are good rooms. The best chance would be side parking lot facing the Cracker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aputerlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    343
    282
    176
    109
See reviews for
274
340
32
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Wanting to avoid the hubbub of Opryland (and the expense), we decided to stay across the street. This hotel is not 'bad' but it certainly does not maintain standards associated with Gaylord or Marriott chains.
1) If you don't want to hear kids before 8a and after 10p yelling while playing in the indoor pool, don't stay in the paper-thin walled atrium rooms.
2) If you need to check in after 9p or checkout before 9a, make sure you're not on a floor needing an elevator to transport heavy items. The staff shuts off the elevators.
3) Don't trust the staff to give you accurate information -- stories changed multiple times, sometimes the answers to questions were outright lies.
4) Some rooms stink of chlorine and are humid.
5) The breakfast was gas station fare. Thank goodness a Cracker Barrel is across the street!!!

This is an average to lower-than-average hotel. Buyer beware

Room Tip: If you need quiet, tell them nothing on the atrium. Even at the end opposite the pool, the noise is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRWMETMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The lobby is very nice staff is excellent. Our room was an outside room, didn't have a noise problem, but it smelled like a bad body odor or like somewhere a bunch of cats had been and peed. I ask a couple people staying there if their room smelled and they said no. We didn't contact to be moved to a different room because so much was going on that weekend, tornados while viewing Christmas lights and 85 outside! The beds are also really small and just don't seem to be Marriott quality the bed had 3 different kind of pillows on it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meganbrooke88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Our stay was over Friday and Saturday on a busy weekend. Our check-in easy and we were able to have 2 two-bedrooms together in the atrium. Our rooms on the second floor were comfortable and clean but the bathroom was small. Breakfast is not included in the room rate but there is a café in the pool area where you can purchase pastries, juice and coffee. The Opryland Hotel free shuttle picks up here and will take you to the hotel and to Opry Mills. Use it because traffic is bad and you won't have the stress of driving.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room in the atrium area. The outside rooms will have traffic noise. There are th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We just stayed friday and sat night (12/13/2013 and 12/14/2013) with other family members. We had a total of 4 rooms. I am a Marriott rewards member and I am surprised this hotel is under the Marriott name. There were several things about this hotel that would prevent me from staying here ever again. Our room was an interior room and 2 double beds. Our room had a musty smell that never changed even trying to adjust the AC unit. The beds were sleep number beds and are absolutely TERRIBLE. My daughters sleep number bed didn't even allow her to "adjust"
her bed level of firmness. Our bed would allow you to adjust the firmness at times and other times it wouldn't work at all. The beds were VERY uncomfortable. Every time my wife would move it would bounce on my side or visa versa. The worst 2 nights of sleep I have had in a hotel. The interior rooms are also exposed to a large interior area where the pool area is and everything echoes and you hear all the pool noise and people talking. We had kids that woke us up at 8am this morning swimming it the pool. The sign says the pool hours start at 7:30, which is way too EARLY with how loud sound transfers into the rooms. Parking is also limited and makes it hard to find a parking place. The staff was nice, check in was easy, and shuttle was nice. The shuttles were sometimes delayed but expected at this time of your because the christmas crowd. Overall I would check other hotel options in the area because there are many if you do not want to pay the Opryland Hotel prices. If we go back we will probably to at the Hampton Inn that is there. Also, there in not a complimentary breakfast at this hotel.

Room Tip: If there is a choice of a room without a sleep number bed be sure and pick it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbrewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The property has a atrium like a cruise ship. The pool and whirlpool are inside along with a top choice workout room. Debbie gave us a wonderful greeting while Angel answered our questions later in the visit. Eric showed us how to get on their internet with a hands on style! Juan kept up with our trash and extra blanket requests with a smile and great personality.
We had our family reunion on property and I noticed how green the property was. They had low power led christmas lights on the tree, a recycle bin in the atrium, fluorescent lights throughout, and double pane thermal windows.
Our Thanksgiving dinner was fantastic and Victoria, Hany, and Atef were as Tina Turner once said simply the best!.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester NH
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently for a few days and found it to be ok. We used some of our Marriot points to get a free room and felt sort of robbed that they would consider this a category 4 property at 25,000 points per night. The staff was polite ,check in was painless and the place is reasonably clean and bug free that would be the positives. On the negative side the hotel shuttle into town is $20 per person , the hotel reeks of chlorine due to the pool being in the common area of the hotel ,the climate control in the room is ancient and the room just felt kind of dingy and poorly maintained ( broken outlets and towel hooks broken off the bathroom wall). All that being said if you get a great deal like less than $89 a night this hotel will be a fine place to choose , but it is not up to Marriott standards in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danb03102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Nashville - Opryland
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Nashville
0.4 mi away
Best Western Suites Near Opryland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Nashville at Opryland
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville @ Opryland
0.1 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Nashville/Music Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Opryland, A Gaylord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Opryland, A Gaylord Hotel

Property: The Inn at Opryland, A Gaylord Hotel
Address: 2401 Music Valley Drive, Nashville, TN 37214 (Formerly Radisson Hotel at Opryland)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Opryland, A Gaylord Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Opryland, A Gaylord Hotel offers an ideal location on Music Valley Drive, next to Gaylord Opryland Resort and the Grand Ole Opry. This allows guests easy access to Nashville's world-famous attractions, including Nashville's premier shopping and entertainment complexes, Opry Mills Mall. Our Nashville hotel welcomes travelers with warm hospitality and modern amenities in a vibrant, music-inspired atmosphere, making our hotel perfect for vacations, events and meetings alike. On-site conveniences include restaurants serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner; our large indoor pool; a newly renovated fitness center; plus 15,000 square feet of stylish meeting and event space. Come experience all Nashville has to offer from one of its most hospitable locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Inn at Opryland, A Gaylord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Nashville
Radisson At Opryland
Radisson Nashville
Nashville Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing