We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Location, Fun Vibe, Good Food”
Review of Back Alley Diner

Back Alley Diner
Reserve with OpenTable
Back Alley Diner is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #176 of 2,053 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Soups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Funky Location, Fun Vibe, Good Food”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Back Alley Diner is literally down an alley off of Church Street in downtown Nashville . The name of the alley is Arcade Alley. No street signs that I could see, so just look down the alley between 4th and 5th avenues. The place is small and has a real casual environment. They do have nightly entertainment, so go to their website and check the schedule. For a very reasonable price, you get a good meal with reasonable portions. I chose the Blues Burger with fries. The burger was decent and the fries had great flavor. The menu is real simple with focus on appetizers and sandwiches/burgers. If you are looking for simple food and a fun atmosphere in a diner down an alley in downtown Nashville, Back Alley Diner is it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kbs01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    83
    34
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nyack, New York
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not a Diner.”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Recommended by our hotel when we asked for somewhere "local" to eat dinner. Live music! Good pub style food. We had burgers. They were very good and very affordable. The decor is intimate with brick walls and low lighting. Very comfortable atmosphere good find when you want to step away from the crowds.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gracielulu10960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“BEST APPETIZER ON THE PLANET!!!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

A local favorite off the beaten path. My sweetheart and I seek out places like B.A.D. when we travel. The burgers were unreal and the bacon wrapped jalapeno poppers were enough to come back for tomorrow.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allyfaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, AL
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Very friendly staff. Our waitress seemed a bit flighty, but other servers covered the tables as well, so we were able to get refills and such in a reasonably short time. Our food took longer than expected to arrive, but it was tasty when it got there. The homemade chips were fantastic!! All in all it was good, but nothing to write home about.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to get away from the crowd”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This is out of the main path but that may be it's strongest selling point. Nestled amongst several of the downtown hotels it's a refreshingly simple, comfortable, inviting place for a "dive" bar dinner. The food was good, maybe not great, but very reasonable. Much better than any of the joints on Broadway we found.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trraindog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Alley Diner also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Back Alley Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing