We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What's not to love about Back Alley Diner!?! Where B.A.D is GOOD!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Back Alley Diner

Back Alley Diner
Ranked #169 of 2,027 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What's not to love about Back Alley Diner!?! Where B.A.D is GOOD!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

This quaint little spot is a hidden treasure. Don't let the alley fool you...walk through the doors and you'll be charmed by the 'Cheers' atmosphere where everybody wants to know your name! You'll come in hungry and leave satisfied with the home cookin' goodness. Some of our favorites - any soup of the day will not disappoint - loaded baked potato is my favorite. Smoked Chicken Quesadilla's are to die for (request a lil' bacon for a little party in your mouth!) Say hello to the Olin boys - David and Jacobie ~ they'll treat you right. Great atmosphere - once you settle in you won't want to leave! Bon Appetit!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    76
    32
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, MD
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Couldn't Have Been Better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

Not a diner. Great hidden restaurant and bar. This was our best meal in Nashville during the CMA week. We stopped for an early dinner. Soups were excellent as were salads and sandwiches. Service top notch. Found that most of their business is lunch trade and the suits off work and drink berfore going home. Later the bar business picks up. Our dinner at 5 PM was terrific. This is off the Arcade, think between 4th and 5th, and in an alley. Read reviews and put it on our list. Found it while shopping. Hard to find for tourists but a definite stop if you want a great inexpensive meal downtown. Casual dress. Walking distance to Bridgestone Areana.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeBelAir_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Stopped at B.A.D. for a quick meal before going to TPAC for "Memphis". The location was perfect for a rainy night (short walk) and the restaurant's atmosphere was very relaxing and historic. The food was hot, well prepared and the drinks extremely reasonable for Downtown Nashville. After conversations with the server and part-owner our group left the dinner feeling like regulars. Watching these individuals interact with all the patrons made the visit special and feeling really appreciated by the proprietors. This ambience is often lost in today's chain restaurants and rushed establishments.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BNA10ec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome food, awesome service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

My friend and I just got into town and after checking into our hotel, headed out for a late lunch. We were unaware B.A.D. closes between 2:30pm and 4pm to clean up from lunch and get ready for happy hour/dinner. They completely accommodated us anyway and cooked up our lunch. We split a Mega Titan burger (amazing) and split a bowl of their chicken broccoli cheese soup. The soup was the most phenomenal broc/cheese soup I have ever tasted in my life. Our waiter also gave us tips on all sorts of places to check out in the city. Thank you! The service was above and beyond and I will recommend you guys over and over again. Now that's how you run a business!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice bar type resturant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Nice bar type restaurant.. BBQ sandwich was good... service was a little slow but they were up front about being short staffed for the day so it was no big deal since they warned us. Overall has good burgers, wraps and BBQ and prices not that bad

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Rmcgill1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Alley Diner also viewed

 

Been to Back Alley Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing