We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of Back Alley Diner

Back Alley Diner
Reserve with OpenTable
Back Alley Diner is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #157 of 2,044 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Soups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

If you just want food, this is ok. It is not great, and the prices are in line with the food

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank migolfergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    83
    33
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Food, Service and Atmosphere in Nashville”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We eat here every week at least once and I've never had one complaint about anything. Every dish is delicious and the servers can't do enough for one. The prices are reasonable for the amount of food that one receives! I'd recommend this resturant to anyone who visits or lives in Nashville.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dugger43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This place is a MUST TRY that you won't regret!!!”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

From the food to the service, this place is awesome! Nestled in an alley next to the Arcade, you will find a comfortable atmosphere with some of the best food. To top it off - it's so affordable!! Whether you live in Nashville, or plan on visiting - you MUST TRY "B.A.D." - Back Alley Diner.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere, and staff”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

This bar/restaurant hosts great food and terrific atmosphere. The staff was pleasant and fun. The food was great. Try the soup!!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad is Beyond Good...It's Fabulous!”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I recently visited Back Alley Diner located in Arcade Alley in downtown Nashville. I had heard very good things about it so some friends and I decided it give it a try. The young men who run the place advertise that B.A.D. is good, but I have to disagree...it’s fabulous! On the recommendation of our server, I started off with the broccoli chicken cheese soup. It was the perfect starter for a cool day and was to die for! It was perhaps the best soup I have ever had! I followed that exquisite starter with one of the best burgers around. The marinade made the burger, and try as I might to get the recipe, it seems that it is a family secret and one not to be divulged. My friends had the hickory smoked barbeque and claimed it was the best tin town. I can't disagree given the small taste I was able to wrestle from them. The atmosphere was very welcoming and friendly; the service was very good and the hostess was the best I've encountered in a very long time. All in all, it was an extraordinary meal in a great atmosphere. BAD is fabulous and the folks that run it are the best!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stewart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Alley Diner also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Back Alley Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing