We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown
Ranked #57 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
GreenLeadersBronze level
United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The staff was great - friendly and very knowledgeable and informative about the hotel and the area.

The breakfast buffet was quite good - replenished regularly and a great variety with something for everyone.

Rooms were pretty much as expected; clean and the beds were very comfortable.

The outside sitting area facing Broadway was a nice meeting spot and there were enough chairs & benches for a good sized group of people to sit down and relax. Be advised it is also a designated smoking area.

The hotel does provide a local shuttle, which is always a perk. The regular hotel shuttle van was out of service during our stay, so we were accommodated with a minivan to get to and from the downtown area. We used the shuttle twice during our stay. The first time we requested it, it was 10pm - the driver was quick, pleasant, and prompt. Fantastic!

The only problem that arose (and this was not the hotel's fault directly) - was with the shuttle. We (tried) to use the shuttle during one of the mornings we were there. There was a large group of guests staying at the hotel needing to get downtown to attend a conference. Due to the regular shuttle being out of service, the hotel was using the minivan to shuttle people back and forth. Problem was - the minivan could only accommodate a small group of people at a time. We patiently waited for the shuttle to come and pick us up - but due to the volume of (some very rude and self-entitled) people waiting and the fact that there was only one shuttle running, it was virtually impossible for us to get on the shuttle in time to arrive for our scheduled meetings. We wound up having to walk in the (very humid) heat in order to make it to our meetings on time. Perhaps a second shuttle during that peak time would have helped.

Overall though, this was a nice experience, the Nashville "strip" was just a few blocks away - with tons of music performers, restaurants, and gift shops to suit almost any need. I'll mention again that the staff was great - always a plus when considering to stay in a place you've never been before.

Green Features: Non-smoking hotel. There's a designated smoking area outside.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ha-p-2-b-home-n-ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIENASHVILLEDT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us your feedback. Our team at the award winning Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown takes great pleasure in providing a product that our guests can be proud of. Thank you for pointing out our centralized downtown location and clean rooms; as well as commenting on our complimentary downtown shuttle that our guests can enjoy and recommending your experience on TripAdvisor. My team and I greatly appreciate reviews like yours!

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Sincerely,

Dan Deaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    224
    96
    50
    22
See reviews for
100
204
13
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
145 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ragged ! It's plain nasty ! The carpet is gross, the furniture is old , the AC feels like an old timey swamp cooler! The only reason I'm here is because all I others are booked , the halls are disgusting ! I will never stay here again ! I don't know where the good reviews came from , plus you gotta pay. $22.00 just to park ! Hated it !

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank WSargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIENASHVILLEDT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
This review is puzzling because we do not have a record of this guest staying with us. Furthermore, in reviewing our reports we do not have a record of the guests concerns outlined in her review. Very confusing. Please note that we have a manger of duty available 24 hours a day to assist with any guest issue regardless of circumstance. Impressions like this are very rare, as they are not like many that have stayed with us based on the feedback we receive; as well as our 94% guest rating who recommend our hotel on TripAdvisor over the last quarter. Our team at the Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown makes every effort to deliver upon the high standards we set for ourselves; we strive to ensure our guests recognize the service/facilities we provide as offering a high level of value and a warmly memorable experience. In short, it is our ultimate goal to exceed our guests expectations and to ensure satisfaction.

Please reach out to me at your earliest convenience at 615-244-0150 and I will be happy to speak to you about your experience. I do hope you will allow us the occasion to restore your confidence in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Dan Deaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The location is perfect. Can walk to any place on and around Broadway where all the action is. Also an easy drive to Opryland. All staff was very friendly. I believe they are in the process of remodeling/updating the facility, but we were not fortunate enough to be on one of the floors that was completed. The hallways looked filthy and had me quite concerned about the shape of the rooms. The rooms were not too bad, just old. The beds had some type of vinyl bed skirt that laid between the mattress and base. Whenever you got in or out of the bed, it sounded like you were getting off of a blowup mattress. It was loud enough to disturb sleep. Hopefully that will not be a problem in the new rooms. I felt the price was high for a Holiday Inn Express. I thought Holiday Inn Expresses were supposed to be a bit less expensive. The first night, a week night, was 129.00, I can live with that. But on the weekend the price jumped to 199.00 per night and you had to pay $22.00 per night for parking. It did come with a breakfast every morning hot and cold, but the typical microwavable stuff. The last night there was no room in the parking garage or the outdoor secure parking lot so we had to park in an overflow lot that was not gated. I was not happy about that considering the price to park. I would consider staying there again, but would hope for a better price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ang89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIENASHVILLEDT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
On behalf of my team at the award winning Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, I would like to thank you for your time in providing us a review of your experience with us.

Yes, our hotel is in a picture-perfect downtown location within walking distance next to everything that our Music City has to offer. With that said, I would like to apologize if you were left to feel disappointed in our hotel and garage. Over the last year we have renovated our lobby, public space, and half our guestrooms; and have plans in late 4th quarter or early 1st quarter to complete the rest of the renovation. With respect to parking, our daily parking fee of $22.00 is actually on the more cost effective side when it comes to downtown hotel parking. Our parking rate, as well as other incidentals, are clearly noted to each and every guest when confirming reservations for full disclosure. However, I am happy to read that you would consider staying with us if your travels plans bring you back to Nashville.

Please reach out to me personally the next time you are visiting Nashville and I will roll out the red carpet for you!

Sincerely,

Dan Deaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel is located in the perfect spot. It's just far enough away from the main strip of bars and restaurants that there were no loud disruptions, even on New Year's Eve, but close enough to make downtown walkable. They also offer a regular shuttle service, so if it's cold or you choose to wear heels, you can get there that way as well.
Everything else was as expected - the room was comfortable and serviced regularly. It's not five star, but I can't fault anything about our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zoe223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIENASHVILLEDT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us a review of your experience at the award winning Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown. My team and I sincerely appreciate the opportunity to serve you on your recent trip to Nashville from NYC.

Thank you for mentioning our perfect downtown location. We personally believe our particular location sets us apart from the rest of the competition in the downtown Nashville market. We are only a few short blocks away from the vibrant entertainment district; but also nestled away on the ideal corner of 10th Avenue and Broadway, which situates our hotel property on the corner of the best of both worlds. While we sincerely thank you for your 4 star review, we aim for that perfect top notch 5 star hotel experience.

The next time your travel plans bring you back to Nashville we would love another opportunity to be your destination choice.

Sincerely,

Dan Deaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotel touts it's convenient location close to the sights on and around Broadway in downtown Nashville. It was nice to be able to walk to the Ryman Auditorium. The hotel is older and could stand to be upgraded in a few areas, but we felt it was OK and the location made it worthy of a one night visit. But watch out if you use their lower-lever garage. It was secure enough, but it was quite tight trying to park and we don't have a large car. I'd hate to try to park a full size SUV or van. We thought the breakfast area was fine and they had their GREAT cinnamon rolls. All-in-all, it was an OK place and served our purpose just fine.

Room Tip: We were pleasantly surprised by how quiet the room was. We were on the highway side of the hotel bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIENASHVILLEDT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hello and thank you for your time, business, and allowing us an opportunity to respond to your review.

On behalf of my team at the award winning Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, we sincerely appreciate your 4 star review of your experience with us. Yes, our hotel is in a picture-perfect downtown location next to everything that our Music City has to offer. With that said, I would like to apologize if you were left to feel disappointed in our hotel and garage. Over the last year we have renovated our lobby, public spaces, and half our guestrooms; and have plans in late 4th quarter or early 1st quarter to complete the rest of the renovation. With respect to parking, we actually have 5 different options for your various parking needs to accommodate any size vehicle: Upper Garage, Lower Garage, and two outdoor surface lots.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome your return.

Sincerely,

Dan Deaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselberry, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We chose this hotel based on location to downtown so we could walk to the 4th of July events at Riverfront Park and on Broadway. It was a great location and the 10 block walk downhill (then uphill on the way back) didn't bother us. The hotel does offer a free shuttle but we didn't use this service. The service and friendliness of the front desk staff was excellent. The fitness center was large and clean. The breakfast area was also large and clean with plenty of hot and cold food choices and seating. My greatest disappointment was that the carpets in the halls were clearly stained and in need of replacement. We were at this hotel for 4 nights so I would have appreciated newer and cleaner flooring. I also used the coin laundry on our last night and was not impressed with the cleaniness of the machines and room. Otherwise we had a great time in Nashville, loved the location and overall value of this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a newly renovated floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIENASHVILLEDT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us a review of your experience at the award winning Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown.

On behalf of my team, we always love hearing feedback from our guests! 4th of July is one of Nashville’s business times of the year with over 200,000+ people huddled in downtown for our annual Red, White & Boom festival. With that said, I would like to apologize for the condition of our hallway carpets and laundry facilities. It is unfortunate this prevented you from fully enjoying your time with us. I will make certain to pass along your feedback to the rest of my team for follow-up.

Once again, thank you for your time, business and for allowing me the opportunity to respond to your review.

Sincerely,

Dan Deaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had a block of five rooms here for a bachelorette party weekend. It was a great stay for us in terms of accommodations, location to downtown and cost. Great pool and very friendly staff who are used to dealing with a lot of excitement, if you will. If you are looking for a quiet weekend with kids this may not be a good choice.

My only complaint is I had a lot of issues dealing with the checkout process. My credit card was initially charged for someone else's reservation, which I didn't realize until I got back to the car and noticed someone else's name on the receipt. I had to go back and get a refund to the card. Not to mention, the payment was supposed to be split between two different credit cards, but the manager was having so much trouble that we gave up on it and I ended up just charging everything to my credit card. The whole checkout/payment ordeal took over 45 minutes while my group was waiting to leave.

All in all, I would stay again and hope they were just having a bad day at the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaHernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIENASHVILLEDT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Ms. Hernandez,

Thank you for your time, business, and most importantly your continued patience with us from your bachelorette party experience at the Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown in May 2014.

My team and I specifically remember this particular incident, and would like to again apologize for any confusion and/or frustration caused at departure. However, I am happy to report to the TripAdvisor community that we made amends by discounting a large portion of your stay as a result of the mix up on your departure Sunday in May. This is the least we could do considering the obstacles you experienced upon departure. We understand that, at times, mistakes and oversights happen between both parties (hotel/guest); but it is how my team and I deal with said oversights is what truly sets us apart from the rest of the competitive. Thank you for alerting us to this mishaps, and I am happy to report that we quickly remedied the situation; and that you would stay with us if your travels plans bring you back to Nashville.

Thank you so much for your business and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Nashville.

Sincerely,

Dan Deaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown
Downtown Nashville
Hyatt Place Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
#33 of 155 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 155 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown
Address: 920 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203-3807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Nashville
#34 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown! Whether traveling for business or leisure, rest assured that you have made the finest choice in the award winning Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown. We are the largest hotel within the InterContinental Hotels Group portfolio boasting 287 guestrooms complete with over 10,000 sq feet of flexible meeting space making our hotel property ideal for corporate retreats, meetings, and receptions. The Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown is perfectly situated in downtown Nashville within a stone's throw of Bridgestone Arena, Nashville Convention Center, Music City Center, Frist Center for the Visual Arts, Ryman Auditorium, Music Row, LP Field, and the vibrate downtown Entertainment District. Our guests can enjoy amenities such as complimentary Wi-Fi access, complimentary Express Start breakfast each morning, and a seasonal outdoor pool. On Friday and Saturday we have hors d'oeuvre in the lobby, complete with refreshments in the evening hours featuring live entertainment from one of Nashville's rising musical talents to set the tone for a fun-filled Nashville weekend. Start planning your Nashville Experience today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown Hotel Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing