We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location for a downtown visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown
Ranked #43 of 156 Hotels in Nashville
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Location for a downtown visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel is located in the perfect spot. It's just far enough away from the main strip of bars and restaurants that there were no loud disruptions, even on New Year's Eve, but close enough to make downtown walkable. They also offer a regular shuttle service, so if it's cold or you choose to wear heels, you can get there that way as well.
Everything else was as expected - the room was comfortable and serviced regularly. It's not five star, but I can't fault anything about our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zoe223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIENASHVILLEDT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us a review of your experience at the award winning Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown. My team and I sincerely appreciate the opportunity to serve you on your recent trip to Nashville from NYC.

Thank you for mentioning our perfect downtown location. We personally believe our particular location sets us apart from the rest of the competition in the downtown Nashville market. We are only a few short blocks away from the vibrant entertainment district; but also nestled away on the ideal corner of 10th Avenue and Broadway, which situates our hotel property on the corner of the best of both worlds. While we sincerely thank you for your 4 star review, we aim for that perfect top notch 5 star hotel experience.

The next time your travel plans bring you back to Nashville we would love another opportunity to be your destination choice.

Sincerely,

Dan Deaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    256
    104
    58
    23
See reviews for
118
244
16
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotel touts it's convenient location close to the sights on and around Broadway in downtown Nashville. It was nice to be able to walk to the Ryman Auditorium. The hotel is older and could stand to be upgraded in a few areas, but we felt it was OK and the location made it worthy of a one night visit. But watch out if you use their lower-lever garage. It was secure enough, but it was quite tight trying to park and we don't have a large car. I'd hate to try to park a full size SUV or van. We thought the breakfast area was fine and they had their GREAT cinnamon rolls. All-in-all, it was an OK place and served our purpose just fine.

Room Tip: We were pleasantly surprised by how quiet the room was. We were on the highway side of the hotel bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIENASHVILLEDT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hello and thank you for your time, business, and allowing us an opportunity to respond to your review.

On behalf of my team at the award winning Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, we sincerely appreciate your 4 star review of your experience with us. Yes, our hotel is in a picture-perfect downtown location next to everything that our Music City has to offer. With that said, I would like to apologize if you were left to feel disappointed in our hotel and garage. Over the last year we have renovated our lobby, public spaces, and half our guestrooms; and have plans in late 4th quarter or early 1st quarter to complete the rest of the renovation. With respect to parking, we actually have 5 different options for your various parking needs to accommodate any size vehicle: Upper Garage, Lower Garage, and two outdoor surface lots.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome your return.

Sincerely,

Dan Deaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselberry, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We chose this hotel based on location to downtown so we could walk to the 4th of July events at Riverfront Park and on Broadway. It was a great location and the 10 block walk downhill (then uphill on the way back) didn't bother us. The hotel does offer a free shuttle but we didn't use this service. The service and friendliness of the front desk staff was excellent. The fitness center was large and clean. The breakfast area was also large and clean with plenty of hot and cold food choices and seating. My greatest disappointment was that the carpets in the halls were clearly stained and in need of replacement. We were at this hotel for 4 nights so I would have appreciated newer and cleaner flooring. I also used the coin laundry on our last night and was not impressed with the cleaniness of the machines and room. Otherwise we had a great time in Nashville, loved the location and overall value of this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a newly renovated floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIENASHVILLEDT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us a review of your experience at the award winning Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown.

On behalf of my team, we always love hearing feedback from our guests! 4th of July is one of Nashville’s business times of the year with over 200,000+ people huddled in downtown for our annual Red, White & Boom festival. With that said, I would like to apologize for the condition of our hallway carpets and laundry facilities. It is unfortunate this prevented you from fully enjoying your time with us. I will make certain to pass along your feedback to the rest of my team for follow-up.

Once again, thank you for your time, business and for allowing me the opportunity to respond to your review.

Sincerely,

Dan Deaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had a block of five rooms here for a bachelorette party weekend. It was a great stay for us in terms of accommodations, location to downtown and cost. Great pool and very friendly staff who are used to dealing with a lot of excitement, if you will. If you are looking for a quiet weekend with kids this may not be a good choice.

My only complaint is I had a lot of issues dealing with the checkout process. My credit card was initially charged for someone else's reservation, which I didn't realize until I got back to the car and noticed someone else's name on the receipt. I had to go back and get a refund to the card. Not to mention, the payment was supposed to be split between two different credit cards, but the manager was having so much trouble that we gave up on it and I ended up just charging everything to my credit card. The whole checkout/payment ordeal took over 45 minutes while my group was waiting to leave.

All in all, I would stay again and hope they were just having a bad day at the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaHernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIENASHVILLEDT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Ms. Hernandez,

Thank you for your time, business, and most importantly your continued patience with us from your bachelorette party experience at the Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown in May 2014.

My team and I specifically remember this particular incident, and would like to again apologize for any confusion and/or frustration caused at departure. However, I am happy to report to the TripAdvisor community that we made amends by discounting a large portion of your stay as a result of the mix up on your departure Sunday in May. This is the least we could do considering the obstacles you experienced upon departure. We understand that, at times, mistakes and oversights happen between both parties (hotel/guest); but it is how my team and I deal with said oversights is what truly sets us apart from the rest of the competitive. Thank you for alerting us to this mishaps, and I am happy to report that we quickly remedied the situation; and that you would stay with us if your travels plans bring you back to Nashville.

Thank you so much for your business and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Nashville.

Sincerely,

Dan Deaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We arrived here on 4th July, check in was quick, reception staff were very welcoming. There were over 200,000 people in town that night and the hotel was extremely busy but we found it quiet in our room. The free lemonade and meatballs and pasta were very welcoming after a long drive.
The free breakfast was also very good, ok not as good as some breakfasts but free and lots of different choices. Our room was comfortable and clean.
The location was great, just a short walk to downtown. My only criticism is the antiquated safe that we were presented with at reception. It was a very ancient lockable tin box that, when placed on the counter I could hardly see in. We would definitely stay here again if visiting Nashville.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dotty003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIENASHVILLEDT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
On behalf of my team, I would like to sincerely thank you for your time in detailing your experience with us on your July 4th weekend excursion to Nashville!

July 4th is one of Nashville’s busiest time of the year with over 200,000 people huddled in downtown for our Red, White & Boom festival. Reading your review gives me great joy to know that we were able to provide you with a pleasant experience.

Thank you again for your time, business, and for allowing me the opportunity to respond to your review. We welcome you back anytime!

Sincerely,

Dan Deaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

At first glance, this seemed like a nice hotel. But when you look around, it's hard not to notice it's pretty filthy. The floors in the lobby/elevator were sticky. There were fingerprints and ctumbs on all the tables in the lobby, as well as fingerprints on the doors to the lobby and garage. Our room was never cleaned! We had to go down to the front desk around 5pm to ask them to tidy up. The worst part of our hotel experience happened when the shuttle failed to pick up our party of 7. We were told twice that they were on the way. The third time we called, after waiting 30 minutes, they said the shuttle stopped for the night leaving us to fend for ourselves! We would have never known if we didn't call them. I suggest staying elsewhere.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank xginamichelex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIENASHVILLEDT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time in providing us your detailed experience at the Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown. Our team strives to provide the best possible experience whether staying with us for business or leisure.

Along with my team, I would like to apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. It is indeed troubling to read the challenges outlined in your review. Did you report any of your inconveniences to our Manager on Duty? We have a Manager on Duty 24 hours a day to assist our guests with their various concerns. With respect to our shuttle, we do have an on-demand/first come-first serve complimentary downtown shuttle; a complimentary shuttle that most hotels in downtown Nashville do not have as an amenity for their guests. Our shuttle does not take reservations, as it is on a first come-first serve basis. On an average weekend our hotel is servicing anywhere between 2000+ guests, with the majority of our guests wanting to utilize our complimentary on-demand shuttle service. Because of this, wait times, unfortunately, can sometimes occur when the volume is this high. With that said, I, too, would not appreciate the annoyance of having to wait.

Please reach out to me at your earliest convenience at 615-244-0150 and I will be happy to speak to you about your experience. I do hope you will allow us the occasion to restore your confidence in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Dan Deaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Harrison, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I loved this hotel! And I am very very picky! The staff were all so friendly and helpful we felt very welcome. We stayed on the 7th floor, they are recently renovated on that floor I think. Omg the bed was amazing and the pillows the best ever! I am one that cant sleep in hotels, but the bed was so comfortable I slept like a rock. The room was extremely clean too. The hotel also put put afternoon snacks in the lobby and then pasta and fruit at dinner. I have never seen a hotel do all that, we were very happy. Breakfast was really great too, thank you! !!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgilbert89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIENASHVILLEDT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for your valuable time in posting a review of your experience at the award winning Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown. Feedback like yours is exact lasting experience we want all our guests to have while staying with us.

We are humbled by your positive remarks pertaining to our friendly team, clean guestroom with amazing comfortable bed, hors d'oeuvre, and refreshments in the evening. Your kind words about our hotel, and especially about my team of hospitality professionals will not go unnoticed. I have already posted your review on our Hall of Fame board for our entire hotel team to read.

On behalf of my team, we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for another great experience!

Sincerely,

Dan Deaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
#38 of 156 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 156 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#15 of 156 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown
Address: 920 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Nashville
#34 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown! Whether traveling for business or leisure, rest assured that you have made the finest choice in the award winning Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown. We are the largest hotel within the InterContinental Hotels Group portfolio boasting 287 guestrooms complete with over 10,000 sq feet of flexible meeting space making our hotel property ideal for corporate retreats, meetings, and receptions. The Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown is perfectly situated in downtown Nashville within a stone's throw of Bridgestone Arena, Nashville Convention Center, Music City Center, Frist Center for the Visual Arts, Ryman Auditorium, Music Row, LP Field, and the vibrate downtown Entertainment District. Our guests can enjoy amenities such as complimentary Wi-Fi access, complimentary Express Start breakfast each morning, and a seasonal outdoor pool. On Friday and Saturday we have hors d'oeuvre in the lobby, complete with refreshments in the evening hours featuring live entertainment from one of Nashville's rising musical talents to set the tone for a fun-filled Nashville weekend. Start planning your Nashville Experience today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown Hotel Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing