We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“More than a museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frist Center for Visual Arts

Frist Center for Visual Arts
Book In Advance
$39.00*
and up
Nashville Trolley Tour
Ranked #25 of 240 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Since opening in 2001, the Frist Center for Visual Arts has hosted a spectacular array of art from around the world. Not only an important cultural focal point for the city of Nashville, it is also a significant architectural structure, occupying one of Nashville’s great historic landmarks, the former main post office. Constructed from 1933 to 1934 under the direction of the local architectural firm of Marr & Holman, it displays both of the most distinctive architectural styles of the period: Classicism and Art Deco.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“More than a museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This museum is a cultural experience that will give as much to children as adults. The 3rd floor is where you'll fin a large interactive art room for children that adults will have fum with too. The building is part of Nashville history as well. If you live in the area a membership pays itself off with regular visits.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    179
    46
    13
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Go for the architecture too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We arrived while exhibits were in transition, so were offered half price entry. The Goya Napoleonic War etchings were perfectly balanced against the incredible Steve Mumford drawings from Afghanistan and Iraq. As the parent of a Canadian airman who did a tour in Afghanistan, I found the honesty in the drawings incredibly moving.

But we were truly amazed by the building itself: a perfect art deco post office lovingly cared for in its current incarnation as visual arts centre.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Frist Supports Our Troops...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

...in thought, art and deed. Recently I visited the Frist with a National Female Veterans group which included WWII veterans. I am currently serving. I was SO impressed with our groups treatment as we toured the East West exhibit & Steve Mumford's amazing war art with our own tour guide. She indicated that the Frist honors military service by having frequent free Veterans events. I had a meaningful and memorable experience and appreciate the Frist's treatment of the US military and veterans. Thank You.

Helpful?
Thank goldelox09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
155 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great art venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a remarkable venue for the display of the visual arts. I have attended several wonderful displays of art at the Frist Center, and am amazed at the well-known art displays held there ... Allow yourselves plenty of time for this affordable venue!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElaineDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“SMALL COLLECTION, AMAZING ART DECO BUILDING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

It is an incredible art deco building, really worth a visit. There is an eclectic collection with nice paintings (nice Monet´s). People is very kind and helpful, there were no crowds so the visit is really peaceful.
Could be the audioguide explanations are a little bit long

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank arlupo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Frist Center for Visual Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing