We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Museum in downtown Nashville”

Frist Center for Visual Arts
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.00*
and up
Nashville Trolley Tour
More Info
$34.00*
and up
Music City Hop on and Hop Off Tour
Ranked #27 of 253 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Since opening in 2001, the Frist Center for Visual Arts has hosted a spectacular array of art from around the world. Not only an important cultural focal point for the city of Nashville, it is also a significant architectural structure, occupying one of Nashville’s great historic landmarks, the former main post office. Constructed from 1933 to 1934 under the direction of the local architectural firm of Marr & Holman, it displays both of the most distinctive architectural styles of the period: Classicism and Art Deco.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Big, modern museum that showcases a diverse selection of art displays throughout the year, from Faberge Eggs to Princess Diana's dresses.

Thank phillandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (698)
There are newer reviews for Frist Center for Visual Arts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

585 - 589 of 698 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

There is a visiting Dutch Art of the Golden Age exhibition at the Frist until May 18, 2013. It is from the Detroit Institute of Art. Well worth the visit. Outstanding collection. The Frist is housed in a former US Post Office building and is in art deco style.

Thank BritChris95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great display! Glorious pieces. Knowledgeable tour guide.

My wife and I spent a rainy, cold Sunday afternoon there March 24, 2013. We were attracted by the large intriguing piece we had seen on the back of the property as we walked from the Union Station hotel to the Bridgestone Arena.

Sunday hours 1 to 5:30, Cafe opens at noon.
Important note ... all of the signs make the hours known, what they don't tell you is where the cafe is. The entrance for the cafe is in the back.

Take the guided tour!! Last about 45 minutes, doesn't cost anything --- admission to the museum for non-members was $10 / adult --- and offered up lots of insight we wouldn't have picked up by using just the audio tour player. Tour started at 1:30pm. Not sure if they offered more than the one tour during the day Sunday.

Upstairs was the John Bourne Collection that contained a large amount of very cool Mayan and other indigenous South American artifacts. Take the time to go up and view it while your there --- runs thru until June 23rd, 2013.

Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This just my opinion, but I felt like this was just another wealthy political family doing something for a tax credit and to bring attention to themselves.

1  Thank Rev Dr Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have been making the 2-hr drive to this museum once or twice a year since it first opened. They don’t seem to have a permanent collection, but they have a variety of temporary/traveling exhibits and these are often of a very high caliber (we have seen some great Ancient Egyptian exhibits as well as many major exhibits of Old Masters paintings). It is also worth a visit just to see the architecture (Art Deco/Classicism) of this historic former post office (they also offer architecture tours the first Saturday of every month but we usually visit on a weekday so we haven’t been on this tour). Also, checkout the gorgeous historic train station next-door (now a hotel). When my kids were younger, they loved the hands-on art area here where they experimented with block printing and other techniques. Their artwork was scanned into the computer and they were given a card to bring with them on future visits to add to their art file. (They also took home the actual artwork). We just saw the huge exhibit: Rembrandt and the Dutch Golden Age: Highlights from the Detroit Institute of Art, as well as an Ancient American Art exhibit. Kids 18 and under are free at the Frist. $10 for adults. Nice parking lot right next to the museum (get your ticket validated in the museum for a discount). There is a café with good sandwiches and desserts. Unfortunately, no photography is allowed in the galleries.

Thank SusanzM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frist Center for Visual Arts also viewed

 

Been to Frist Center for Visual Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing