We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute hipster place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Silly Goose - CLOSED

The Silly Goose
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cute hipster place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I loved this cute little hipster restaurant. It's a little outside of the downtown area, but not too far by car and there is a parking lot. It's a little hidden in the back of the strip mall type building, but once we found it, we were happy. The service was a bit slow, but the food was really excellent. They have a variety of sandwiches and couscous dishes, which is unexpected, but totally yummy. I would definitely recommend this as something different than what you'd expect to get in Nashville.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amethyst198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    46
    7
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I was so excited about going here....tons of reviews with nothing but praise. I was so disappointed. The location and parking are not the best. The service was not good. The waitress babbled about herself and "forgot" to bring our first round of drinks well into our appetizers. The portions are a total joke. Even the drinking mugs....almost Dixie cup-sized. THEY DO NOT SERVE BEER OR SODA, although you can bring your own wine if you wish. I ordered the Zipper and King Kong Couscous. Very good. The others got the fish and chicken dishes (which were regular dinner dishes, but I cannot remember. Also good.

The desserts were awful. The rhubarb cheesecake had all sorts of things thrown on it....a tart mango sauce and other things that all 4 of us just found to taste funky and "off". They were out of the lemon cake, so she highly recommended their date (the fruit) cake. It looked again to be a sample-size (TINY)when it arrived and it also tasted funky and foul also....and this again the opinion of 4 people. I went home and had some candy because I felt like I didn't get dessert-deprived. Later found our friends dining with us that night did also.

One last important thing.....this place seats 30. If you don't get there between 5-6p on a weekend night.....you will wait a long time. We got there at 6p, and our wait was "only" 30 minutes. While eating I heard the waiting times as much as an hour and a half.

After our meal, we were talking and the hostess came to our table and asked, "We have 14 parties that are waiting to be seated.....if you don't mind....." Asked us to leave. I guess they do advertise they need people to move in and move on out, but still. Leaves a bad taste (pun intended;) in my mouth. Add more seating, don't ask people to hurry up and get out.

Tiny portions, bad service, limited seating, awful desserts (HOW does one mess up dessert so bad??!!) rushed to leave.....will not go back again.

Reservations taken for parties of 6 or more.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food not so nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The food is really good. I have never had a main dish where there were so many taste experiences. Each bite was a different combination of the beef, veggies, herbs, cheese and spices.

The place is VERY loud. Painfully loud. You can barely hear the person sitting across from you. The chairs are painful to sit in - very small and the back comes in at weird angle so you can only sit on the very edge even if you have tiny hips. The server was helpful and attentive when we first arrived but got more remote the longer we were there. I wonder if that was on purpose to push us out the door to get the table freed up faster.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zimrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The food was great- there were 6 of us and we all sampled each other's food and it was all good! Fresh food, and ingredients- a surprisingly wonderful place to eat. Get there early, not much seating inside but if the weather is nice you can eat at the patio to the side of the restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MGUINN08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Level Contributor
139 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

So it's been a while since I've tried any restaurants in East Nashville beyond Margot's, but last night 6 of my gal pals and I hit Silly Goose. The service was great especially in light of the fact that my gal pals were 20 minutes late! I loved the menu choices and reasonable wine options. Was not wild about the big bench and the music overhead could be turned down a bit, but otherwise I will be back! I had their flat iron steak. Yum! But they had several vegetarian options, fish, etc.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mtknash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Silly Goose also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing