We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”

Mitchell's Delicatessen
Ranked #91 of 2,041 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Counter service breakfast lunch and dinner with beer and wine available. Sandwiches, soups, and a salad bar. We're East Nashville's Neighborhood Deli!
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I am local and this is definitely my favorite deli in town. Their sandwiches and soups are amazing. The meats, cheeses, and bread are top notch. The breakfast is wonderful. The Benton's bacon and cheese grits are a must. If you are visiting downtown they aren't far away and worth the drive if you want to try what the locals eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnLiz30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    67
    20
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding sandwiches, across the board”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

A bit off the beaten track, less than 10 minutes from Opryland, this deli is definitely worth the trip. All four of us loved the sandwiches we got - top of the list was the amazing Italian sandwich. Others excellent as well. The chili, made with beef and sausage, was awesome too. Crowded with locals - may be hard to get a seat (we did after 5 min though cause the turnover is very high).

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnNicols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Do not miss this one!”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Locals know where to go! Excellent sandwiches ! Do not miss this!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great deli sandwiches!”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Mitchell's Deli has delicious sandwiches made with top quality, all natural ingredients. Delicious options for vegetarians, too. Casual neighborhood atmosphere. A "must' stop whenever we visit Nashville.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyR658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

I'm not sure what to say, except that the food is excellent. We went once for breakfast, which was quite good, but what we really enjoy are the sandwiches. They're served on great bread with fresh meats and cheeses. Everything I've had here is fantastic and priced well for the quality (and quantity) of the food. If you're looking for a great sandwich in Nashville, I'd come here first.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert55229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitchell's Delicatessen also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Mitchell's Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing