We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Nashville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Nashville to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Nashville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Union Street, Nashville, TN 37201 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #31 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, TN
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We went to Nashville for a music vacation. All we wanted to do was relax, hear some live music and enjoy good food. The downtown location of the Hotel Indigo was perfect for us. It's a relatively short walk down to Broadway and there are many bars and restaurants in between so we had plenty of food and music options including Printer's Alley which is less than a block away.

Our room was clean and very comfortable. We had a corner room with an eastern exposure which was bright and cheerful but the blackout curtains kept it dark enough that we were able to sleep late if we wanted to. The only thing missing from the room is a full length mirror - in fact the only mirror was the one in the bathroom. This is a minor complaint - not enough to influence our decision to stay here again (which we will!)

All of the staff members were courteous and efficient. Valet parking was a little pricey but probably no more expensive than any other downtown hotel. Our car was always ready when we called down.

The hotel bar hosts live music most nights featuring local talent and singer/songwriter showcases.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smdaigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    303
    119
    41
    30
See reviews for
91
394
27
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

First, the good things about this hotel. The location, smack in the middle of downtown Nashville, was superior. The front desk staff was accommodating, and the lobby was almost always busy, music and noise we couldn't hear in our room three floors away. The high-speed wireless internet was the fastest I think I've encountered at a hotel, and it was free. When a bellman was friendly enough to tell me I could make movies with my iPhone, I actually wanted him to tell me how.

Now for the downers. The rooms (at least ours, 317 in Tower Two) are small and cramped. It is a converted office building from the 1920s or '30s, and we were lodged right next to the elevator shaft. The bathroom had good water pressure, and the Aveda products were luxurious (they even had mouthwash, a rare treat.) But, the furniture was scarred and banged up. They provided two night tables and then crammed one of them sideways into a corner because it wouldn't fit next to the bed. The chest for a closet had a broken door that wouldn't stay shut. And, Union Street outside got very loud at certain times of the day.

I would likely try this branch of Indigo again, but I would request a different room than 317.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrawatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Hotel Indigo Nashville overcharged me by a substantial amount, and they are refusing to refund. I tried calling the 800 number, and I have been told that the individual hotel will have to take care of the problem. Well, the individual hotel is refusing to take care of the problem, and the manager will not call me back. I have been battling this for 4 days now. I think that they purposely overcharged me too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nrd2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoNashDT, Manager at Hotel Indigo Nashville, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
This party was not a guest at the hotel. The tip on the bar tab was entered incorrectly due to sloppy handwriting. The $8 error was corrected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Indigo for a long weekend in Nashville. The downtown location kept us close to the entertainment areas. The room was clean & all of the staff were very friendly. The only thing that disappointed us was that the hotel lobby/bar entertainment wrapped up by 11pm. I guess that's a good thing though if you're room is too close to the bar. Valet service was helpful and timely, given ~15 minute notice. An experienced Nashville visitor may know that there is nearby public garage parking that would probably be cheaper than the valet service, although you'd sacrifice convenience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kainzow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tell City, IN
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Stayed one night while in town for concert at Bridgstone. Hotel price actually better or at same price as some others immediately surrounding it. Decor of hotel is very nice. Rooms were very clean. Huge bathrooms--Aveda bath products. Beds are super comfy--we loved all the extra pillows. Location is great for downtown entertainment--close walk to everything you could want to do (5-10 minutes tops), although coming back you do have a slight incline uphill. Only cons I can list are the old, ran down parking garage which still cost you $20 and the walls in this hotel are very THIN--when walking down the hall we could hear everything that was going on in the rooms around us!!! Would definitely recommend though that anyone considering the downtown entertainment to stay here or somewhere nearby.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riverratfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

I was cautious about staying here based on the significant negative feedback, but - because I am a big fan of IHG and specifically the Indigo brand - I held out hope that our experience would prove excellence.

Sadly, our stay overall did not disprove the general opinion. From the outset, with our most-unimpressive check-in with Freda - who clearly, to me, should never be in client services - I knew things weren't going to be as stellar as they've been at other Indigo properties. Room upgrade - as a Platinum member - was a disappointment. A lackluster valet parking interaction, even though I called in advance and was standing at the entrance for 15 minutes (Hello? Can you see me?), added to my frustrations. Our negative encounters were given a thorough bookend, when, on the final morning of our stay a maid knocked on our door at 11 a.m. - even though we had a 'Do Not Disturb' sign on the door - and then proceeded to engage in conversation - through the door when we were in bed on Valentine's Day weekend! - to emphasize that we needed to leave. I guess the old school building exacts old school technology and this maid had no way of checking to see that I was a PCR member and did 'need' to check out until 2 p.m. I don't usually vent, but this was thoroughly unprofessional and underscored the poor service (training too perhaps?) at this property.

With all of the above said I do want to compliment the Bar staff - they were both friendly and informative on 'what to do' - as well as the one Front Desk member that was proactive and friendly: Sara Borg - who helped to mitigate my frustrating matters and made me finally feel 'appreciated' as a guest. After all, I chose this hotel solely because of the Indigo brand, if I'd followed TripAdvisor feedback not so.

Likes: hotel decor; proximity to downtown attractions and nightlife; historic architecture and artwork decoration throughout the building; cool bar and live music; nice bar staff; nice walk-in showers and water pressure.

Dislikes: Front Desk staff - yes, the other reviewers are right on and not exaggerating; inability to open the windows in the rooms; parking difficulties in the area; not up-to-speed on PCR treatment standards.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldAdventurer_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

Funny place. Pros: Great location, nice lobby area and bar area; Starbucks attached; valet pretty efficient; interesting rooms. Cons: front desk has been unorganized on all 3 visits; didn't get my points credited on all 3 visits, although I confirmed they "had my number"; rooms are cool, but a couple of times I had a room with no chair save the completely uncomfortable desk chair. I HATE sitting on the bed to watch TV.; On 2 of 3 visits, my room key stopped working multiple times; a couple of room cleanings were less than stellar; no coffee refill; cable out once; etc.
Overall, due to reasonable price for location, I'd stay again. I'm a sucker for older buildings converted into hotels. This one definitely has character. Plus, on one visit, there was a killer free concert right across the street. How often does that happen? I guess you just roll with the quirks.....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pir8guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
#36 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Nashville Downtown Hotel
Downtown Nashville
Hyatt Place Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#12 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 2,174 reviews
Downtown Nashville
The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Nashville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Nashville

Property: Hotel Indigo Nashville
Address: 301 Union Street, Nashville, TN 37201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Nashville 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown business district, Printers Alley and 2nd Avenue- at the corner of 3rd Avenue and Union Street-close to all major attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Nashville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing