We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Collection”

Tennessee State Museum
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$39.00*
and up
Nashville Trolley Tour
Ranked #23 of 252 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Tennessee State Museum is one of the largest state museums in the nation with more than 60,000-sq.-ft. of permanent exhibits and a 10,000-sq.-ft. changing exhibition hall where temporary exhibits are on view. The museum's interpretive exhibits begin 15,000 years ago with prehistoric humans and continue through the early 1900s with special sections on Native American Indians, explorers, pioneers, the Antebellum age, the Civil War, and the beginning of a new century. The State Museum is open every day except Mondays, and admission is free.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Huge Collection”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Tennessee State Museum has a vast collection of artifacts from every corner of Tennessee's history from ancient arrowheads to Civil War rifles. When my wife and I visited this mutli-tiered museum, it was bustling with life, and of course it was: the museum is not only huge, it is free. If you're visiting the capitol, the Tennessee State Museum is a must visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bobby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    228
    43
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pulaski
Level Contributor
265 reviews
183 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Lots to see”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a very in-depth museum about the state of Tennessee's history. It has many wonderful displays and lots of knowledge to be gained through it. There is no charge for the museum, so it is definitely a very good deal. Several hours can be spent covering the three floors.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lots of great artifacts”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The flag on the ship Alabama; civil war artifacts, lots of prehistoric Indian objects; gorgeous quilts. They didn't mention the dispossession of the Cherokee on the Trail of Tears. The history stops about 1920, few major industries mentioned including the music business in Nashville. The flow was difficult to follow.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mlsears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Protem, Missouri
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great historical artifacts”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

If you like Indian artifacts, this is the place to visit. No admission charge. I parked across the street at the Sheraton Hotel garage where I was told was the cheapest place. Try 5 hours with a charge of $30.50 Keep looking for a better space. It's downtown in the business district. Very congested.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rward307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tennessee History at its best”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I love going to see the exhibits every chance I get. I am a Civil War history buff and I cant get enough of the artifacts that they have to view.

Special Events are great also, just a couple of months ago the Emancipation Proclamation was on display to view. Every visitor to Nashville and every resident should be proud of our museum

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tennessee State Museum also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Tennessee State Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing