We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT FREE MUSEUM.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tennessee State Museum

Tennessee State Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.00*
and up
Nashville Trolley Tour
Ranked #22 of 244 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Tennessee State Museum is one of the largest state museums in the nation with more than 60,000-sq.-ft. of permanent exhibits and a 10,000-sq.-ft. changing exhibition hall where temporary exhibits are on view. The museum's interpretive exhibits begin 15,000 years ago with prehistoric humans and continue through the early 1900s with special sections on Native American Indians, explorers, pioneers, the Antebellum age, the Civil War, and the beginning of a new century. The State Museum is open every day except Mondays, and admission is free.
atlanta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“GREAT FREE MUSEUM.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

This museum was full of great historical artifacts, full of history, and had a staff that was awesome. Well worth the admission price of zero dollars. Something for all ages and interests. We avoided the mummy for our 5 year old...

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank powerofmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    216
    38
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good but not brilliant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Feel bad giving this a less than fabulous review as there are some really neat things here and they've tried hard to make it work. It's definately worth a couple of hours with, or without kids. It's free so that is a major plus (although local parking is pricey) and it's all about local and historic. The whole museum is on three floors underground which, if you are claustrophobic, is a little unsettling. My son enjoyed it for about an hour.

Helpful?
Thank Chaissdyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

It is on the smaller side but it was a very nice museum. Lots of history in Tennessee. No admission. Very nice displays.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank tromt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful way to spend a relaxing afternoon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Wonderful history of Tennessee from early man up to the nineteenth century. And there is no admission charge.
Brouchure says it takes an hour to tour. We spent over three hours and didn't see everything.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bandman212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Free, but not worth the hassle”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

The security there was very rude. We felt like we were being followed the entire time. I use a small book bag to carry my camera in. Well we came in the front and no one said anything. We got down to the gallery section,and we told we couldn't go any further without checking our bag up front. That was fine we took the bag up front. Then we went into the quilt section,and my 8 year old daughter POINTED over the railing and the alarm went off. After that we were followed around the whole place so we ended up leaving.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank cotheran121298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tennessee State Museum also viewed

 

Been to Tennessee State Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing