We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, expensive parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt
Ranked #26 of 159 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Really liked the location of this property. About a mile out of the downtown strip, but in a area near Vanderbilt university that had many nice restaurants and little bars. They charge $23 a night to park, which is probably normal for the area, but I always get annoyed by parking fees. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Good breakfast for $12 a day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaylexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Greetings Kaylexa,

Thank you for taking the time to share details of your experience at our hotel. Our location in Midtown adjacent to Vanderbilt University and Music Row provides a variety of dining and entertainment options. The deluxe breakfast buffet is stocked full of fresh fruit, pastries, bagels, and made to order hot items and is served daily. Our staff strives to provide the utmost in Southern Hospitality and we loved having you here!

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you to Music City again in the near future!


Safe Travels,

Justin Byler / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,468 - 1,474 of 1,637 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Im very picky when it comes to hotels....and i can say for sure....Great stay all around, clean hotel, good location, free shuttle, pool, comfortable beds. best of all is the customer service....thank you Hilton!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dustyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Greetings ZimLarry,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience at our hotel! Our housekeepers work diligently to ensure that sparkling clean accommodations await each guest upon their arrival, and our guest services team strives to extend the best in southern hospitality to every guest. I look forward to sharing your comments with our entire team as I know it will brighten their day!

You can count on us to provide superior service to all of our guests, and we look forward to welcoming you again. Thanks again for sharing your experience!

Safe Travels,

Justin Byler / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed here for a meeting. It was my first experience with a Hilton Garden Inn. I normally stay in motels like Super 8 or Best Western, but have stayed in more upmarket hotels like a Hilton. I found the hotel comfortable and clean, but not luxurious like a Hilton. We flew in and took a shuttle from the airport ($25 each round trip), so almost could have rented a car for less, except the hotel charges $23 per night for parking even for those staying in the hotel.
Breakfast was not included, and would be an extra $11 each if you eat in the restaurant downstairs.
An excellent Mexican restaurant with reasonable prices down one block toward Vanderbilt, Sorry I forgot the name but it is on the corner.
Our meeting had catered food, which was excellent.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank ZimLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Greetings ZimLarry,

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your experience at our hotel. Our food and beverage team does a wonderful job preparing food for a wide variety of events, and the close proximity of other bars and restaurants combine to ensure that no taste bud goes unsatisfied.

You can count on us to provide superior service to all of our guests, and we look forward to welcoming you again. Thanks again for sharing your experience!

Safe Travels,

Justin Byler / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

A group of us stayed at this hotel for a wedding over Labor Day weekend. This was one of the hotels where a block of rooms was reserved. We were told that the hotel would have information about the weekend events such as parties, transportation, etc. We asked several times during our stay if they had any information for the wedding group and no one working had any idea. Upon checkout we asked again, per the bride' s suggestion, and lo and behold they had dozens of gift bags they had never given out. I called the hotel after I went home to report what an inconvenience it was to not have the information and that we missed many events without the information. I called 3 times and never received a call back. Their customer service and service recovery were awful. They never apologized and were pretty indifferent about their giant screw up. I was so disappointed that no one would admit the mistake nor offer anything to offset the inconvenience.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaeRae79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear Raerae79,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We strive to exceed each guests expectations, and it is clear that we were unable to do this for you and your party. Please accept my sincerest apology for the error in not distributing the gift bags in an acceptable manner and for our failure in serving you with effective communication and prompt problem resolution strategies. I will be reaching out to you via a private message in order to follow up with you more.

Direct guest feedback is critical to our endeavors in the hospitality industry, and we are grateful that you took the time to provide us with this review. We continually strive to create an environment in which every guest can experience an ultimate hotel stay, and you can count on us to be persistent in our efforts!

I look forward to communicating with you further and we do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Justin Byler / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel is about a mile from downtown. It's close to Vanderbilt, and within 2 miles of Music Row. We walked to a Mexican restaurant, and also to Arbys. The staff was helpful, even though they couldn't find our reservation at first. They resolved the issue quickly. Coffee is available in the lobby, but you'll have to pay for breakfast. We were at the Hilton for a conference, and the hotel made boxed lunches for us. The sandwiches were fresh, and the amount of food was ample.

Room Tip: Close to downtown and Vanderbilt means sirens from emergency vehicles. Parking is $23 to self park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wheaties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Greetings Wheaties,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us here in Nashville. Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review of your experience!

Our food and beverage team does a wonderful job preparing food for a wide variety of events, and the close proximity of other bars and resturants combine to ensure that no tastbud goes unsatisfied. Historic Music Row, which houses most of the famous Nashville recording studios, sits adjacent to the property on Division Avenue. Downtown is about two miles from our location here in Midtown.

You can count on us to provide superior service to all of our guests, and we look forward to welcoming you again. Thanks again for sharing your experience!

Safe Travels,

Justin Byler / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We booked 2 rooms at this hotel for my Bachelorette Party. I had a group of 6 girls in one room (suite) and 2 in regular room. We were really excited about this stay. As soon as we get in our rooms, my friends decorate the room with balloons and streamers and we all start to get ready for dinner and a night out. As we are getting ready, we are literally sweating. We turned the AC down to 65 and it was still burning up in the room. When we called the front desk to complain, we got a smart remark that the thermostat was located on the wall and to adjust it. Really? Like we hadn't though of that. So they send up Maintenance and he responds that the AC just doens't work in that room. WHAT?! Why would you put people especally 6 in a room with no AC!?? So after all that, we had to move rooms/floors. And our other room had to move too since we wanted to be close together. This meant cleaning up all our decor, all our stuff we had already gotten out. Needless to say, it took forever with no help from the hotel staff. We missed our dinner reservation too. The only thing they did to compensate after we had to ask for it (they never offered) was free parking for the weekend. Which parking is very high at this hotel.
Next day we realized we did leave some things in a drawer and a phone charger int he original room. They of course never got our stuff back to us but instead gave us someone else's phone charger.
The shower in our second room would not drain. It was disgusting. Imagine 6 girls trying to shower and get ready with a clogged drain. They really should clean the rooms better. We also found beer bottles behind a table from the previous room guests.
The 2nd room's AC worked but still not very good. It never really got as cool as we set it too and this was not a very hot September weekend.
The free shuttle service was a joke. It took forever (30 minutes or more sometimes) to wait on the shuttle and then it would only take you 2 miles.
There was no free breakfast option. It was $11.99 per person!
Housekeeping came around early in the morning banging on doors as loud as possible.
I will give credit where it's due and that's with the friendliness of the front desk and valet. Super nice and accomdating. They were polite even through all the mess.
I would not stay here again. We were originally going to stay at Embassy Suites nearby and instead booked Hilton. My fiance and his friends ended up staying there and said it was perfect. BIG SPACIOUS suites and FREE happy hour drinks. Perfect for a group of people on a fun weekend. The "suites" at Hilton are still not spacious. We felt very cramped.
It is a good distance from downtown. Just a quick ride and your there. You can also walk to Midtown restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Suites on 3rd floor have NO A/C. Suites are NOT that spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alana_T_Foltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin B, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Alana T,

Thank you for choosing to be a guest here at the HGI Nashville. We loved having you here!

Based on your review it is evident that we were unable to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please accept my sincere apology for the malfunctioning air conditioner and the overall poor experience you endured at our hotel. I will be reaching out to you privately to follow up more in depth, and to do my best to make this situation right for you and your guests.

I am confident that should you allow our team an additional opportunity to serve you, that we will not fall short. We hope to see you back here in Nashville again in the future. You can count on us to provide superior service to all of our guests.

Sincerely,

Your Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

All right, so this hotel IS a mile from all the honkey tonks, but in all honestly this is a better location, and I'll tell you why. Because it's located just a couple blocks from Vanderbilt, there are tons of great restaurants just in walking distance. There are hardly any downtown. Not only that, the hotel offers a FREE shuttle service with a mile radius that operates until midnight. The only time we had to pay cab fare was when we came home at 2 in the morning. Even then our cab fare from downtown was $7. If you don't have a car while you're there, like we did, I'd much prefer to have access to lots of different places to eat within walking distance having having to take a cab just for dinner. Also you're 2-3 block from Music Row, which is where all the recording studios are. If you have a late flight, they let you store your luggage after you check out at no extra cost, that was another reason my girlfriend and I chose that hotel for our girls weekend.
Our room was clean, the house keeping staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the front desk was really helpful in giving us ideas on what to do. And we never had a problem with the shuttle driver. They always took us where we wanted to go, and only once we had to really wait because it was a Saturday night and there were several wedding parties staying at the hotel and everyone was going out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KT0218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear KT0218,

Thank you for posting a 5 star review of your stay here at the HGI Nashville Vanderbilt! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We pride ourselves on extending superior service to all our guests. From our valet and front desk team all the way to our housekeeping team, we greet each guest with a warm smile and a friendly hello. Thank you for recognizing our efforts to create a welcoming environment for all guests- we appreciate you!

On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit in the near future.

Thanks again and safe travels,

Your Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Nashville Vanderbilt
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Nashville Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Vanderbilt - Elliston Place
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Nashville at Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt

Address: 1715 Broadway Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203-2709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nashville
#4 Green Hotel in Nashville
#12 Family Hotel in Nashville
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range: $142 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in mid-town Nashville conveniently located off I-65/I-40 on Broadway Avenue. Within a short distance of our newly built hotel is Nashville's bustling downtown area, the famous Music Row, and both Belmont and Vanderbilt Universities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing