We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Nashville

“Real Napali food at a great price”

Rajdhani groceries & cafe
Ranked #936 of 2,550 Restaurants in Nashville
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very friendly service and yummy food. Rarely ever crowded. Such a nice change of pace to the ordinary grind.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Service
    • Food
Thank E1263SJmichaelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (5)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 5 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2019

I went to Rajdhani tonight for dinner with four other people, and we were all REALLY impressed by the food. Rajdhani is Nepali food, which none of us had ever tried - but we all love Indian food and Nepali food had some similar flavors and dishes.

We started with two orders of momo (Nepali dumplings). We had a vegetarian party in our party, so we got one order of the vegetable momo and one order of the chicken momo. To be honest, I was more excited about the chicken momo, but the vegetable momo BLEW ME AWAY. The chicken was okay (a little dry and not as flavorful as the vegetable), but the vegetable was amazing. (The chicken was still worth ordering, but it needed a bit of the sauce to make it more delicious, and the vegetable momo didn't need anything at all.)

Then we shared a bunch of dishes family style: chicken curry, aalu govi (potato, cauliflower, and spices - aloo gobi in Indian cuisine), a vegetarian thali (a dish of many small dishes, which included a daal, eggplant, okra, and other veg dishes), chicken curry, Chicken Tikka Masala, and paneer chili. Everything was good, but my favorites were the Chicken Tikka Masala, the paneer chili, and the okra from the veg thali.

Rajdhani is a grocery store and cafe. The cafe is to the back of the grocery store. The service was good, and our server answered all the questions we had about the menu. We finished ALL of our plates. Every little bite of food was eaten. We didn't leave hungry, that's for sure!

Rajdhani isn't a fancy place. But as an introduction to Nepali food? It's a winner. I definitely plan on going back and trying more Nepali food if the opportunity arrives! If you like to explore the international cuisine available in Nashville's Nolensville corridor, add Rajdhani to your list! Well worth the hike out to Nolensville and Bell Road (admittedly not so much of a hike for this Crieve Hall girl). Two thumbs up!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alexisrachelletx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2018 via mobile

Rajdhani is a hidden gem in South Nashville. It’s located in the strip mall behind Lowe’s at the intersection of Old Hickory Boulevard and Nolensville Road. The front of the shop is a Nepalese grocery; the cafe is located in the rear. Service is quick and friendly. The chicken momos were plump, tender and flavorful, served with a peanut based dipping sauce and a cup of pleasantly sour vegetable soup. Where has this dumpling been all of my life?? The non-vegetarian thali was a feast; chicken curry (available with goat if you prefer) that was completely delectable (and prepared with a few different spices than the local Indian buffet!) and about a half dozen side dishes, with two kinds of rice, papadum and a delicious fried bread for dipping. The bill for two (for more food than we could eat) didn’t break $30.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank MDGesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018 via mobile

The food is amazing here! Great for meat eaters and vegetarians too. Kinda like Indian food but better—less turmeric and heat but really flavorful.

We had the momi dumplings which were really good with the curry sauce and broth. Mmmm

We had the mutton thali which was excellent. It comes with s number of side dishes.

The staff is friendly and caring.

The restaurant is in the back of their store. You aren’t lost! The decor isn’t fancy but you won’t care when you taste this great food.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018

Everything is super delicious, affordable (if you like salted food, the Nepali is a must try)and the little cafe inside the store has a cozy feel. There are 6 tables with seats for 2 on each side (like little booths)

Vegetarian Thali! Loved all dishes, but My no1 is the eggplant,... no, the cauliflower,... no: the chickpea with mushroom, or the peas soup, even the greens (which I usually not eat), or the tofu with peas... anyway: all. Also the dish comes with lasi sauce for gulab jamun and the gulab jamun is not from the box, some fresh vegetables and rice, and a chapati and a luchi bread. Oh, must not forget the pickled mango! Super delicious

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LoanaCristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rajdhani groceries & cafe also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Rajdhani groceries & cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing