We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant, great choices of beers”
Review of Makeready L&L

Makeready L&L
Reserve a Table
2
Thu, 7/18
8:00 PM
Ranked #254 of 2,427 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $50
Description: Perfecting your craft doesn't come easy, but dedication pays off. At Makeready Libations & Liberation, we rally around the spirit of those not afraid of getting their hands dirty-in need of a friendly face after a hard day's work. We take a seasonal approach to American tavern food, with a hearty selection that includes rotisserie fired meats, a cheeseburger that's worth writing home about, and an extensive in-house charcuterie. True to our roots, we built an all-American wine and craft beer list that would satisfy the masses. And our classic, but contemporary cocktail list would make your old man proud and your mom blush. As they say, a well-oiled machine never falters. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner daily.
Restaurant details
Description: Perfecting your craft doesn't come easy, but dedication pays off. At Makeready Libations & Liberation, we rally around the spirit of those not afraid of getting their hands dirty-in need of a friendly face after a hard day's work. We take a seasonal approach to American tavern food, with a hearty selection that includes rotisserie fired meats, a cheeseburger that's worth writing home about, and an extensive in-house charcuterie. True to our roots, we built an all-American wine and craft beer list that would satisfy the masses. And our classic, but contemporary cocktail list would make your old man proud and your mom blush. As they say, a well-oiled machine never falters. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner daily.
Reviewed May 29, 2019

Food was extremely tasteful and the service was really good. The restaurant has an extended list of beers from which we can all find our choice. It is also a pretty quiet place and not too crowded.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bengold90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makereadynash, Manager at Makeready L&L, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2019

Ben, thank you for taking the time to review us. Makeready has a fabulous cicerone who curates an extensive local beer list specifically for our guests. We're so glad you were able to find something enjoyable and hope you come back to try happy hour (3-5 every day!) that offers $3 beers and $5 burgers. Thank you so much for dining with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 82 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2019

Makeready has very good service, and a variety of options whatever the tastes. The deviled eggs as an appetizer were fantastic. My wife really enjoyed her trout, and my steak was well executed. The mac and cheese side was killer!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank NNJ1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makereadynash, Manager at Makeready L&L, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! Makeready has the most devilish eggs available here in Music City and we're happy to serve them on not only our lunch and dinner menus, but during happy hour! The kitchen strives to offer the freshest, most local fare which is why you'll find our menu rotates seasonally. Please come back anytime, we'd love to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

We stumbled upon this fantastic little cafe at the bottom of the hotel noelle as we walked the back streets from Printers ally We were trying to get away from the crowds for a quiet dinner

I had the chicken Potpie my wife had the fantastic fenticni Bolognese

Good selection of boutique beers and a great eclectic menu

Came away after great service and great food very satisfied

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank RichieVin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makereadynash, Manager at Makeready L&L, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2019

Richie, thank you for taking the time to review us! Makeready is but a quiet refuge for those seeking a refined subtly and alluring menu based on Nashville classics and worldly fare. Whether you sip daintily or slurp aggressively, just know our master cicerone has painstakingly curated a well-rounded, local beer menu especially for our guests. Thank you so much for dining with us. Our menu changes seasonally, so we'd love to see you again! Come check out our happy hour - every day from 3p to 5p!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

I ate lunch here with a colleague during a work conference in Nashville. I ordered the hot chicken sandwich with mixed greens and my colleague had the acorn squash bisque with grilled oysters. We both really enjoyed the food. Great flavor, good presentation and really reasonable prices considering the portion size(s). The atmosphere of the restaurant is also really cute. Service was good. Not the fastest but we weren't in a hurry and our server was very pleasant. All in all I would definitely recommend this place for lunch.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makereadynash, Manager at Makeready L&L, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2019

Laura, thank you for taking the time to review us! At Makeready, we work to disrupt the daily pace of a traditional 9 to 5 and offer a space in which you can relax, be yourself, and enjoy the moment. The hot chicken sandwich is a famous Nashville classic (good choice) and our soup changes regularly. Thank you for dining with us. Please come back anytime, we'd love to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019

Started our first day in Nashville here for an early lunch and a bottle of sparkling rose. Good menu, lots of choices. We started with bacon rillettes, which I had no clue what to expect. It was like a pate served with homemade biscuits (yummy). Then among us we had a hamburger, a cup of corn chowder, 1/2 corned beef sandwich, and a schnitzel sandwich. Each was a 5 star! My friend who had the schnitzel is a foodie and said it was the best she has ever had.

Fun atmosphere, great waiter! Enjoy!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank SuzyQinHou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makereadynash, Manager at Makeready L&L, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Suzy, thank you for your review! Makeready has roots in Nashville, but draws inspiration from around the world. Our schnitzel (good choice) would make someone's German mütter proud. Please come back anytime, we'd love to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makeready L&L also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Makeready L&L? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing