We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise right next to our hotel”

Deacon’s New South
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 7/16
8:00 PM
Ranked #233 of 2,427 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $150
Description: Deacon's New South is a modern steakhouse featuring dry-aged steaks, robust vegetable dishes and a sommelier-led beverage program including vintage cocktails.
Restaurant details
Description: Deacon's New South is a modern steakhouse featuring dry-aged steaks, robust vegetable dishes and a sommelier-led beverage program including vintage cocktails.
Reviewed May 28, 2019

Great atmosphere, excellent food, nice bar vibe yet perfect for a romantic dinner. All the beef is aged for over a month and is amazing. Drinks were really interesting and well prepared. Highly recommend for brunch on Sunday (best potatoes in the world), late night drink and dessert, romantic or small group dinner or just bar. It’s got it all.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lhodges290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 110 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2019

I consider " vegetarian friendly" to mean having more than one option besides salad, which is not the case. Had lunch here on 5/6/19. Barley risotto did not seem appealing to me so I had the Brussel sprouts appetizer and the frisse arrivals salad without the bacon. Brussel sprouts were tasty. Salad had a poached egg which was not in the description (can't eat uncooked eggs) and mostly just lettuce with a very acidic dressing. Had to beg for a piece of bread to eat with it. Lunch was very expensive for what I received and left STARVING.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank canyontrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019 via mobile

We chose to eat here as the menu looked good. First problem, we ordered drinks and watched as the bartender took a sip out of one of our glasses, and didn’t like the drink she made so she threw it out and then made another drink using the same glass. Then when we asked for new glasses, she acted like she didn’t take a sip out of the glass, when we all saw her. Next, there were 3 tables filled while we were there. It took 50 minutes to get our food and we only got it as we had to get up and ask the staff where the food was. The food was good, but due to the quality of the service, I would not go back.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Kourtneytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn M, General Manager at Deacon’s New South, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2019

Thank you for your feedback Kourtney. The bartender did take a drink of her water and is sincerely sorry you thought she was drinking out of your glass. This is a learning experience for her and thank you for helping her with awareness. We hope you had safe travels back to Seattle and apologize for your experience yesterday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2019 via mobile

We were at Deacons New South for dinner on 4/19/19. We’ve experienced fine dining throughout the country (NY, Chic, Dallas, S.F., Vegas, etc.). This restaurant could compete with the best of ANY metro area. To see it listed as #121 on Trip Advisor was absolutely shocking. Should be top five in Nashville at least! Maybe the locals just don’t have good comparisons? Or they haven’t heard about it yet. If you want great food from a creative Chef, go to Deacons. Bring lots of friends - they will thank you.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2019

Deacon's New South is always good. I've never had anything bad here. Nor have I ever had horrible service. But I have had mediocre service and food that was good but not great. For the price, they need to compete with Gray and Dudley, The Oak Steakhouse and others in that range, but they are slightly inferior in almost every way. It's a convenient location and an easy walk to the Ryman or the Bridgestone Arena, which makes it an appealing downtown choice. But, taking the location out of the mix, I'd probably dine somewhere else for better food and service.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deacon’s New South also viewed

 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Deacon’s New South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing