We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Preston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Preston
Ranked #68 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

After reading reviews here I was a little worried although I do not put much credit in reviews that are completely negative or completely positive. We checked in and I really liked the eclectic decor. Our room was a corner king room and it was huge! The furniture was neat and fit the eclectic feel of this hotel. The room was clean as was the bedding. The bathroom was rather small but the towels were large and fluffy. The hotel staff was friendly, helpful, and professional. We had breakfast in the on site restaurant and it was good and reasonably priced. There was some loud airplane noise but I have downloaded a white noise ap that is very helpful. We would definitely stay at the Hotel Preston again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryBeth40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Preston09, Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thanks for sharing this great feedback with us. From our unique decor to our comfy rooms— you really captured the essence of our hotel! We work hard to create a 'modern' vibe, while still making our guests feel right at home. I appreciate you giving our staff a shout out— we work hard to go above and beyond for our guests, so I'm glad you felt like you were taken care of! Please don't hesitate to stay with us again the next time you're in Nashville.

Cheers,
Steve
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    683
    515
    288
    190
See reviews for
524
657
166
547
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
122 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a nice hotel if you have to stay by the airport and want something other than the traditional airport hotels, the large chains that have that business at most airports. However, the promotional language promised a boutique hotel and that's a bit of a stretch. The lobby is highly styled, however. The hotel restaurant was fine, nothing special and the rooms were fine. The fitness center/gym was pretty standard for a business traveler hotel, I would have liked something larger. And, while there is a pool, it was pretty much just a large hole in the ground with water. All in all, if you have to stay by the airport and want a little something different, this might be your choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Preston09, Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
I appreciate your honest review, and I apologize for just now getting back with you. While it's wonderful you enjoyed our unique, stylish lobby and accommodating rooms, I'm sorry you weren't blown away by our hotel. We pride ourselves on our authenticity, so it's a shame you didn't think we were anything special. From our Nashville-themed artwork to our quirky gifts (like rubber duckies and goldfish), we work hard to create a very unique experience for our guests.

Besides the small gym and pool, is there anything else that stood out to you that you would change? Any more feedback you have is very much appreciated! I hope you won't hesitate to stay with us again next time you're in Nashville. We'll be sure to put our best foot forward!

All the best,
Steve
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Not at all what is represented in photos and reviews. This is the kind of place you don't take your socks off in the room.

Disappointed - run down, dingy, dark and kinda creepy. Stained furniture, chipped, worn, scratched furniture and doors.

End rooms are the funkiest (in a bad way) layout, small, dark bathroom. Stains on the clock radio and the TV is NOT HD, probably an antenna and not cable.

Been traveling 10 years and this is one of the bottom two I can ever remember staying in.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mbalinskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Preston09, General Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Mbalinskas,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Preston. We just completed shampooing all of our carpeting in the hotel. We always are looking for ways to make our guests enjoyable.

Thanks, Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

What was built up to be a "boutique" hotel was a lot of hype. the lobby was the only thing unique.
Although the rooms were quiet (when a jet was not going overhead), the door rooms and hallways were extremely loud and annoying. Slamming metal doors is not a good sound at 2:00 a.m. If you don't want to eat at the hotel restaurant, you don't have much choice. Our first morning the restaurant was very short of staff, there were no clean tables, and the few patrons that were there said they had been waiting over an hour for food. When I inquired at the front desk about alternatives, i was told, "there's a dunkin donuts down the street". Not even an apology for the dining room. I guess you really do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 330KarenV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel's location is great for travelers using the Interstate. Staff was very friendly and check in was very quick and without incident. Room was spaious, and beds were fantastic for a very good nights sleep. Door to the rooms were noisy, but did not interfere with a good night of rest. Hotel is about 5 miles to Opry Mills and the Grand Olde Opry and is very handy for the Nashville Airport. A small gas station next to the hotel had the cheapest gas around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Br0914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Got it priceline for a decent price. The location is very convenient to the airport, which also makes it a convenient drive to both downtown and the opryland area.The hotel has convemnient store within walking distance but not much more. I got there about an hour before check-in and when i asked if i could check in early, the staff member (who was a trainee) said sure but then said there were no rooms available since he couldn't move me off the floor i was on since i got it on priceline. Never heard that before but guess they keep some of the cheap floors and room for priceline.

Once I was able to check-in, the room was ok. It was decent size, though it looked sparse. Had the standard desk, chair, beds and tv with no other amenities. There was plenty of room for a small fridge but this room didnt have one. With the ice machine broken on the floor i stayed on it would have really come in handy.

On the first night at about 3AM the smoke detector started to chirp (due to low batteries). I give maintenance credit for fixing it quickly but it was still a major annoyance and shouldnt have happened.

The second evening i called for housekeeping due to the inordinate number of dead lady bugs under the chair. I must have used up all of my service calls in the first night since they never cleaned it that day of the next.

The beds were ok. Nothing great but i have had worse in hotels.

The gym is ridiculously small. 1 treadmill, 1 elliptical, a recumbent bike and universal. I had to move the bike from against the wall to use it. Then move it back when i wanted to lift. If someone came in to ride the bike while i was doing the universal it wouldnt be possible to do both at same time.

The walls were pretty thin. I must have been over the bar as i heard the live acts each night. Also heard many conversations in the hall way.

The boutique aspect of the hotel was strange. It wasn't artistic, visual appealing or functional. Just made the place seem dated and kind of dirty.

For the price, it was worth it but definitely not 3.5 star quality. I would have guessed 2.5 stars based on the lack of amenities, maintenance issues and clientele. If you get it on priceline for cheap it isn't bad, but it probably wont meet your expectations based on their pictures on the website.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Yes, the Preston is old and rundown in spots. But when you get the Priceline deal and pay next to nothing, I think it is a very good option. Rundown, but VERY clean. The staff at front desk were helpful and friendly. The beds were comfortable. Kids loved the lava lamp, pillow menu and beta fish. Hotel is very convenient to Opryland and downtown. Would I stay again - yes if I could get the Priceline deal. Unbelievably cheap for a clean, decent room!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippinKYfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
1.4 mi away
Club-Hotel Nashville Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Music City Hotel
Sheraton Music City Hotel
#49 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Suites Near Opryland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Millennium Maxwell House Nashville
4.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel Nashville Downtown - Stadium
2.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Nashville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Preston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Preston

Property: Hotel Preston
Address: 733 Briley Pkwy, Nashville, TN 37217-1301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Preston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Preston is a delightfully uncommon Nashville hotel. Conveniently located near Nashville International Airport, just minutes from both downtown Nashville and Opryland, Hotel Preston caters to vacationers and business travelers alike with an only-in-Music City combination of creativity and sass. With an eclectic art collection and unique touches like lava lamps, rubber duckies and pet fish delivered upon request, Hotel Preston moves to its own beat.The hotel’s distinctive rooms, designed with custom furniture, eye-catching colors and unimaginably comfortable beds, have attracted worldwide media attention. Each room has a You Want It, You Got It button that caters to guests’ needs or whimsical desires: high-speed wireless Internet access, Aveda bath products, a Pillow Menu and Spiritual Menu.Hotel Preston offers state of the art meeting facilities with 7,408 sq. ft. of space including the 4,400 sq. ft. Gather Ballroom. Café Isabella serves up Italian comfort food with southern roots at Hotel Preston and caters to guests for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel also boasts The Pink Slip, located off the lobby, where cocktails are served nightly and live music is showcased most nights and an inviting outdoor pool that is open seasonally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Preston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preston Hotel Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing